Some Common Questions

*IF* you want to share your opinion on the GPL issue, this is the place for you.
mcsmom
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Some Common Questions

Post by mcsmom » Fri Jun 22, 2007 3:29 am

I am going to repost the brief FAQ that was at the beginning of the other thread. I went through that thread and tried to pick out questions and answers of interest to users. If there are mistakes here I will fix them as I hear about them.

And thanks to everyone whose words from the other thread I quoted.

Remember, this is strictly my opinion and not the opinion of OSM or of the faq team. I'm not a lawyer or a licensing expert.

I have commercial or proprietary extensions installed on my site. Do I have to remove them?

No.
The licensing issue has nothing at all to do with actual web sites.

The GPL licence that Joomla! is distributed under guarantees your right to use or modify Joomla! in any way you want.  That includes adding proprietary code into it, even proprietary extensions obtained from third-party developers.  The whole point of the GPL is to defend your rights as a user.

You would only be violating the GPL if you attempted to distribute Joomla! with the proprietary code.  But then if you bought your extensions under a proprietary licence you'd probably be violating that licence too.  So as long as you don't distribute the code you have nothing to worry about

Can I be sued for using a commercial or propriety extension?

No.
The licensing issue has to do with the development of extensions, not with individual websites.

Does this hold for the future too i.e. is this an 'amnesty' for sites that are currently live with non-gpl extensions, or will it always be ok to launch a J! site in the future with non-gpl extensions?

The licensing issue has nothing to do with individual sites that are not redistributing their version of Joomla! or extensions. No amnesty is needed because GPL is not an issue for end users who do not redistribute the software.