[NOT BUG] Strong problems while editing something

Locked
dsepeur
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 1:35 pm

[NOT BUG] Strong problems while editing something

Post by dsepeur » Fri Jun 02, 2006 12:24 pm

Hello,

a few days ago, i wrote regarding my problems.
I am using Joomla 1.08 and cannot edit something in the administration.
Wether Content, Menues or something else.
Everytime i call the edit function i get a form to ADD something.
This also related to the user-section. I cannot change some users. Is a user added, i cannot change his user information via administration.
I have tried to debug this. Specially for the content area in wich i cannot change something too.
To change content, the relevant files are admin.content.php, joomla.php and database.php.

So far as i understand, joomla is working and dealing with classes. First, joomla is initiating such a class while i try to change something.
I can find this in admin.content.php at line 380.

[PHP]function editContent [...]

  // load the row from the db table
  $row = new mosContent( $database );
[/PHP]

After this, the new class has to be extend by the articles data and values..

[PHP]$row->load($uid);[/PHP]

To load the articles data, the program goes to funktion load (ca. line 780) and later to function loadObject (ca. line 440) at line database.php.


After the function loadObject is worked out, the class $object has all values for my article.
But those values will not be stored in $row from admin.content.php  :(
$row will not be extend by the values of $object.

The effect is, that i cannot edit. All forms will be blank and is prepared to ADD New (Content item: New) content.

Now i have tried the following code:

In front of  $row->load($uid); in admin.content.php, i declare a now object:

$row1 = $row->load($uid);

The content of $row1 is now correct and filled with the articles data i will edit.
$row should be look like the same, but it has not the content of the article. Only the field names are stored in $row.
Now i go through $row1 and add the values from $row1 to $row.

[PHP]
foreach ($row1 as $name => $value) {
    $row->$name = $value;
}[/PHP]

But this makes no sense. I have to modify each module with my code and this is not so good for me and later updates.

Perhaps, someone has an explanation, why $row has no values stored after the call $row->load($uid). Only the field names are stored.

I can also send my phone number if someone is willy to help me by phone.

Here are my system informations:

PHP built On:  Linux wega.mine.nu 2.4.18-bf2.4 #1 Son Apr 14 09:53:28 CEST 2002 i686
Database Version: 4.1.11-log
PHP Version: 5.2.0-dev
Web Server: Apache/2.2.2 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.2 OpenSSL/0.9.7g DAV/2 PHP/5.2.0-dev
WebServer to PHP interface: apache2handler
Joomla! Version: Joomla! 1.0.8 Stable [ Sunshade ] 26-Feb-2006 05:00 UTC
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; de-DE; rv:1.7.12) Gecko/20050919 Firefox/1.0.7
Relevant PHP Settings:
Safe Mode: OFF
Open basedir: none
Display Errors: ON
Short Open Tags: ON
File Uploads: ON
Magic Quotes: ON
Register Globals: OFF
Output Buffering: OFF
Session save path: /tmp
Session auto start: 0
XML enabled: Yes
Zlib enabled: Yes
Disabled Functions: none
WYSIWYG Editor: No WYSIWYG Editor
Configuration File:

I will be happy if someone is helping me to fix this.

Thank you in advance

Daniel
Last edited by Anonymous on Tue Jun 06, 2006 7:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19133
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Strong problems while editing something

Post by infograf768 » Fri Jun 02, 2006 2:38 pm

Could you upgrade Firefox to the last version (1.5.0.4) and test again?
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

dsepeur
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 1:35 pm

Re: Strong problems while editing something

Post by dsepeur » Fri Jun 02, 2006 10:42 pm

Hello Infograf,

i have tested with Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1; .NET CLR 1.1.4322)  too and i have the same problem.
I cannot understand, why can be a problem related to extend arrays or classes be fixed by an browser update.

The same problem still occours.

Sincerly

Daniel

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19133
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Strong problems while editing something

Post by infograf768 » Sat Jun 03, 2006 4:42 am

As nobody that I know of gets this problem, this means the problem is not in the original code.
2 solutions only:
1. your configuration
2. Some files are corrupted

There were some problems with Firefox and Javascript at one stage, thus my asking you test with the last version.

I suggest you reinstall from scratch with 1.0.9 beta4 AND Firefox 1.5.04
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

dsepeur
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 1:35 pm

Re: Strong problems while editing something

Post by dsepeur » Sat Jun 03, 2006 6:16 am

Hello Infograf,

thank you for your hints.
I will try and report.
Don´t be angry about my words, but i have not realized, that the problem could also be related to JavaScript.
I am wondering, that the problem in IE still occours.

