Page 1 of 2

[KNOWN ISSUE] Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Wed Jun 07, 2006 8:25 pm
by gareth_w
I have now found a second bug (I think) in Joomla 1.0.9.

I cannot add content from the back end. It all seems to work fine, but clicking on the Preview, Save, or Apply button does nothing.

I can see content published from the front end, but when I open this I also cannot Save this.

NOTE : This bug is present in Opera 8.5.3 and IE v6.x.  Firefox 1.5 works fine.

Again, would be greatful if someone could confirm this is not just me. I know I should be using Firefox, but it is slow as hell on my PC  :(

Re: Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:07 am
by horus_68
it has nothing to do with the url used to login on the administration? (I mean with or without www )?

Re: Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Thu Jun 08, 2006 3:53 am
by colin99
gareth_w wrote: I have now found a second bug (I think) in Joomla 1.0.9.

I cannot add content from the back end. It all seems to work fine, but clicking on the Preview, Save, or Apply button does nothing.

I can see content published from the front end, but when I open this I also cannot Save this.
I am seeing this from the front-end (back end posts work fine) and this has been reported.
Does not seem to be browser dependent.
Oddly -- I did 6 updates on the same server - all the same files and my site has the bug!  :laugh:

Re: Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Thu Jun 08, 2006 6:29 am
by green-mamba
This seems to be right place to raise the following:

I did a brand new installation of 1.0.9 and changed the 'live site' setting in configuration.php to include the 'www' - as I always do since it does create problems with editing if the urls are not consistent and I always access the site with the www included.

I just noticed that when I go into the admin section, sometimes it does use the 'www', other times it throws the 'www away, regardless of the fact that I originally typed in http://www....site....name.com/administrator

This causes problems with editing and updating. Previous versions of Joomla consistently recognised the 'live site' setting in the configuration.php file and didn't arbitrarily change the url to throw away the www.

Any suggestions why this should happen? Couldn't find a way up to now to consistently duplicate the circumstances when it does or does not use the www.

Christine

Update: 2006-06-15. This has nothing to do with Joomla (it seems) but with the actual server that Joomla is hosted on since it happens with other package installations on that server as well (e.g. OSTickets). So you can all ignore this.

Re: Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Thu Jun 08, 2006 7:41 am
by gareth_w
horus_68 wrote: it has nothing to do with the url used to login on the administration? (I mean with or without www )?
In my case no, URL the same, different browsers fail  :( Same browsers all worked fine in 1.0.8.

Re: Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Thu Jun 08, 2006 8:07 am
by infograf768
I have tested 1.0.9 on IE6, Windows XP.

I get a general javascript error when loading frontend
line 464
car ']' expected
code 0
URL: http//mysite.com/component/option=com_frontpage/Itemid,1/

Display is normal

When uusing JCE editor I get this error bur everything works
URL: http//mysite.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=edit&id=11&itemid=9&returnid=9

When using TinyMCE, I get the same error
+ the following
realtinymce is undefined

Tiny does not display

When logout from frontend
http://192.168.0.100/joomla1.0.3/index. ... ion=logout
logout is effective but I am redirected to a page stating that dns do not permit to access this page

Re: Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Fri Jun 09, 2006 7:38 am
by diri
I came around most issues with www. and not www using $mosConfig_live_site = "http://".$_SERVER["HTTP_HOST"]; in configuration.php.

No matter www. is used or not Joomla uses those data in backend. There I couldn't discover anything else so far. In frontend each link points to http://www.domain. This could be related to my .htaccess file which changes some of those hardcoded (  >:( ) paths - must double check it.

It would be nice to be able to specify some alias(es) at least in case Joomla will be hardened in this relation to not to work with such a flexible setting (see Apache: ServerName, ServerAlias).  ;)

cu, diri

Re: Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 2:26 am
by horus_68
green-mamba wrote: This causes problems with editing and updating. Previous versions of Joomla consistently recognised the 'live site' setting in the configuration.php file and didn't arbitrarily change the url to throw away the www.
Not true .. I had the same problem on 1.0.8... then changed the live site config to work without www and then it works fine all the time! So now www its off!

