Linking button to module

Discuss the development and implementation of Joomla! modules here.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
chopgwe
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 10:45 am

Linking button to module

Post by chopgwe » Fri Apr 15, 2016 9:24 am

Hi Everyone!

I have implemented a printing functionality module that permits to print element in the front-end of the page. My problem is I don't want to display the module icon but rather I have a button called Print in the front-end.

Question: How can I link/call the functionality of the printing module to the button print so that on clicking the button the printing functionality is initiated.

Regards.

User avatar
JTema
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 8:10 pm

Re: Linking button to module

Post by JTema » Fri Apr 15, 2016 1:15 pm

What is your URL? What is the extension you used for printing.
http://www.joomlatema.net - Joomla Extensions and Templates
http://wtnews.joomlatema.net/ - WT News Responsive Joomla News And Magazine Template

chopgwe
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 10:45 am

Re: Linking button to module

Post by chopgwe » Fri Apr 15, 2016 2:43 pm

I don't have a URL yet all what I'm doing is locally for now. If I understand you correctly.

I just need an explanation on how to go about in order to make the printing button on my front page perform the function of my printing module.

User avatar
JTema
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 8:10 pm

Re: Linking button to module

Post by JTema » Sat Apr 16, 2016 7:14 am

If you want to make joomla's own print button to point your installed extension's print function that may not be possible actually.
http://www.joomlatema.net - Joomla Extensions and Templates
http://wtnews.joomlatema.net/ - WT News Responsive Joomla News And Magazine Template

User avatar
JTema
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 476
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 8:10 pm

Re: Linking button to module

Post by JTema » Sat Apr 16, 2016 7:23 am

By the way I ve noticed that we are in 1.0 forum are you still using joomla's 1.0 version?
http://www.joomlatema.net - Joomla Extensions and Templates
http://wtnews.joomlatema.net/ - WT News Responsive Joomla News And Magazine Template

chopgwe
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2016 10:45 am

Re: Linking button to module

Post by chopgwe » Sat Apr 16, 2016 11:56 pm

I'm using Joomla 3. So it means if you develop for example a module that perform a particular function. It's not possible to explore the functions of the module by clicking on a button in a front-end you have defined.


Locked

Return to “Modules”