Page 1 of 1

Horizontal submenu

Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:18 am
by adeeshah
I need a component or a module of joomla that can show the menu and submenu horizontally. I need to display the submenu horizontally its very important.................i searched all over the web and found no such module.....all modules displays the submenu vertically..........is there any module that can dipaly the submenu horizaontally????

Re: Horizontal submenu

Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:36 am
by dam-man
Mod Note:
Topic Moved from: Joomla! 1.0 - Development Board to Joomla! 1.0 - Templates & CSS
This could also be a topic inside Extentions, please let me know if you need a component or wants to make it your self. Thank You!

Re: Horizontal submenu

Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 6:52 am
by sukanya.paul
there is..you can use JScookmenu.. there are other methods of achieving a horizontal submenu also without using a component.
for that make different menus for each submenu and then link them to the main menu in the modules.
Example: say ur main menu consists of
Home | Links | Department (top menu)
Links--> link1,link2
Department-->dept1,dept2.

go to menu->new-> and make 2 new menu Links and Department which consist of the submenus.

after that go to modules->click on Link->on the right hand side menu item links->select link1,;ink2 and Links

Thats how it worked for me.

Good Luck!!

Re: Horizontal submenu

Posted: Thu Apr 24, 2008 10:24 am
by adeeshah
Any other solution, other than JSCookMenu...................Please help me!!!!!!!!!!

Re: Horizontal submenu

Posted: Fri Apr 25, 2008 12:54 am
by sukanya.paul
as far as component goes itd JSCookMenu else try the 2nd method..that what i used.

Re: Horizontal submenu

Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:46 pm
by jkwok
Hi,

I am having the same problem. I want a horizontal submenu but my template comes default with a vertical one.

here is my work in progress site: http://www.jeanettekwok.com/wagan3/

I have tried installing the MG menu (horizontal menu plugin for Joomla 1.5) and publishing it to the toolbar position but the horizontal menu still shows.

Has anyone used this module or can recommend another solution to having a horizontal submenu?

Thanks,

Jeanette

Re: Horizontal submenu

Posted: Tue Mar 16, 2010 1:21 pm
by nkadakia
hi jkwok,

I liked your layout.. Can you tell me which extension you are using and how can I implement in my website.

Thanks