Sincerly

Daniel

dsepeur
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 1:35 pm

Re: Strong problems while editing something

Post by dsepeur » Sat Jun 03, 2006 6:37 am

Hello,

back again.
Nothing happens. I have installed the 1.09.beta4 and Mozilla FireFox 1.5.0.4 but nothing happens.
The problem still occours.

Daniel

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19133
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Strong problems while editing something

Post by infograf768 » Sat Jun 03, 2006 8:32 am

Could you pm to me a superadministrator name and password?
I'll have a look with the errors/notices.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19133
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Strong problems while editing something

Post by infograf768 » Sun Jun 04, 2006 2:06 pm

Weird, some queries work, other don't.
It may be related to the very new php 5.2

Could you change it to 5.1 to test?

Devs are concerned and following this thread.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

user deleted

Re: [UNCONFIRMED] Strong problems while editing something

Post by user deleted » Sun Jun 04, 2006 2:20 pm


User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19133
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: [UNCONFIRMED] Strong problems while editing something

Post by infograf768 » Sun Jun 04, 2006 2:24 pm

Not sure, Robink.
I gave the Notice details to Louis.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

User avatar
davidgal
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 963
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 9:19 am
Location: Israel
Contact:

Re: [UNCONFIRMED] Strong problems while editing something

Post by davidgal » Sun Jun 04, 2006 2:31 pm

Hi,

My guess is that this is related to using PHP 5.2 which I think has not yet completed development.
Interested to hear if the problem exists with php 5.1

David
David Gal

user deleted

Re: [UNCONFIRMED] Strong problems while editing something

Post by user deleted » Sun Jun 04, 2006 2:32 pm

Thanks for the heads up JM,

Thats why I posted the note as well. The description of the other topic sure seems like it. Asked for php version. Just making sure I can find it again  ;)

@ David, not happening in php 5.1. I am using 5.1.4. and tested just now. Able to edit and create new items.
Last edited by user deleted on Sun Jun 04, 2006 2:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
stingrey
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Marikina, Metro Manila, Philippines
Contact:

Re: [UNCONFIRMED] Strong problems while editing something

Post by stingrey » Sun Jun 04, 2006 6:26 pm

It is most probably an issue casued by PHP 5.2

Now it is improtant to note that 5.2 is still in development and is tagged as 'dev' release.

Until 5.2 reaches a more mature level, it would be best to revert to PHP 5.1.x
Rey Gigataras
http://www.wizmediateam.com <-- great team of talented Web Designers and Programmers!
http://about.me/reygigataras <-- About Me :)
Partner, Business Development & Project Manager, Event Manager, Sports Coach :D

user deleted

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] Strong problems while editing something

Post by user deleted » Sun Jun 04, 2006 6:31 pm

Hi All,

Confirmed it's related to php 5.2, see http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... #msg349862 where another user had the same problem and reverted back to php 5.1.4.

dsepeur
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 1:35 pm

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] Strong problems while editing something

Post by dsepeur » Tue Jun 06, 2006 6:10 am

Hello,

I thank you very much for your help in this case.
I have dowgraded my PHP-Version and it looks good.
I get the Forms to change something.
Its strange that the problem is related to PHP 5.2 but i have to accept it :-)

@infograf
Can you tell me please where do you activated the debug-mode that prints me all queries at the end of a page?

Thank you very very much

Daniel

user deleted

Re: [UNDER REVIEW] Strong problems while editing something

Post by user deleted » Tue Jun 06, 2006 7:57 am

Hi Daniel,

Login to Administrator, go to Site > Global Configuration. On the first tab you find parameter "Debug site". Set this to yes so the queries will be shown. It will depend on the position called "debug" being available in your template. But you can always switch to solarflare for testing.


Changing topic status from UNDER REVIEW to NOT BUG. Moving to Known issues subforum.
Last edited by user deleted on Tue Jun 06, 2006 7:59 am, edited 1 time in total.

dsepeur
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed May 31, 2006 1:35 pm

Re: [NOT BUG] Strong problems while editing something

Post by dsepeur » Tue Jun 06, 2006 8:43 am

Thank you @ all for your great help to solve my problem here.
I note, that the youngest version of php not automatically should be the best  :)
Now i go to fight with the template creation for my testweb.

Thank you Thank you

Daniel

ddmobley
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 2:18 am

Re: [NOT BUG] Strong problems while editing something

Post by ddmobley » Tue Jul 24, 2007 7:46 pm

I am having this exact same problem, however it isn't related to PHP 5.2.  This is a brand new install, out of the box, and is using PHP 4.4.4.  AND, it only happens in Internet Explorer 7, but it works fine in Firefox 2.0.  Ideas?


Locked

Return to “Known Issues - Archive”