[CONFIRMED : KNOWN ISSUE] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

hornos
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 7:08 pm
Location: France
Contact:

[CONFIRMED : KNOWN ISSUE] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

Postby hornos » Tue Jun 06, 2006 9:23 pm

Hi,

Upgrade from 1.0.8 to 1.0.9.
Content items hits counter will no longer increment if cache is enabled..
Last edited by Robin on Tue Oct 24, 2006 2:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18459
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: Hit counter no longer working

Postby infograf768 » Wed Jun 07, 2006 6:21 am

Confirmed.
Cleaning all cache returns to normal incrementation, displaying the hits while cache was on.
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: Hit counter no longer working

Postby Robin » Wed Jun 07, 2006 7:27 am

Hi Ivan, and JM  ;)

Thanks for the report and confirmation. I will run some basic tests to confirm the issue and take it from there.
Now that caching has been "solved" some new issues will come to light without a doubt, this being one of them.

Regards Robin

User avatar
stingrey
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Marikina, Metro Manila, Philippines
Contact:

Re: [CONFIRMED] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

Postby stingrey » Wed Jun 07, 2006 6:40 pm

Confirmed.



At the moment it is an unfortunate tardeoff with switching on caching.
This issue exists because if an item is cached then the function in question is not actually called (the cached output file is) - and within that is the function to update the hit count.

And unfortuantely I'm not sure if there is any easy way around this.



So right now it is a matter of determining which is more important, the hit count or the performance improvement from switching on caching.
Last edited by stingrey on Wed Jun 07, 2006 6:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Rey Gigataras
http://www.wizmediateam.com <-- great team of talented Web Designers and Programmers!
http://about.me/reygigataras <-- About Me :)
Partner, Business Development & Project Manager, Event Manager, Sports Coach :D

hornos
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 176
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 7:08 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re : [CONFIRMED] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

Postby hornos » Wed Jun 07, 2006 6:55 pm

Well, hmm... I will take the performance improvement stuff  :P

User avatar
infograf768
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18459
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:47 pm
Location: **Translation Matters**

Re: [CONFIRMED] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

Postby infograf768 » Thu Jun 08, 2006 5:35 am

Rey,
it looks like there are other side effects of the new caching system.
A French user using multi-language found out that his front-page was not updated when changing languages, although other pages were.
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... #msg353305
Jean-Marie Simonet / infograf · http://www.info-graf.fr
Multilanguage in 2.5: http://help.joomla.org/files/EN-GB_multilang_tutorial.pdf
---------------------------------
ex-Joomla Translation Coordination Team • ex-Joomla! Production Working Group

User avatar
smart
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 1:33 pm
Location: Sebastopol
Contact:

Re: [CONFIRMED] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

Postby smart » Thu Jun 08, 2006 7:24 am

stingrey wrote:So right now it is a matter of determining which is more important, the hit count or the performance improvement from switching on caching.
but problem exists not with hit counter only... some components like AkoComments will not works with cache, because they can't append fresh data to content from onPrepareContent... And any mambots which inserts any random information (ads, polls etc.)...
Joomlaportal.ru News, articles and tutorials
Joomlaforum.ru Russian Joomla Support Forum
Member of the Russian Joomla Translation Team

User avatar
smart
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 1:33 pm
Location: Sebastopol
Contact:

Re: [CONFIRMED] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

Postby smart » Thu Jun 08, 2006 8:04 am

Joomlaportal.ru News, articles and tutorials
Joomlaforum.ru Russian Joomla Support Forum
Member of the Russian Joomla Translation Team

natriy
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 04, 2006 8:01 am

Re: [CONFIRMED] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

Postby natriy » Thu Jun 08, 2006 8:27 am

Hi,

I had upgrade Joomla from 1.0.8 to 1.0.9 and after that I got problem with Hits Counter in Frontend (always showing 0), but in the "Backend" Hit Counter showing properly.
Also, when I'm turning OFF 'Hits Counter' it's showing me any way in frontend by result '0'.

Thanx,
natriy

http://www.ya-online.com (russian encoding)

User avatar
stingrey
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Marikina, Metro Manila, Philippines
Contact:

Re: [CONFIRMED] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

Postby stingrey » Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:27 pm

smart wrote:but problem exists not with hit counter only... some components like AkoComments will not works with cache, because they can't append fresh data to content from onPrepareContent... And any mambots which inserts any random information (ads, polls etc.)...

Yes we are aware that there are other cache related issues.
This was never a problem before, because caching never worked.

Therefore caching and the performance it provides will have to be balanced with the needs of your site.  So it may not be appropriate to use caching on certain sites - this is why it is off be default.


As to how exactly one solves these cache issues, is another and likely very difficult issue
Rey Gigataras
http://www.wizmediateam.com <-- great team of talented Web Designers and Programmers!
http://about.me/reygigataras <-- About Me :)
Partner, Business Development & Project Manager, Event Manager, Sports Coach :D

User avatar
eyezberg
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2860
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 5:48 pm
Location: Geneva mostly
Contact:

Re: [CONFIRMED] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

Postby eyezberg » Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:44 pm

Rey, could you expand on the above?
What exactly can one expect not to work?
Commenting, bots ...?
Sometimes one pays most for the things one gets for nothing.
The important thing is not to stop questioning. Curiosity has its own reason for existing. AE
http://joomla15.[URL banned].com for J! 1.5 screenshots
http://www.eyezberg.com

User avatar
stingrey
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Marikina, Metro Manila, Philippines
Contact:

Re: [CONFIRMED] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

Postby stingrey » Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:56 pm

eyezberg wrote:Rey, could you expand on the above?
What exactly can one expect not to work?
Commenting, bots ...?

