Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

User avatar
Robin
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 15753
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:41 am

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by Robin » Fri Dec 01, 2006 7:16 am

Q&T Note; moving to superseded with upcoming release of 1.0.12

bangp
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 9:01 am

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by bangp » Fri Dec 01, 2006 1:06 pm

Hi.

I also have 1.0.11 installed and tried the first method, overwriting the 2 files, but it does not work :( I also tried to put in the code in configuration.php, but it didn´t work edither :( :( Though, I'm not completly sure that I did it right - I just put the code in the end of the existing code! Should it be placed a specific place in the code?

bangp
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Jun 22, 2006 9:01 am

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by bangp » Fri Dec 01, 2006 1:27 pm

Just after writing my post I discovered that the Log in form i tried to use was some wired deadend in the template I just had installed ??? After publishing the real module everything works :-\ - Lesson learned: know you template! Sorry and thanx for all the great help in this forum  :)

BangP

kentpaulsen
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 6:27 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by kentpaulsen » Fri Dec 01, 2006 6:36 pm

After reading tons of these posts I'm close to being sure that this isn't the same problem I have, but very close..
I am the administrator of http://margaritaestate.com/site/ and when I try to log in to the administrator-section on http://margaritaestate.com/site/administrator I have some problems.

*  When submitting my username and password it just sends me back to the login-page with this message: "You need to login"

I thought it might not check my password at all, and there was something with that but;

* Writing an erronous password makes joomla send me back to the login-page with this message: "Incorrect Username, Password. Please try again"


This behaviour started from one day to the other, and I haven't done any modifications to any template, chmodded any folders or similar. Only thing I had been doing the last day it worked was adding articles...

Kent att whoknew dott no

friesengeist
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 842
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:31 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by friesengeist » Fri Dec 01, 2006 6:50 pm

kentpaulsen wrote: After reading tons of these posts I'm close to being sure that this isn't the same problem I have, but very close..
It's not the same problem, since this thread is only about frontend login issues.

The thread http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,115866.0.html might help you.

Take a look at your errorlog, maybe you'll find some information there as well.
We may not be able to control the wind, but we can always adjust our sails

mikehamel
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by mikehamel » Sun Dec 03, 2006 6:33 am

I downloaded the patch and it worked like a charm!  Thanks so much, it's a huge help when it's difficult to get users to access a site one way or the other!

davedbk
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 7:09 am
Location: Perth Australia

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by davedbk » Mon Dec 04, 2006 5:18 am

Hey Enno,

Your patch works great. I wasn't getting dodgy logins or second time logins - just the big fat 403 error, consistently. (front-end login over https://)

I wasn't sure your patch would bridge the gap but it did.



Thanks,

davedbk
Jesus has all the answers.

User avatar
michpeta
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 12:09 am
Location: South Australia
Contact:

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by michpeta » Wed Dec 06, 2006 5:05 am

Hi,

I have applied the replacement scripts and changed the line in config.php and am still having login issues. After applying the two changes, I do manage to login first time, which is good, but then when I use my menus to navigate, I am unable to see the editing icons on some pages and cannot return to the home page with edit ability. Something is still not right. I am using 1.0.11 on PHP 4.2.3, MySQL 3.23.52. I don't use rewrite rules. Using Apache with Bind. The site is http://www.statewebservices.com.au.

Please help.

Michael

aztc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Aug 19, 2005 5:33 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by aztc » Wed Dec 06, 2006 2:30 pm

Before I apply the patch... :'(

Will this bug be resolved in 1.0.12?

If so, any idea when it will be released?

friesengeist
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 842
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:31 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by friesengeist » Wed Dec 06, 2006 3:12 pm

michpeta wrote: I have applied the replacement scripts and changed the line in config.php and am still having login issues. After applying the two changes, I do manage to login first time, which is good, but then when I use my menus to navigate, I am unable to see the editing icons on some pages and cannot return to the home page with edit ability. Something is still not right. I am using 1.0.11 on PHP 4.2.3, MySQL 3.23.52. I don't use rewrite rules. Using Apache with Bind. The site is http://www.statewebservices.com.au.
You have some full links in your menu, e.g. "Services" in your topmenu. It points to your domain, without www. As you have also altered your configuration.php, this will make you appear logged out once you are on the domain without the www.

Try to find all links in your menu/content items, which point to a full URL, and remove the domain from it. That should help.
aztc wrote: Before I apply the patch... :'(

Will this bug be resolved in 1.0.12?
Yes, this has been fixed for 1.0.12 in SVN. There is one issue which won't be fixed, but only for IIS running in CGI mode:
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... #msg575932 and
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... #msg589074
We may not be able to control the wind, but we can always adjust our sails

Black Phoenix
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:53 am

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by Black Phoenix » Wed Dec 06, 2006 6:36 pm

I have tried all of these suggestions. And still i need to log in twice to access user menu etc?

Any info i can provide to help?

Asphyx
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2454
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 5:03 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by Asphyx » Wed Dec 06, 2006 7:06 pm

Cookies aside....Two of the 3 solutions I know will also solve the Java Security issues people experience when the wrong domain is browsed to and loads a Java file that won't work because it does not match the Livesite variable...

The original solution (patched files) may fix this as well but I haven't looked at the code of those patched files to be sure...Considering who posted that fix I'm pretty confident it will work as well....

But the standard conventions of domain use usually dictate that the base domain is reserved for the DNS and Auth functions of a domain (PDC and BDC). It is always better to redirect users to the www domain for web pages. There are many ways to do that without having to hack joomla or use HTACCESS....

in IIS you usually set up a seperate web site and IP for the base domain with a redirect page to the www domain's site.
With Apache the htaccess will do that without the need for a seperate site and redirect.

What I would like to see at some point in the future is some code that will check the domain and use a seperate configuration.php depending on which domain was bowsed to. This would be a boon to the Net in general as a big problem right now with ISPs is the hoarding and rationing of IP addresses. Something like this would give us true multisite capability as we could run many domains off the same server and install of Joomla! You could even run mutiple and disparate base domains off the same server each with it's own DB and settings under the same Joomla install! add a small utility to duplicate table structure for each new site in the seperate DBs and Joomla would have a major leg up on it's competition in regards to multisite support...

But that really should belong in the wishlist section so apologies for veering off a bit there....

Black Phoenix
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:53 am

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by Black Phoenix » Wed Dec 06, 2006 7:25 pm

I have tried all 3 suggestions. I have also checked if myurl.com would work, and it doesnt, so i can only go to http://www.myurl.com to access my site. But im still getting the logging in twice problem  :'(

Please any help?

friesengeist
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 842
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:31 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by friesengeist » Wed Dec 06, 2006 7:29 pm

Black Phoenix wrote: I have tried all of these suggestions. And still i need to log in twice to access user menu etc?

Any info i can provide to help?
Welcome to these forums! You need to give us at least an URL to your domain, otherwise there is no chance for us to find out what's going wrong on your site. If I need more information afterwards, I'll ask again ;)
Asphyx wrote: Cookies aside....Two of the 3 solutions I know will also solve the Java Security issues people experience when the wrong domain is browsed to and loads a Java file that won't work because it does not match the Livesite variable...
Joomla! 1.5 solves this by using a dynamic livesite. The user will stay on the domain he used for the first request when surfing to your site. There is no (active) setting for the livesite in global config anymore. However, this is too much for 1.0, that's why the fix redirects to the livesite you entered in your configuration.php.
Asphyx wrote: What I would like to see at some point in the future is some code that will check the domain and use a seperate configuration.php depending on which domain was bowsed to. This would be a boon to the Net in general as a big problem right now with ISPs is the hoarding and rationing of IP addresses. Something like this would give us true multisite capability as we could run many domains off the same server and install of Joomla! You could even run mutiple and disparate base domains off the same server each with it's own DB and settings under the same Joomla install! add a small utility to duplicate table structure for each new site in the seperate DBs and Joomla would have a major leg up on it's competition in regards to multisite support...

But that really should belong in the wishlist section so apologies for veering off a bit there....
That's already possible by now, also for 1.0.x. Someone just needs to write a mambot which enables this behaviour :P If the day only had 48 hours :)
We may not be able to control the wind, but we can always adjust our sails

Black Phoenix
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:53 am

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by Black Phoenix » Wed Dec 06, 2006 7:32 pm

The URL of one of my sites is http://www.2367sqn.org.uk . I do have another site, which i still need to log in twice too, but that is run off the same server.

Asphyx
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2454
Joined: Sun Aug 28, 2005 5:03 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by Asphyx » Wed Dec 06, 2006 7:39 pm

If the day only had 48 hours
LOL you would still only get 2 hours of sleep!

