FAQ: Configuring SEF to work on Windows/Apache

This is the archive off all FAQ related threads.
Locked
User avatar
RussW
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9352
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 4:42 am
Location: Sunshine Coast, Queensland, Australia
Contact:

FAQ: Configuring SEF to work on Windows/Apache

Post by RussW » Thu Mar 22, 2007 1:47 am

Many Joomla! Community members are using ther local Windows based PC's to test and develop Joomla! sites on and one of the most frustrating items about Apache on Windows is that Winodws cannot support many of the Apache functions that can be used on Linux/Unix based production sites.

Joomla! SEF Capability on Windows/Apache

  1 ) Ensure that you have the Apache Rewrite Module ( mod_rewrite.so ) installed/available in the Apache " modules/ " directory.

  2 ) Enable Apache " mod_rewrite " in httpd.conf by removing the " # " ( hash sign ) from the following line in httpd.conf
    # Remove the "#" if it exists from the following line in the modules section
    LoadModule rewrite_module modules/mod_rewrite.so
  3 ) Restart Apache to check that the ReWrite Module is loading correctly and not crashing Apache
        apache -k restart

  4 ) Again, modify the following lines in your httpd.conf to support Windows File Naming conventions
      # AccessFileName: The name of the file to look for in each directory
      # for additional configuration directives.  See also the AllowOverride
      # directive.
      #
      #AccessFileName .htaccess
      # Allows for Joomla! SEF functionality on Windows (Notice, No dot)
      AccessFileName htaccess

    #
    # The following lines prevent .htaccess and .htpasswd files from being viewed by Web clients.
    #
    #
    # Allows for Joomla! SEF functionality on Windows (Notice, No dot)
   

        Order allow,deny
        Deny from all
        Satisfy All
   
  3 ) Restart Apache to check that the FileMatch Rule is not in error and not crashing Apache
        apache -k restart

  6 ) Rename htaccess.txt to " htaccess " (notice, no "dot", unlike the *nix equivalent)

  7 ) Modify $mosConfig_sef = 0 to now be a 1 (turning on SEF)

  8 ) Access you local WebSite and check your SEF is working.
Joomla! on the fabulous Sunshine Coast...
hotmango, web & print http://www.hotmango.me/
The Styleguyz https://www.thestyleguyz.com/

User avatar
b.sanjay
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 7:53 am
Location: Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Contact:

Re: FAQ: Configuring SEF to work on Windows/Apache

Post by b.sanjay » Wed Jul 11, 2007 8:48 am

Thank you sir,


now itz working.

but there is a problem, itz not working with JD-WordPress.
Thank you.

Regards,
Sanjay Beedi
Senior Software Engineer,
Construe Solutions, Hyderabad, AP, India
http://www.construesol.com/

User avatar
guilliam
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4181
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 10:27 am
Location: Sunny City Cebu, Philippines!
Contact:

Re: FAQ: Configuring SEF to work on Windows/Apache

Post by guilliam » Thu Jul 26, 2007 7:52 am

was about to re-post this.. i think i have posted this before.
thanks for submitting to the requested FAQ's.

- g
"I was one of those who wondered why people would pay so much $$$$ to do something that was so much fun!" -R. Harkrider, Fortran Code Engr.

http://www.joomlaconsultancy.net

Geoff
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3193
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2006 12:20 am
Location: 127.0.0.1

Re: FAQ: Configuring SEF to work on Windows/Apache

Post by Geoff » Sat Jul 28, 2007 5:45 pm

Backup, backup, backup!
The "Master" .htacess file by Nicholas http://snipt.net/nikosdion/the-master-htaccess


Locked

Return to “FAQ Archive”