[LOW:FIXED:1.0.11] Possible Bug - Division by zero

technopuzzle
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1958
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 5:53 pm
Location: Washington D.C. & Baltimore, MD Metro
Contact:

[LOW:FIXED:1.0.11] Possible Bug - Division by zero

Postby technopuzzle » Sun Sep 10, 2006 10:49 pm

I'm assuming this is the correct place to post. I'm not really sure if it would be considered a bug, but I'll leave that to the all-mighty developers and such. If you need further information I may be contacted via my profile.

Description:
Created a menu link using BLOG CONTENT CATEGORY. Set DESCRIPTION and DESCRIPTION IMAGE to show. Set the # LINKS, # INTRO, # LEADING to 0 (zero). Set the # COLUMNS to 1 (one). When clicking on the menu link in the front-end I received the following warning.
Warning: Division by zero in /homepages/htdocs/Joomla/includes/pageNavigation.php on line 95
Warning: Division by zero in /homepages/htdocs/Joomla/includes/pageNavigation.php on line 96


Reported on:
1.0.11 Sunbow

Steps to replicate:
Follow the steps as stated above to replicate. I have replicated this issue on a different Joomla 1.0.11 site, but on the same server and same hosting account.

[url=http://technopuzzle.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=blogcategory&id=54&Itemid=141]http://technopuzzle.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=blogcategory&id=54&Itemid=141
[/url]
System info:
PHP built On:    Linux infong 2.4 #1 SMP Thu Jan 13 08:59:31 CET 2005 i686 unknown
Database Version: 4.0.27-standard-log
PHP Version: 4.4.4
Web Server: Apache/1.3.37 (Unix)
WebServer to PHP interface: cgi
Joomla! Version: Joomla! 1.0.11 Stable [ Sunbow ] 28 August 2006 20:00 UTC
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.0.6) Gecko/20060728 Firefox/1.5.0.6
Relevant PHP Settings:   
Joomla! Register Globals Emulation: OFF
Register Globals: OFF
Magic Quotes: ON
Safe Mode: OFF
File Uploads: ON
Session auto start: OFF
Session save path: /tmp
Short Open Tags: ON
Output Buffering: OFF
Open basedir: none
Display Errors: ON
XML enabled: Yes
Zlib enabled: Yes
Disabled Functions: none
Last edited by RobS on Thu Oct 19, 2006 6:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Thanks,
Roger Raymond
Techno Puzzle

User avatar
RobS
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1367
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 10:17 am
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Contact:

Re: Possible Bug - Division by zero

Postby RobS » Mon Sep 11, 2006 12:02 am

Moved from Q&T forum.
Rob Schley - Open Source Matters
Webimagery - http://www.webimagery.net/ - Professional Consulting Services
JXtended - http://www.jxtended.com/ - Free and Commercial Joomla! Extensions

Brenda
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Mar 02, 2006 4:12 am

Re: Possible Bug - Division by zero

Postby Brenda » Tue Sep 12, 2006 8:00 am

Add these setting to make it work

Pagination: Hide
Pagination Results: Hide

You can't divide zero into pages
Last edited by Brenda on Tue Sep 12, 2006 8:05 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: Possible Bug - Division by zero

Postby Robin » Fri Sep 15, 2006 12:29 pm

[TAGGED: Q&T]

pmpodcast
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Silverado, CA
Contact:

Re: [LOW:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.11] Possible Bug - Division by zero

Postby pmpodcast » Sat Sep 23, 2006 5:14 pm

I am experiencing the same error message

Warning: Division by zero in /home/content/s/c/o/scopecreeppm/html/pmprepcast/includes/pageNavigation.php on line 95
Warning: Division by zero in /home/content/s/c/o/scopecreeppm/html/pmprepcast/includes/pageNavigation.php on line 96
<< Start < Prev -9 -8 -7 -6 -5 -4 -3 -2 -1 0 Next > End >>


In my case, the error only appears on the home/front page as soon as I publish the first content item to the front page. (If no content item is published to the front page I get the "There are no items to display" message.) Publishing a content item to any page except the front does not lead to the division by zero.

