Page 1 of 1

Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in.

Posted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 7:09 pm
by lksjoom
When trying to login from frontend, the screen just refreshes and gives this message:

"You are not authorized to view this resource.
You need to login."

I tried couple of times continuously to login. But in the backend, in the “logged” tab on the main page, the username is listed multiple times (may be for each time I tried) as logged in. I clicked on Logout in the backend for this user. This problem appears to happen intermittently.

I am using Joomla version 1.0.3 stable. I am not in a position to upgrade. Is there any fix available for this problem? Please provide your inputs. Thanks!

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 7:32 pm
by stingrey
Frontend login needs cookies enabled.
Further if you are behind a proxy bank like AOL users, you will have problems staying logged into a Joomla site, unless you are running 1.0.8:
http://dev.joomla.org/component/option, ... d,33/p,28/



lksjoom wrote: I am using Joomla version 1.0.3 stable. I am not in a position to upgrade. Is there any fix available for this problem? Please provide your inputs. Thanks!
You MUST upgrade to at least Joomla! 1.0.4

Running 1.0.3 and below you are vulnerable to a crticial security threat which can lead to your site being hacked and there have been many cases of users running these versions being atacked.

Also note there are automated scripts, that will trawl the internate and will automaticalyl run a battery or known epxloits for a site to test if your system is vulnerable.

I cannot stress enough how important it is to upgrade from 1.0.3

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in.

Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 5:12 am
by lksjoom
I am not a AOL user. I have cookies enabled and could successfully  login until couple of days ago.  I noticed this login failure just recently. The problem had not occurred again so far. Thank you very much  for the detailed response. I will look into upgrading.

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Wed Mar 15, 2006 9:12 pm
by mhsurabian
I have a few users with tihs problem. Running 1.0.8 with Virtuemart 1.0.2  The login returns them to the homepage as not logged in but I see them in the backend as logged in.  This is using the Virtuemart login mod. When they use the Joomla login.. the same happen with a "you are not authorized to view this resource."

Any Ideas out there?

I tried the cache, SEF options from prior threads

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Fri Mar 24, 2006 6:28 pm
by jgowans
I'm now having the same problem, though at first it was not intermittent.  My original problem is posted here: http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,48546.0.html

Since then, I did a full reinstall from the full package, 1.0.8.  Originally I upgraded from Mambo 4.5.3.2, then patched to 1.0.8.  I was able to login via my test user account and admin into the frontend (using firefox).  Closed out the browser, opened it back up and bam! it didn't work.  Now the 'who's online' module isn't working either.  I'm not very strong technically, so at this point, I'm just going to have to grin and bear it until somebody else solves it!

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Mon Mar 27, 2006 7:54 pm
by jgowans
Did a fresh install and restored my data to a new database.  Everything works fine now.

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in.

Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 6:45 am
by theperthgirls
Thanks for the info - mine was no allowing logons, creating a new user with different group access did not work either.  Simple resolution thank goodness - cleared my cache as suggested - I was thinking the worse!! ;D

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Tue Mar 28, 2006 12:46 pm
by jgowans
jgowans wrote: Did a fresh install and restored my data to a new database.  Everything works fine now.
That was yesterday... today, it's not working.  I have no idea what's happening, but users cannot login in and the who's online isn't working.  Nothing changed, as far as I know.  This is killin' me! :(

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 4:16 pm
by nathandiehl
I just looked at a site with this issue, (looks like logs in okay, but frontend shows they aren't logged in, but backend shows they are).

virtuemart is installed...

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 5:27 pm
by jgowans
I did another fresh install and have not re-installed all of the components.  Everything has been working fine... the only extension I have not re-installed is YANC... don't know if there is a connection (doubt it), but like I said, everything is working well.

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 8:53 pm
by rhephner
I'm experiencing the same problem. User logs in, they don't get an error, but they also aren't logged in. They look logged in on the backend.

If they immediately log in again, everything works fine. It's almost like the session cookie isn't being set the first time around.

What's the consensus? Do I need to do a fresh install of 1.0.8? Is this an official bug? I patched from 1.0.7.

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 9:30 pm
by nathandiehl
I am going to move this to Quality and Testing. It is an intermitant issue, and i have looked into the issue, and couldn't find a solution myself, so i'm going to pass this on to the Q & T guys.

Anyone who is experiencing this issue, please pay attention to this thread in Q & T - your assistance could help fix this, hopefully.

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 7:52 am
by Virtute
I'm having the same problem with my site.

I log in. I know that if I put in a wrong username or password, the error pop up box "Incorrect username or password. Please try again." message would appear. BUT it does NOT!. 

Instead, nothing happens and I'm not logged in.  There is no "Hi, username", so and so... in the Login Module.  I try to log in the second time. It then works.  So basically, I had to log in twice.