Will do so once we get a complete overview of what issues exist.
Some have already been reported, but need more time to examine and test the issue.

These issues were not anticipated as the Caching system had never worked that well and in the Beta testing of 1.0.9 no reports were made regards these issues.

Now that we have confirmed some, and are reviewing others we are aware of the issue that caching can create.
However, still to early to give full explanation of what they might all be.
Rey Gigataras
http://www.wizmediateam.com <-- great team of talented Web Designers and Programmers!
http://about.me/reygigataras <-- About Me :)
Partner, Business Development & Project Manager, Event Manager, Sports Coach :D

User avatar
smart
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 1:33 pm
Location: Sebastopol
Contact:

Re: [CONFIRMED] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

Postby smart » Thu Jun 08, 2006 4:13 pm

stingrey wrote:As to how exactly one solves these cache issues, is another and likely very difficult issue
May be solution in separate caching content and results of some mambots actions like onPrepareContent? Or adding some param to mambots, that will indicate to core to use cache this mambot's work or not? Or replace one big cache call to several?
Joomlaportal.ru News, articles and tutorials
Joomlaforum.ru Russian Joomla Support Forum
Member of the Russian Joomla Translation Team

conum
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:41 am
Location: Ahrensburg

Re: [CONFIRMED] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

Postby conum » Thu Jun 08, 2006 4:39 pm

I have updated from 1.0.7 to 1.0.9 and don't have this issue.
Under 1.0.7 I had cache turned off, as PageNav didn't work with cache=on.
Now, after updating, I have cache=on, as it was said (and it does) that pagenav will work properly. But there are no probs with hitcounter.
There are still issues with whoisonline, as it counts always only 1 guest, even if there are more (tested up to five from different pcs) online. But thats another story.

User avatar
smart
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 109
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 1:33 pm
Location: Sebastopol
Contact:

Re: [CONFIRMED] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

Postby smart » Thu Jun 08, 2006 5:23 pm

conum wrote:But there are no probs with hitcounter.
Hit counter shows on frontend same values as in backend? And this is actual data?
Joomlaportal.ru News, articles and tutorials
Joomlaforum.ru Russian Joomla Support Forum
Member of the Russian Joomla Translation Team

conum
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 9:41 am
Location: Ahrensburg

Re: [CONFIRMED] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

Postby conum » Thu Jun 08, 2006 8:54 pm

smart wrote:
conum wrote:But there are no probs with hitcounter.
Hit counter shows on frontend same values as in backend? And this is actual data?

I don't know where to look in backend. In frontend, hitcounter (modul mod_stats) is increasing from yesterday evening til now ~500 hits
Last edited by conum on Thu Jun 08, 2006 9:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
stingrey
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2756
Joined: Mon Aug 15, 2005 4:36 pm
Location: Marikina, Metro Manila, Philippines
Contact:

Re: [CONFIRMED] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

Postby stingrey » Fri Jun 09, 2006 3:24 pm

conum wrote:I don't know where to look in backend. In frontend, hitcounter (modul mod_stats) is increasing from yesterday evening til now ~500 hits

When you edit a content item, on the `Publishing` tab there is a Hits line.

As of 1.0.9 there is a `Page Impressions` page accesible under the `Content` dropdown submenu
Rey Gigataras
http://www.wizmediateam.com <-- great team of talented Web Designers and Programmers!
http://about.me/reygigataras <-- About Me :)
Partner, Business Development & Project Manager, Event Manager, Sports Coach :D

karamnik
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 6:22 am

Re: [CONFIRMED] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

Postby karamnik » Fri Sep 01, 2006 6:58 am

Hi,

I have a similar problem that natriy. I had upgrade from Mambo 4.5.1 to Joomla 1.0.10 and after that I got problem with Hits Counter in Frontend (always showing 0), but in the "Backend" Hit Counter showing properly.
Also, when I'm turning OFF 'Hits Counter' it's showing me any way in frontend by result '0'.

Some idea?

Thx

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: [CONFIRMED] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

Postby Robin » Tue Oct 24, 2006 2:16 pm

Q&T Note; 1.0.12 will be a stability release only, marking the topic as KNOWN ISSUE, moving to Known Issue forum.

libo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 11:18 pm

Re: [CONFIRMED : KNOWN ISSUE] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

Postby libo » Fri Apr 27, 2007 8:17 pm

Hi there.
I am setting up a joomla 1.0.12 ecommerce edition.
Recently i turned cache on and realised that hit counter not increasing.
When turned cache off, hit counter started working again.

Has this issue been solved, can you please assit?

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: [CONFIRMED : KNOWN ISSUE] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

Postby Robin » Sat Apr 28, 2007 5:53 pm

When turned cache off, hit counter started working again.

Has this issue been solved, can you please assit?


As far as I know, this is not solved, hence it is in the known issue forum.

libo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 11:18 pm

Re: [CONFIRMED : KNOWN ISSUE] Hit counter no longer working, cache on

Postby libo » Sun Apr 29, 2007 8:31 am

RobInk wrote:
When turned cache off, hit counter started working again.

Has this issue been solved, can you please assit?


As far as I know, this is not solved, hence it is in the known issue forum.


Hi RobInk.
To be more precise, we realised the issue is not that hit counter does not work when cache is on, but rather that it does not increase on the spot. It increases after the next cache refreshement.
see relative discussion with Comenius    http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,164681.0.html


Return to “Known Issues - Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest