Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

friesengeist
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 842
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:31 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by friesengeist » Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:06 pm

BrianDW wrote: ok,i installed 1.0.11,registered my self as a regular member( i have a seperate login for admin).would try to log in and it shows as having one guest online,go to admin,shows my user as registered and such but not logged in.i tried the 2 file overwrites and still the same problem.and yes the log in is from the same IP as backend.tried from another PC in the house with same results. this might be why i couldnt get Community Builder to work for me as well.any help is appreciated.
Brian
Brian, could you please let me know your server details: OS, Server type, PHP, MySQL, Browser?
Are you using the standard Joomla! login module, or anything else like the Community Builder or Virtuemart login module?
Do you have a page where we can see this?
What's your mosConfig_livesite, and from which URL did you try to log in?
Last edited by friesengeist on Fri Oct 27, 2006 10:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
We may not be able to control the wind, but we can always adjust our sails

BrianDW
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 8:06 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by BrianDW » Sat Oct 28, 2006 5:12 am

  • Linux OS-Server,Windows XP home on my PC
  • off site-BlueHost
  • 4.4.4 PHP
  • 4.1.21 MSQL
  • Mozilla,Firefox,Opera,tried with all 3
Standard 'out of the box' Log In
not sure on the mosConfig_livesite,i just use the preview option-cant log in from there either
http://www.many-nations.com/joomla -same URL that i tried 3 browsers on

and if you register it will send notification email and show you as registered in Admin section-just wont let me log in
Last edited by BrianDW on Sat Oct 28, 2006 5:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

friesengeist
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 842
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:31 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by friesengeist » Sat Oct 28, 2006 1:23 pm

BrianDW wrote: not sure on the mosConfig_livesite,i just use the preview option-cant log in from there either
http://www.many-nations.com/joomla -same URL that i tried 3 browsers on
I bet I know where this comes from - always good to have a sniffer available ;)

You have your livesite set to http://many-nations.com/joomla, without www. But you also have a rewrite rule which redirects to http://www.many-nations.com/joomla. Please remove that rewrite rule, since the proposed patch is there so that you do not need these rewrite rules anymore. If you still wanna redirect to only one host, please make sure that $mosConfig_livesite and the rewrite rule match!

I was able to log in to your site when I changed the URL which is used for login manually with Firefox's DOM-Inspector.

Can you confirm my observations?
We may not be able to control the wind, but we can always adjust our sails

BrianDW
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 8:06 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by BrianDW » Sat Oct 28, 2006 2:54 pm

ok,im a newbie to Joomla,can you tell me where the rewrite rule is so i can remove it? lol :laugh:

i just found the $mosConfig_livesite and changed it to www. now the login works,tested with URL and mozilla as well-Thanks :D
Last edited by BrianDW on Sat Oct 28, 2006 3:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

friesengeist
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 842
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:31 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by friesengeist » Sat Oct 28, 2006 3:07 pm

BrianDW wrote: ok,im a newbie to Joomla,can you tell me where the rewrite rule is so i can remove it? lol :laugh:
The rewrite rules are set "somewhere" (e.g. in a file called .htaccess) in your webserver configuration. It's probably something like written by shumisha:
shumisha wrote: I never had this problem, but I am doing something that will also fix this, by adding the following to my .htaccess :

Code: Select all

RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^mydomain\.com [NC]
RewriteRule (.*) http://www.mydomain.com/$1 [R=301,L,NC]
every request form mydomain.com/xxxx is redirected to http://www.mydomain.com/xxxx, through a permanent redirection (you can do it the other way around if you like of course, from www to non-www).
IF you don't have access to those configurations, try this instead, it's a lot easier: download the file configuration.php from your Joomla! root folder, (make a backup), edit the setting for $mosConfig_live_site (inlcude the "www"), and upload it again.

Hope this helps :)

EDIT: I just now saw that you fixed it, good!
We may not be able to control the wind, but we can always adjust our sails

BrianDW
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 8:06 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by BrianDW » Sat Oct 28, 2006 9:29 pm

ok kind of related question,if i install COmmunity Builder should i have any log in problems? or will i have to re edit the $mosConfig_live_site file again?

User avatar
Beat
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 837
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:53 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by Beat » Sun Oct 29, 2006 12:18 am

BrianDW wrote: ok kind of related question,if i install COmmunity Builder should i have any log in problems? or will i have to re edit the $mosConfig_live_site file again?
Community Builder (CB) uses core Joomla library API for login. It is depending on, affected by, relying upon, taking profit of, suffering from, enjoying and helping making Joomla (and CB) login, registration and user management staying compatible and in sync with Joomla 1.0, 1.5 and future releases.