Another similar problem is that I try to log in, but nothing happens. But if I click on a link inside the site (example:  Home)  it refreshes the page and then I will finally see the "Hi, username..." and the "Who's Online" module will show my logged in username.

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 11:13 am
by Virtute
Ok, more info about this problem.

It both happens on IE and Firefox.

1. Basically the first time you open a browser and go to log in, your first log in will fail. No username or password errors though, just refreshes the page, like nothing happened.

2. Then you log in again, this time it finally shows you in the "Who's Online" but not in the Login Module's "Hi, username."  So you click on any link in the site which refreshes the page and your Usermenu finally shows up as well as the "Hi, username" in the login module.

3. You log out, and log in, its normal. All everything works at this point, the Who's Online and Login Module shows your username.

4. You log out again and you leave the site to go to another site like Yahoo then go back to your site. Your try to log in, you will experience #2. 

5. If you close the browser and open it again and try to log in to the site. You're back to #1.

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 11:57 am
by rhephner
At least in my case, I think I isolated this to a problem with the JACL component. I had JACL 1.0.7 installed with Joomla 1.0.7. I upgraded to Joomla 1.0.8, but did not use the Byos Technologies upgrade patch to patch both JACL and Joomla at the same time.

To fix the problem, I had to ftp files from the 1.0.8 version of JACL into my Joomla installation until everything was solid.

If anyone else is running JACL who has this problem, I would bet that's what causing it.

I can't wait until Joomla implements advanced user management so I don't have to use JACL anymore.

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in.

Posted: Tue Apr 25, 2006 1:28 am
by slickibc
Having same problem as everybodyelse, What is JALC? Not sure what your talking about.

SLick

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 9:05 am
by sias
Having the EXACT same problem as Virtute. I try to log in, seems like the page refreshes and shows the login as not logged in. When I click on any other link, it changes to show the user logged in and the restricted user menu is displayed.

I've downloaded and applied the "[PROPOSED SOLUTION] 1.0.8 - login module problems" at http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,46684.0.html which fixed the username begin displayed instead of a 0.

Any ideas on how to fix/bypass the refresh/login session problem?

Thanks

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 11:55 am
by rhephner
Well . . . obviously it's not a problem with JACL, because now the problem is recurred with me. I'm hoping the new version (due in beta any day now) will address this problem?

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Fri Apr 28, 2006 11:24 pm
by stevendunston
I'm having this problem. Joomla 1.08, Virtuemart 1.04. It's intermittent, but it's annoying. Sometimes we have to log in as many as ten times to finally get through to the screens we want.

By the way... occasionally you can hit backspace and try to navigate inside Joomla/Virtuemart without actually having to log back in again.

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Sun May 21, 2006 12:39 pm
by stingrey
This issue should not be resolved in 1.0.9 Beta 2:
http://dev.joomla.org/content/blogcategory/21/86/

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Sat Aug 05, 2006 1:13 pm
by Wanderer4895
We are getting the same problem as mentioned by the OP with a "you are not authorized to view" box popping up and you need to log in.
This is on V 1.0.10.

Any ideas?
It was fine after we did the new install of 1.0.10 then this started a few days ago.

Ed

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 3:10 pm
by melvinx
Hello.  I am experienceing the same problem using joomla 1.0.11, and the latest release of forumboard (downloaded on Sunday).  The problem is resolved when you check the Remember Me Box on the login module.  So, I'm looking for a fix until the next release, where this issue should be resolved.  Essentially, how should I edit the login file to ensure that:
The Remember me check box is defaulted to yes
And possibly greyed out.
or
Default the Remember Me function to yes
and do not display the check box

I could just comment the relevant code, but then it is still default to unchecked.

Hope this helps, or that you can help me.  View my site at http://www.aristat.com

Melvin

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 7:08 pm
by Virtute
sias wrote: Having the EXACT same problem as Virtute. I try to log in, seems like the page refreshes and shows the login as not logged in. When I click on any other link, it changes to show the user logged in and the restricted user menu is displayed.

I've downloaded and applied the "[PROPOSED SOLUTION] 1.0.8 - login module problems" at http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,46684.0.html which fixed the username begin displayed instead of a 0.

Any ideas on how to fix/bypass the refresh/login session problem?

Thanks
Sias,

I have 1.0.11 now but my problem seem to have been fixed previously.  Double check your configuration.php file and the entry "$mosConfig_live_site ="

It has to match with how you browse your site. For example if you have set $mosConfig_live_site = 'http://yoursite.com", and you browse your site with a "www" as in http://www.yoursite.com instead of http://yoursite.com as set in yoru configuration.php file, you get the problems you are experiencing now or the "you are not authorized to view" problem.

I decided to use $mosConfig_live_site = 'http://www.yoursite.com" so I make sure when I browse in Firefox or IE, I include the "www" portion.  Also, I use redirects to make sure users use the "www".