The mambot I expect would be the easy part....
The DB structure I bet would be a bit trickier to get...

friesengeist
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 842
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:31 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by friesengeist » Thu Dec 07, 2006 1:58 am

Black Phoenix wrote: The URL of one of my sites is http://www.2367sqn.org.uk . I do have another site, which i still need to log in twice too, but that is run off the same server.
That's probably because you run IIS on your server. http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... #msg589059 could help you...
We may not be able to control the wind, but we can always adjust our sails

User avatar
michpeta
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 12:09 am
Location: South Australia
Contact:

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by michpeta » Thu Dec 07, 2006 6:25 am

friesengeist wrote:
michpeta wrote: I have applied the replacement scripts and changed the line in config.php and am still having login issues. After applying the two changes, I do manage to login first time, which is good, but then when I use my menus to navigate, I am unable to see the editing icons on some pages and cannot return to the home page with edit ability. Something is still not right. I am using 1.0.11 on PHP 4.2.3, MySQL 3.23.52. I don't use rewrite rules. Using Apache with Bind. The site is http://www.statewebservices.com.au.
You have some full links in your menu, e.g. "Services" in your topmenu. It points to your domain, without www. As you have also altered your configuration.php, this will make you appear logged out once you are on the domain without the www.

Try to find all links in your menu/content items, which point to a full URL, and remove the domain from it. That should help.
aztc wrote: Before I apply the patch... :'(

Will this bug be resolved in 1.0.12?
Yes, this has been fixed for 1.0.12 in SVN. There is one issue which won't be fixed, but only for IIS running in CGI mode:
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... #msg575932 and
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... #msg589074

Hi and thankyou very much for the assistance.

When I look in the menu table at the links for that menu, both links start with index.php... When I look within Joomla administration at the menu items, all links start with index.php... I cannot find where to change these links, if in fact they need changing. It does seem that definitely is thecase that the www. makes all the difference.

If this is fixed in 1.5, is 1.5 stable enough for production environments. My clients wont like this for long. Please assist further.

Michael

Black Phoenix
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:53 am

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by Black Phoenix » Fri Dec 08, 2006 5:06 pm

I have tried what you said, it almost works. Now it doesnt show the page. When you log in, index.php?option=com_comprofiler&task=login is what appears at the end of the url.

Any help would be great.

mikehamel
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by mikehamel » Sat Dec 09, 2006 6:40 am

I thought the zip file fix was working out great, and all of a sudden it's failing worse than ever. I might get in once in 20 tries.  It's horrible timing as I'm just starting to get more people to the site.
http://www.publictruth.org

Any ideas on what I could do?  This should be fixed in .12 right?  How soon should I expect this to come out?

User avatar
michpeta
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 12:09 am
Location: South Australia
Contact:

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by michpeta » Sat Dec 09, 2006 12:48 pm

You have some full links in your menu, e.g. "Services" in your topmenu. It points to your domain, without www. As you have also altered your configuration.php, this will make you appear logged out once you are on the domain without the www.

Try to find all links in your menu/content items, which point to a full URL, and remove the domain from it. That should help.
aztc wrote: Before I apply the patch... :'(

Will this bug be resolved in 1.0.12?
Yes, this has been fixed for 1.0.12 in SVN. There is one issue which won't be fixed, but only for IIS running in CGI mode:
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... #msg575932 and
http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic ... #msg589074
[/quote]


Hi and thankyou very much for the assistance.

When I look in the menu table at the links for that menu, both links start with index.php... When I look within Joomla administration at the menu items, all links start with index.php... I cannot find where to change these links, if in fact they need changing. It does seem that definitely is thecase that the www. makes all the difference.

If this is fixed in 1.5, is 1.5 stable enough for production environments. My clients wont like this for long. Please assist further.

Michael
[/quote]

Hi,

you were right. There was a hardcoded link, hidden in one of the template files. It is fixed now and all seems to be working well.

Thankyou!!!

Michael

User avatar
serrbiz
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Sep 18, 2006 3:48 pm
Location: Annapolis, Maryland
Contact:

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by serrbiz » Sat Dec 09, 2006 6:05 pm

davemacd wrote: Still getting the same issue after applying this patch on my Joomla site running under IIS (so I can't use .htaccess method).

The only fix I can find that works is either ticking the remember me box or checking the login message parameter on the login module which says "You are now logged in". These work - but aren't great solutions !

Have tried removing my login redirection, tried the attached files, tried the other '0' session fix - but still not working as it was before  :(
I'm having the same problem on GrungeOgre.com  I can ONLY log in thefront end if I check the remember me box.  Not of the other fixes worked.  Tried them all.

mikehamel
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by mikehamel » Sun Dec 10, 2006 3:52 am

To add to my previous post, when I'd initially instituted the fix, I could login with the www, but since it stopped working it seems to work at random, but fails with or without the www.