Re: Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 8:56 am
by gareth_w
The URL is set without the WWW and it fails still. Trying this on and off again has no difference.

Irrespective of this, it is a change in behaviour since 1.0.8, and seeing as it is undocumented it should be classified as a bug.

Does anyone know how to downgrade an installation back to 1.0.8? I have too much data added since the upgrade to simply roll back a backup.

Thanks,
Gareth

Re: Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Sun Jun 11, 2006 2:58 pm
by infograf768
gareth_w wrote:
Does anyone know how to downgrade an installation back to 1.0.8? I have too much data added since the upgrade to simply roll back a backup.
I guess it is only a matter of ftp the full 1.0.8 zip in your joomla folder and then unzipping it.
Take off the installation folder.

Re: Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Wed Jun 14, 2006 9:54 pm
by oneidwally
I am getting errors with content editing in the front end as well.

Neither the Apply nor Save button works, and neither TinyMCE nor JCE will load.

If I click on the save or apply button (using IE6), there is a JavaScript error message that says 'tinyMCE' is undefined, which is odd becasue I have JCE set as my editor. I put my editor back to TinyMCE and got the same error.

It says the offending line is #200 as seen below:

191 if (form.title.value == "") {
192 alert ( "Content item must have a title" );
193 } else if (parseInt('1')) {
194 // for content items
195 if (getSelectedValue('adminForm','catid') < 1) {
196 alert ( "Please select a category" );
197 //} else if (form.introtext.value == "") {
198 // alert ( "Content item must have intro text" );
199 } else {
*200         tinyMCE.triggerSave();        tinyMCE.triggerSave(); submitform(pressbutton);
201 }
202 //} else if (form.introtext.value == "") {
203 // alert ( "Content item must have intro text" );
204 } else {
205 // for static content
206         tinyMCE.triggerSave(); submitform(pressbutton);
207 }


If no WYSIWYG editor is specified, the save and apply buttons work fine... So I'm guessing it has something to do with the way the above chunk of JavaScript is trying to call the editor...

With the FCK editor, the save and apply buttons work, but the editor doesn't load and all you see is raw HTML in the intro text and main text areas.

Re: Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:17 am
by Robin
Hi,

@ All, please keep this thread on topic, so bug report related to backend content adding.

@ Gareth,

I have tested both on a localhost and my own site. Using FireFox and IE6.x I am able to add/edit content without any problems. So unable to confirm the original problem related to content adding in the backend.

Re: [UNCONFIRMED] Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:30 am
by gareth_w
RobInk,

Thanks for looking at this. If there is anything I can further do to help you investgiate, please let me know.

I am prepared to let you have an admin logon (for a short period) if this would help.

Best regards,
Gareth

Re: [UNCONFIRMED] Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 8:16 am
by Robin
Hi Gareth,

I'd love to have a look in your backend. This way I could test with IE and FF if I experience the same problem. Just send me a PM with account details.

Re: [UNCONFIRMED] Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 9:08 pm
by Sleeping God
Having the same issue using the backend and front end, but I'm also affected in Firefox 1.5.0.4
I'm eagerly awaiting a solution.

Re: [UNCONFIRMED] Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Sat Jun 24, 2006 7:53 am
by Robin
Hi Gareth,

I just now had the time to check your backend, but you probably disabled the account already?  ;)

Re: [UNCONFIRMED] Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 11:23 am
by gareth_w
Re-enabled. Site is now live however, so if you need to do anything that may affect this, please let me know and I will schedule some downtime.



Gareth

Re: [UNCONFIRMED] Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 10:36 am
by Robin
Hi Gareth,

I just tested your backend, FireFox works okay, but adding (saving) content with IE does not work. I'm also getting an error (javascript) that TinyMCE had not been defined.