The login issues in the backend admin login seems to be related.  You get a problem if you have set http://yoursite.com in the configuration.php file and you try to log in to your administration with http://www.yoursite.com/administrator.  It just has to match.  On my part I just created an admin.php that redirects using the "www" since my $mosConfig_live_site is set with a "www".

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 8:47 pm
by melvinx
OK, tried the "$mosConfig_live_site = http://www.yourdomain.com" configuration, but still did not help.  But after a few config changes found the following solution:

1.  Enter Global Configuration from the backend, and select the Server Tab i.e. Global Configuration/Server
2.  Go to  'Session Authentication Method:'
3.  I changed my setting from Level 3 security to Level 2 Security
4.  Problem solved

Probably not as secure, but it works. 

Now, you have to login at http://www.yourdomain.com, and not http://www.yourdomain.com/index.php.  As explained by Virtute, it has to be exactly what is in the config file.

I'm interested to see if it works around the globe, as I saw the same problem posted from Saudi Arabia.  I'm from South Africa, but hosting with Bluehost in the USA.

Later
M at http://www.aristat.com

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in.

Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 2:58 pm
by dbmathis
Hi all

This is happening to me too.

It both happens on IE and Firefox. This is also happening on multiple computers with multiple users at various locations.

1. Basically the first time you open a browser and go to log in, your first log in will fail. No username or password errors though, just refreshes the page, like nothing happened.

2. Then I log in again and it works.

3. You log out, and log in, its normal. All everything works at this point.

4. I go to a different computer and try to login again the problem starts all over, or If you close the browser and open it again and try to log in to the site. You're back to #1.

System Information

PHP built On:  Windows NT MATHISDB 5.1 build 2600 
Database Version:  5.0.20-nt 
PHP Version:  5.1.2 
Web Server:  Apache/2.2.0 (Win32) DAV/2 mod_ssl/2.2.0 OpenSSL/0.9.8a mod_autoindex_color PHP/5.1.2 
WebServer to PHP interface:  apache2handler 
Joomla! Version:  Joomla! 1.0.11 Stable [ Sunbow ] 28 August 2006 20:00 UTC 

PHP Information

http://tmfamily.info/phpinfo.php

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:43 pm
by friesengeist
dbmathis wrote: 1. Basically the first time you open a browser and go to log in, your first log in will fail. No username or password errors though, just refreshes the page, like nothing happened.

2. Then I log in again and it works.

3. You log out, and log in, its normal. All everything works at this point.

4. I go to a different computer and try to login again the problem starts all over, or If you close the browser and open it again and try to log in to the site. You're back to #1.
This will (by a pretty good chance) help you: http://forum.joomla.org/index.php/topic,106665.0.html

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the user is logged in

Posted: Wed Nov 08, 2006 3:25 am
by dbmathis
Unfortunately that didn't fix the issue. I failed to mention that I use CB 1.0.1 for login.

I ran the following to see what the dfference was in the two mod_login.php files but I am not sure how to modify the CB login mod.

Code: Select all

[BLUEBIRD.SATEXAS][~]$ diff mod_login.php mod_login.php.bak 
23c23,33
< $return = 'index.php?' . mosGetParam( $_SERVER, 'QUERY_STRING', '' );
---
> // url of current page that user will be returned to after login
> $url = mosGetParam( $_SERVER, 'REQUEST_URI', null );
> // if return link does not contain https:// & http:// and to url
> if ( strpos($url, 'http:') !== 0 && strpos($url, 'https:') !== 0 ) {
>       // check to see if url has a starting slash
>       if (strpos($url, '/') !== 0) {
>               // adding starting slash to url
>               $url = '/'. $url;
>       }
> 
>       $url = mosGetParam( $_SERVER, 'HTTP_HOST', null ) . $url;
24a35,44
>       // check if link is https://
>       if ( isset( $_SERVER['HTTPS'] ) && ( !empty( $_SERVER['HTTPS'] ) && $_SERVER['HTTPS'] != 'off' ) ) {
>               $return = 'https://'. $url;
>       } else {
>       // normal http:// link
>               $return = 'http://'. $url;
>       }
> } else {
>       $return = $url;
> }
[BLUEBIRD.SATEXAS][~]$ 

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the u

Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 1:23 pm
by laury
Guys, I had that problem too. I migrated my site just now and then I couldn't login from the frontend anymore.

In my case the problem was:
On the configuration.php the "live_site" was setted with the subdomain of my web host but I was already using my own domain.

It was just bad memory in my case.

Hope it helps someone else

Re: Frontend Login fails intermittently. But backend shows the u

Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2008 3:48 pm
by ami_liz85
Thank you melvinx..... changing the Session Authenticaion method to Level 2 Security fixed it right away :) THANKS! :)