For Joomla! 1.5, there will be a CB 1.0.2 out to community soon now, and this release will also implement the fixes already implemented in next Joomla release 1.0.12).

So short answer: yes, CB login is similar to core login, except you can checkmark rememberme by default or permanently (hidden) in cb login module, which hides Joomla 1.0.11 login problems.

Check soon on http://www.joomlapolis.com for news regarding this in CB.
Beat 8)
www.joomlapolis.com <= Community Builder + CBSubs Joomla membership payment system - team
hosting.joomlapolis.com <= Joomla! Hosting, by the CB Team

enolbos
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 57
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 11:41 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by enolbos » Sun Oct 29, 2006 1:53 pm

unixboymd wrote: What about adding the following to the configuration.php file? I've found that this fixes the whole issue of sites being accessed from http://www.domain.com or domain.com.

Code: Select all

$mosConfig_live_site = 'http://' . $_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'];
This was the fix I needed.  Now if someone could explain what I need to do so customers can see active products without having to login I'd be golden!  But, that's more of a VirtueMart issue. 

Thanks for the code,
Brian

ks_tiwari
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 2:34 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by ks_tiwari » Sun Oct 29, 2006 5:01 pm

friesengeist wrote: Hi everyone,

there are quite a few users who are experiencing problems upon their first frontend login, however, the login works the second time for most of them. The corresponding threads are at least these:
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,76935.0.html
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,92425.0.html
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,67290.0.html
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,87929.0.html
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,72398.0.html
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,71369.0.html

I believe that most of these issues occur for users visiting your page from a URL other than the livesite URL set in your global config. Lets imagine your livesite URL is http://www.example.com, but a user visits you under example.com. Indeed, there is no possibility for this user to login on the first attempt. Now, if you encounter such problems, you might be lucky, as some (if not all) these issues have been identified.

If you are willing to test this proposed solution, please follow these steps. But before you start, keep in mind that all such changes could as well break your site, so I wouldn't use it on a production system, but rather only on a test system.
  • Use the attached files only on Joomla! 1.0.11. They are not compatible with other versions!
  • Make a backup of the files /includes/joomla.php and /modules/mod_login.php first.
  • Download the zip-file which is attached to this post, und unzip it to a temporary location.
  • Overwrite /includes/joomla.php with joomla.php.
  • Overwrite /modules/mod_login.php with mod_login.php.
  • If you have set a value for the "Login Redirection URL" for the login module, please delete it or make sure the domain matches the domain you use as your live_site in global configuration.
  • Please report back if you are still experiencing any login issues.
As said, I would never use any patches directly on a production server, so use them only on a testing server or know what you are doing :)

Looking forward to your feedback,
Enno

Hi Guys
Tried on 1.0.11, works like charm both with IE and FF one shot login.... Thanks Enno ! :)

User avatar
OcELL
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 29, 2006 7:51 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by OcELL » Sun Oct 29, 2006 8:21 pm

:'( I try and doesn't work... my Joomla! is hosted over an IIS 6.0 (from GravityNet), the MySQL Server is 5.0.21 and PHP version is 4.3.10.

Ray Hemingray
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 10:40 am

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by Ray Hemingray » Tue Oct 31, 2006 6:53 pm

Thank you, Unixboymd, for the brilliant solution of adding $mosConfig_live_site = 'http://' . $_SERVER['HTTP_HOST']; to the configuration.php file in Joomla 1.0.11, in order to solve the double login problem. I am new to Joomla. I made my first Joomla web site live only two weeks ago, since when I have been having login problems all the time. I also had a similar problem with a Mambo site which I had converted to Joomla a week ago. This solution has solved both problems instantly. I can now stop tearing my hair out, while I still have some left! Many thanks. I am now a happy bunny!