So far unable to confirm if it is a bowser or core code issue. I have tested on my own site, both with FF and IE, and adding/saving content is possible. So used the same PC with broswers and not getting any errors. Thus, the problem looks to be pointing to your site/setup. Will try to do more test when possible, see if I can replicate this.

Re: [UNCONFIRMED] Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 10:49 am
by gareth_w
Many thanks.

If it is a site issue, I'd be very anxious to know as what caused it as I have not done any hacks to the core code, and it was working in 1.0.8!

Thanks again,
Gareth

Re: [UNCONFIRMED] Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 1:36 pm
by infograf768
@gareth  & Robink

Just to say that I do not get in 1.0.10 the TinyMCE IE error stated above .

I suggest updating.

Re: [UNCONFIRMED] Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 2:45 pm
by gareth_w
I can confirm that I am running 1.0.10 and the bug is still present.

Gareth

Re: [UNCONFIRMED] Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 9:44 am
by Robin
Thanks for the latest version check, will try to pick this up this week.

Re: [UNCONFIRMED] Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 12:41 pm
by gareth_w
Hi All,

Have been in touch with the JCS developer and the issue is with code compression. Turning code compression off everything works fine again.

Thanks for all your help trying to run this down,
Many thanks,
Gareth

Re: [UNCONFIRMED] Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 12:49 pm
by stingrey
gareth_w wrote: Have been in touch with the JCS developer and the issue is with code compression. Turning code compression off everything works fine again.
This is the reason that code compression functionality in the Core TinyMCE Editor is `off` by default.

The TinyMCE developers (which powers the Core Tiny editor in Joomla! and JCE) have acknowledged that the weakness exists in the code compression handling functionality and recommend it not be used as a default option.

Re: [KNOWN ISSUE] Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 8:46 pm
by csalib
How do you turn off code compression?

Re: [KNOWN ISSUE] Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 8:04 am
by infograf768
csalib wrote: How do you turn off code compression?
Mambots/Site Mambots/TinyMCE WYSIWYG Editor/
parameters:
Functionality
 
Code Cleanup Off On
Code Cleanup on startup Off On
Save Warning Off On
Compressed Version Off On

Re: [KNOWN ISSUE] Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 9:59 pm
by Sleeping God
Strangely enough, my problem was fixed by switching code compression ON!  ??? It had been set Off as the default setting.
Once the WYSIWYG was up and running my articles were quite happy to apply and save, both in the frontend and the backend.
Keep up the good work, guys. Hopefully I won't be back too soon with more problems.  :D

Re: [KNOWN ISSUE] Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Sat Jul 15, 2006 10:05 pm
by csalib
Somewhere on the boards I read about the mosConfig_live_site variable causing problems. If what you have now has the leading www in the domain name try removing it. If your url does not have the www try adding it. Thats what worked for me.

Re: [KNOWN ISSUE] Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 1:12 pm
by loadsysinc
I have the same said issue mentioned above, but the compression flag does not fix the issue.  When using IE the TinyMCE WYSIWIG does not show the content.  It looks like a locked textarea.  The toolbar buttons do not work neither. 

As far as the live site URL, I have NO http://www.&nbsp; But, it needs to stay this way for SSL to operate smoothly as my certificate is for no www.

Are these problems related in any way?  Any source I could edit to make this function properly?

Thanks.

Lee

Re: [KNOWN ISSUE] Joomla 1.0.9 Back End Submit Content Fails

Posted: Mon Jul 24, 2006 1:36 pm
by loadsysinc
Some more info:  I actually switched the mosConfig_live_site and the problem indeed fixed itself.

Here is the javascript error that occurs:

Line:  3258
Char: 5
Error: Access is denied
Code: 0
http://www.loadsys1.com/restaurant/admi ... enu=1&id=1


Anyone know about this?

Lee