I came across this in another post, no idea if it could be helpful, and I couldn't really understand how exactly you'd go about doing it.  If this is a potential fix could someone put it in english for me?

http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,101404.0.html

friesengeist
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 842
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:31 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by friesengeist » Sun Dec 10, 2006 4:21 pm

mikehamel wrote: I thought the zip file fix was working out great, and all of a sudden it's failing worse than ever. I might get in once in 20 tries.  It's horrible timing as I'm just starting to get more people to the site.
http://www.publictruth.org

Any ideas on what I could do?  This should be fixed in .12 right?  How soon should I expect this to come out?
I can log in on your site just fine! Both with and without remember me cookie. Do you still have issues logging in?
mikehamel wrote: To add to my previous post, when I'd initially instituted the fix, I could login with the www, but since it stopped working it seems to work at random, but fails with or without the www.

I came across this in another post, no idea if it could be helpful, and I couldn't really understand how exactly you'd go about doing it.  If this is a potential fix could someone put it in english for me?

http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,101404.0.html
The linked post uses another method of avoiding the double login issues, at the drawback of a really high number of users online (as bots like search engines also add to the visitors count.


michpeta wrote: you were right. There was a hardcoded link, hidden in one of the template files. It is fixed now and all seems to be working well.

Thankyou!!!
You're welcome, good this is solved ;)


serrbiz wrote: I'm having the same problem on GrungeOgre.com  I can ONLY log in thefront end if I check the remember me box.  Not of the other fixes worked.  Tried them all.
I also have no problem logging in on your site. Even if I manually disable the remember-me option, i still get logged in on the first try...
We may not be able to control the wind, but we can always adjust our sails

Black Phoenix
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jul 18, 2006 10:53 am

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by Black Phoenix » Sun Dec 10, 2006 4:26 pm

I am still getting this white page issue. Any help?

mikehamel
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by mikehamel » Sun Dec 10, 2006 5:44 pm

It seems like the problem is intermittent, and is more problematic on some computers than other, I'm not sure if that makes any sense.  It does  I've cleared the cache and that seems to do nothing.  In trying several computers, it is comforting to see that it is working much of the time on some computers, but I am still concerned that some members willl not be able to use the site, the login is apparently failing on my uncles computer as well.

Do you expect that the new release will take care of most login issues?

friesengeist
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 842
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:31 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by friesengeist » Sun Dec 10, 2006 6:22 pm

mikehamel wrote: It seems like the problem is intermittent, and is more problematic on some computers than other, I'm not sure if that makes any sense.  It does  I've cleared the cache and that seems to do nothing.  In trying several computers, it is comforting to see that it is working much of the time on some computers, but I am still concerned that some members willl not be able to use the site, the login is apparently failing on my uncles computer as well.
Are cookes enabled in all your browsers/on all computers? You need at least session cookies, for the remeber me option, you also need permanent cookies.
mikehamel wrote: Do you expect that the new release will take care of most login issues?
Yes, except for the one issue on sites hosted on M$'s Internet Information Server (IIS).
The final patch also enables a check if cookies are enabled in the browser.
We may not be able to control the wind, but we can always adjust our sails

mikehamel
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:10 pm
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by mikehamel » Sun Dec 10, 2006 6:29 pm

Cookies are enabled, so it's quite a mystery.  Since these issues are likely to be resolved soon in the upcoming release, I'll wait for that and hope for the best.  The check for cookies will be a really nice addition.  I really appreciate all of the help and your dedication to the project!

User avatar
michpeta
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 12:09 am
Location: South Australia
Contact:

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by michpeta » Mon Dec 11, 2006 12:43 am

michpeta wrote: you were right. There was a hardcoded link, hidden in one of the template files. It is fixed now and all seems to be working well.

Thankyou!!!
You're welcome, good this is solved ;)



Hi,

I have found an additional issue. When I go to my home page, then use any of hte menu items, then choose home from the menu, then try to login, it logs me in but does not show me as logged in. The www is present on the menu link to the home page, but the link is not a simple domain only link. It also shows "http://www.statewebservices.com.au/inde ... e&Itemid=1". Is this an issue still or just an annoyance.

Thanks again,

Michael

friesengeist
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 842
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 10:31 pm

Re: Proposed Solution: Double Login Issues

Post by friesengeist » Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:29 am

michpeta wrote: I have found an additional issue. When I go to my home page, then use any of hte menu items, then choose home from the menu, then try to login, it logs me in but does not show me as logged in.
What exactly do you mean by saying "does not show me as logged in"?
michpeta wrote: The www is present on the menu link to the home page, but the link is not a simple domain only link. It also shows "http://www.statewebservices.com.au/inde ... e&Itemid=1". Is this an issue still or just an annoyance.
That's correct, after login, you are rediected to the page where you just came from. If you want to go to the frontpage after login all the time, you can specify a redirect URL in the parameters of the login module.
We may not be able to control the wind, but we can always adjust our sails


Locked

Return to “Superseded Issues - Archive”