Ray

technopuzzle
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1958
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 5:53 pm
Location: Washington D.C. & Baltimore, MD Metro
Contact:

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by technopuzzle » Tue Oct 31, 2006 6:57 pm

Ray - You're welcome, but I can't take credit for that particular solution. Once upon a time, in a land far, far away, I found that solution in one of the forums. It's been so long ago that I have no idea who to properly credit for it. I don't even remember if it was a Joomla forum or a Mambo forum.
Ray Hemingray wrote: Thank you, Unixboymd, for the brilliant solution of adding $mosConfig_live_site = 'http://' . $_SERVER['HTTP_HOST']; to the configuration.php file in Joomla 1.0.11, in order to solve the double login problem. I am new to Joomla. I made my first Joomla web site live only two weeks ago, since when I have been having login problems all the time. I also had a similar problem with a Mambo site which I had converted to Joomla a week ago. This solution has solved both problems instantly. I can now stop tearing my hair out, while I still have some left! Many thanks. I am now a happy bunny!

Ray
Thanks,
Roger Raymond
Techno Puzzle

jabier
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2006 5:12 am
Contact:

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by jabier » Wed Nov 01, 2006 3:20 am

JerkyPenguin wrote: Fan &*$%ing -tastic!!!
Great job!  Thanks so much!  Go Joomla! :laugh:
It works for me, too. I was in the middle of re-installing my Joomla from the scratch.
Thanks a lot :)

Mas Jabier
:: all programs are poems, it's just not all programmers are poets ::

diri
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 702
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2005 9:27 am
Location: Somewhere

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by diri » Wed Nov 01, 2006 11:48 am

unixboymd wrote: ... I found that solution in one of the forums. It's been so long ago that I have no idea who to properly credit for it.
Credit should go to those people who invented server variables. It's some time ago ... even elder than Apache. Such a solution works in any case where you have server variables available (SSI, Perl, PHP, Python, ...) as long as application is flexible enough.

And ... it has been already posted here in forums long time ago.

Nikishka
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:25 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by Nikishka » Wed Nov 01, 2006 6:19 pm

The patch you proposed worked for Safari and Firefox, thanks! :)

But I have one problem: it did not work for IE 6 and 7. Maybe it is the IE problem?

Nikishka
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:25 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by Nikishka » Thu Nov 02, 2006 4:48 am

Ok folks, this is what I am experiencing...

If I remove Forwarding login works. If I put Forwarding back on login doesnt work.

if I go to the site by typing http://something.com/joomla -> login works
if I mask and forward  http://something.com/joomla with http://www.onething.com -> login doesnt work

maybe the code gets confused?

friesengeist
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 842
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:31 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by friesengeist » Thu Nov 02, 2006 4:57 pm

Nikishka wrote: The patch you proposed worked for Safari and Firefox, thanks! :)

But I have one problem: it did not work for IE 6 and 7. Maybe it is the IE problem?
Could you please let me know some more of your server details?
OS, Server type, PHP, MySQL, Browser?
Are you using the standard Joomla! login module, or anything else like the Community Builder or Virtuemart login module?
Do you have a page where we can see this?
What's your mosConfig_livesite, and from which URL did you try to log in?
Nikishka wrote: If I remove Forwarding login works. If I put Forwarding back on login doesnt work.

if I go to the site by typing http://something.com/joomla -> login works
if I mask and forward  http://something.com/joomla with http://www.onething.com -> login doesnt work
By "forwarding", do you mean .htaccess redirects? Which URL would be your mosConfig_live_site in this case?


OcELL wrote: :'( I try and doesn't work... my Joomla! is hosted over an IIS 6.0 (from GravityNet), the MySQL Server is 5.0.21 and PHP version is 4.3.10.
So far I coudn't test this on IIS. Can you/someone please post (or PM) a URL where this can be seen?
Last edited by friesengeist on Thu Nov 02, 2006 5:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
We may not be able to control the wind, but we can always adjust our sails

Nikishka
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Sep 05, 2006 10:25 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by Nikishka » Thu Nov 02, 2006 9:45 pm

I did not mean the .htaccess, I mean forwarding through my domains account CP. I have many domain names and many web sites and I use only one server account. So I need to forward thing in this case. I didnt do anything to htaccess file. I just installed the proposed patch and in my configuration file I changed to http://something.com/somethin without www

So now it is working. I checked it at a local public library too. So I think there is nothing to do with PC versions, etc. Well, i am on Linux server PHP 4 mac os x i duno mysql. joomla 1.0.11 and I use login module that came with the Joomla 1.0.11 I dont use CB I cant give you my URL though :) its a family website and I can only share with my relatives

friesengeist
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 842
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:31 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by friesengeist » Thu Nov 02, 2006 10:37 pm

Nikishka wrote: I did not mean the .htaccess, I mean forwarding through my domains account CP. I have many domain names and many web sites and I use only one server account. So I need to forward thing in this case. I didnt do anything to htaccess file. I just installed the proposed patch and in my configuration file I changed to http://something.com/somethin without www

So now it is working. I checked it at a local public library too. So I think there is nothing to do with PC versions, etc. Well, i am on Linux server PHP 4 mac os x i duno mysql. joomla 1.0.11 and I use login module that came with the Joomla 1.0.11 I dont use CB I cant give you my URL though :) its a family website and I can only share with my relatives
Ok, thanks for the update.

I'm only aware of issues with IIS as of now. So please, if anyone has an URL for an IIS server with these login issues for me, please share it!  8)
We may not be able to control the wind, but we can always adjust our sails

friesengeist
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 842
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:31 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by friesengeist » Mon Nov 06, 2006 9:40 pm

OcELL wrote: :'( I try and doesn't work... my Joomla! is hosted over an IIS 6.0 (from GravityNet), the MySQL Server is 5.0.21 and PHP version is 4.3.10.
Okay guys, thanks to Rob, I now have access to an IIS server. I've tested the patch on Win2k3, IIS 6.0, MySQL 5.0.27, PHP 4.3.10 (and PHP 5.2). I haven't found any bugs, logged me in on first try always.

May I ask everyone who still experiences login issues to post at least a URL where I can see this? Additionaly, your system info would be great, but the URL is really important.

Thanks in advance,
Enno
We may not be able to control the wind, but we can always adjust our sails

ks_tiwari
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 2:34 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by ks_tiwari » Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:22 pm

Hi

OK, Enno's patch for joomla.php and mod_login works like charm. But i installed CB and CB_login has same problem again. I tried to search in forum for solution but couldnt find yet... Someone please guide me ... Thanks

Raj

User avatar
Beat
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 837
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:53 am
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by Beat » Sun Nov 12, 2006 9:06 pm

ks_tiwari wrote: Hi

OK, Enno's patch for joomla.php and mod_login works like charm. But i installed CB and CB_login has same problem again. I tried to search in forum for solution but couldnt find yet... Someone please guide me ... Thanks

Raj
CB's login module of CB 1.0.2, due out within the next 2 days now, will have the fix as well as other improvments. If you want to test (and have time to test) the final release 1.0.2 candidate between today and tomorrow, please PM me your email address.
Beat
Beat 8)
www.joomlapolis.com <= Community Builder + CBSubs Joomla membership payment system - team
hosting.joomlapolis.com <= Joomla! Hosting, by the CB Team

slutgers
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Nov 20, 2006 1:55 am

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by slutgers » Mon Nov 20, 2006 2:03 am

I have a similar problem as Brian. you can see it yourself at
http://www.pinnyproductions.com/custome ... /index.php
right now the website slutgers.com is functional on mambo, and I want to not only switch to joomla, but switch servers as well, and naturally I'd rather have it working before i switch the nameserver over.
I can't get anyone to login right now, and a crucial part of this website is being able to login and interact with content...
Whenever I try loggiing in as a user, it simply doesn't do anything...as if i hit refresh instead of submit
Any help?
I tried rewriting those two files, didn't do anything...

friesengeist
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 842
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:31 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by friesengeist » Mon Nov 20, 2006 1:40 pm

Hi slutgers,
slutgers wrote: I have a similar problem as Brian. you can see it yourself at
http://www.pinnyproductions.com/custome ... /index.php
You've got a rewrite rule, which redirects all incoming traffic for the domain pinnyproductions.com to http://www.pinnyproductions.com, but your mosConfig_livesite is set to pinnyproductions.com/...

You need to change the livesite to include the www, or you need to delete the mod_rewrite rule.

Hope this helps ;)
We may not be able to control the wind, but we can always adjust our sails

tachyon663
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:44 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by tachyon663 » Mon Nov 20, 2006 11:42 pm

The first two proposed solutions (replacing the files with the patch files posted in this forum / editing configuration.php) did not work for me. I'm still facing the same problem. The solution involving the .htaccess file does not apply to me since I'm using IIS.

Here's my environment: Windows XP Professional running IIS 5.1, PHP 4.4.4, MySQL 5.0, Joomla 1.0.11

The confusing thing is that the error started occuring suddenly, without any code changes or addition of new extensions / modules.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

-RP

friesengeist
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 842
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:31 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by friesengeist » Tue Nov 21, 2006 12:38 am

Hi tachyon663,
tachyon663 wrote: Here's my environment: Windows XP Professional running IIS 5.1, PHP 4.4.4, MySQL 5.0, Joomla 1.0.11

The confusing thing is that the error started occuring suddenly, without any code changes or addition of new extensions / modules.
Interesting, especially about the bug appearing suddenly ;)
Could you please post (or send by PM) the URL of your site?
We may not be able to control the wind, but we can always adjust our sails

tachyon663
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:44 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by tachyon663 » Tue Nov 21, 2006 1:00 am

Hi,
thanks for your reply. I get a "You cannot send personal messages" error on this site, and I cannot put up a link to our *development* site here. But could you please get in touch with me by email? riskyrisk at yahoo . I can email you the link to our test site.

Thanks,

RP
Last edited by tachyon663 on Tue Nov 21, 2006 1:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

friesengeist
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 842
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:31 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by friesengeist » Tue Nov 21, 2006 1:37 am

tachyon663 wrote: thanks for your reply. I get a "You cannot send personal messages" error on this site, and I cannot put up a link to our *development* site here.
Sorry about that, you can write PMs as soon as you have five posts on this board. I got your reply per mail though, thanks ;)

About your site: looks like you are running Joom!Fish. Please try out this patch and see how that works: http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... #msg563570
We may not be able to control the wind, but we can always adjust our sails

tachyon663
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 4:44 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by tachyon663 » Tue Nov 21, 2006 4:56 pm

friesengeist wrote:
tachyon663 wrote: thanks for your reply. I get a "You cannot send personal messages" error on this site, and I cannot put up a link to our *development* site here.
Sorry about that, you can write PMs as soon as you have five posts on this board. I got your reply per mail though, thanks ;)

About your site: looks like you are running Joom!Fish. Please try out this patch and see how that works: http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... #msg563570
Enno,
thanks a ton for your help. I haven't yet tried out the JoomFish patch, but since Joomfish was not as critical as getting the main site up and running, I uninstalled that module. Joomla is working fine now. At a later date, I may try to install Joomfish again with the patch you mention.

Thanks,

RP

slord
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 216
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 11:27 am
Contact:

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by slord » Tue Nov 21, 2006 6:14 pm

friesengeist wrote:
All three are valid, let me try to explain the differences:
  • The initial post of this thread is meant for getting feedback from users, if it solves all know login issues. So far, I'm satisfied with the results, only Microsoft's Internet Information Server (IIS) still has problems. So something quite similiar to this will probably be used in 1.0.12, I'll discuss some details with Beat in the next days.
  • Changing .htaccess will not work on every server, as a special module (mod_rewrite) needs to be loaded by the server. I have no clue how this would look like in IIS, but I doubt it that you can use a .htaccess (written for Apache) on IIS. So this is indeed a good solution, but not really within the scope of Joomla!, as it depends to much on your server config. However, this avoids penalties for duplicate content from search engines, as your content can only be found under one doamin - so it's basically a good thing.
  • Changing the configuration.php (or achieving the same thing in any other file) is IMHO out of scope for 1.0.12, as stated earlier by me.
So it's your choice, use what ever solves the issues for you :)

BTW, thanks to everyone who tested the patch! Let me hear if there is anyone for whom this is not working (except for IIS).
Ok both work for me.... but ... (and I can't not say this)
Basically as a OpenSource development you can't go catering to IIS specific hacks... or you eventually tie yourself in knots...
(or for that matter why not cater to AOL server and Sun, Zeus, roxen etc....) 

In theory anyone running IIS is doing so because of a few reasons... it came with XP Pro, they are a corp using only MS products? or that's what thier hoster uses...

All in all IIS is not a very widespread web server anyway... but even less so for the sort of hosting packages that let you run Joomla... so its mainly either home users or corporations ... ?? If a corp is thickheaded enough to run IIS then they will probably run MicroSoft CMS... because running IIS is not something to do for technical reasons but because of policy.... 

Noone is stopping them running apache... except themselves and the same policy stopping them running apache is likely to stop them running Joomla anyway?  Its good Joomla runs on IIS but taking functionality or causing potential problems for its primary platform (apache) just doesn't make sense. 

Most individuals with websites either use apache hosting or have some cheap package where you can't install your own stuff anyway...  and most individuals running their own servers on their desktop... its just unfortunate IIS is so crap it can't support all functionality in Joomla (or lucky it works at all) ...


Post Reply

Return to “Superseded Issues - Archive”