As soon as I set the 'pagination=hide' and 'pagination results=hide' on the front page, then the error disappears. It's a workaround, but I can no longer use the pagination on my home/front page. Pagination on a "blog - content category" page works fine.
Until next time,
Cornelius Fichtner, PMP
The Project Management PrepCast™ - http://www.pm-prepcast.com
The Project Management Podcast™ - http://www.thepmpodcast.com

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: [LOW:UNDER REVIEW:1.0.11] Possible Bug - Division by zero

Postby Robin » Sat Sep 23, 2006 8:50 pm

Created a menu link using BLOG CONTENT CATEGORY. Set DESCRIPTION and DESCRIPTION IMAGE to show. Set the # LINKS, # INTRO, # LEADING to 0 (zero). Set the # COLUMNS to 1 (one). When clicking on the menu link in the front-end I received the following warning.


Tested and confirmed. Will change status to confirmed/added tracker. The question is if setting links, intro and leading all to zero is a situation one would want to have, since the result is no content at all for this menu item.

Tracker report: http://forge.joomla.org/sf/go/artf6084?nav=1

technopuzzle
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1958
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 5:53 pm
Location: Washington D.C. & Baltimore, MD Metro
Contact:

Re: [LOW:ADDED TRACKER:1.0.11] Possible Bug - Division by zero

Postby technopuzzle » Sun Sep 24, 2006 3:31 am

To be honest when I discovered the bug I had set it that way for a reason.... now I can't remember why I did. LOL

EDIT: Ok after I posted I remembered why.

In the template I am using (from JoomlaShack) the top-menu (drop-down) and side-menu (text-links) work in conjuction. So if you click on one of the sub-menu items in the top-menu it caused the side-menu to open up and expand to the sub-menu item that was clicked in the top-menu.

I was trying to come up with a way to create a menu link placeholder that allowed my top-menu / side-menu to functionality to work correctly. Because when I used the built-in placeholder option, it caused the side-menu to not function correctly (there was no link available) even though that particular menu item had sub-menu items.

If that's not clear then I can create an example so that you can see what I'm talking about.
Last edited by technopuzzle on Sun Sep 24, 2006 3:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
Thanks,
Roger Raymond
Techno Puzzle

tommyg
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 3:48 pm

Re: [LOW:ADDED TRACKER:1.0.11] Possible Bug - Division by zero

Postby tommyg » Sun Sep 24, 2006 9:14 am

Where do you do the settings to "hide" the pagination and pagination results. Yes, I'm pretty new to Joomla but also an easy follower. Am I changing these settings in a php file or withing the backend of Joomla?

Thanks in advance! I love Joomla and everyone that supplies it.

TommyG

pmpodcast
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jul 15, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: Silverado, CA
Contact:

Re: [LOW:ADDED TRACKER:1.0.11] Possible Bug - Division by zero

Postby pmpodcast » Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:59 pm

In the Joomla Backend select Menu > Main Menu > Home. The settings for "Pagination" and "Pagination Results" are displayed on the right hand side at about the middle of the page.
Until next time,
Cornelius Fichtner, PMP
The Project Management PrepCast™ - http://www.pm-prepcast.com
The Project Management Podcast™ - http://www.thepmpodcast.com

tommyg
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 3:48 pm

Re: [LOW:ADDED TRACKER:1.0.11] Possible Bug - Division by zero

Postby tommyg » Sun Sep 24, 2006 6:22 pm

pmpodcast wrote:In the Joomla Backend select Menu > Main Menu > Home. The settings for "Pagination" and "Pagination Results" are displayed on the right hand side at about the middle of the page.


Thanks for the info but hiding those 2 settings didn't help. Still have the same "division by zero" error. Thanks again.

User avatar
RobS
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1367
Joined: Mon Dec 05, 2005 10:17 am
Location: New Orleans, LA, USA
Contact:

Re: [LOW:ADDED TRACKER:1.0.11] Possible Bug - Division by zero

Postby RobS » Thu Oct 19, 2006 6:19 pm

This has been fixed in SVN.  Will move to Solved.
Rob Schley - Open Source Matters
Webimagery - http://www.webimagery.net/ - Professional Consulting Services
JXtended - http://www.jxtended.com/ - Free and Commercial Joomla! Extensions

sanka
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:38 am

Re: [LOW:FIXED:1.0.11] Possible Bug - Division by zero

Postby sanka » Thu Mar 01, 2007 4:42 am

ok i close eror reports and eror gone but

i use smf.. when i chose wraped style.i cant reach private message....the only link wich dont work is private (personal messages)


Return to “Q&T 1.0.x Resolved - Archived”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest