What is a distributor?

*IF* you want to share your opinion on the GPL issue, this is the place for you.
gpeterso
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

What is a distributor?

Post by gpeterso » Wed Jul 04, 2007 2:50 pm

Hi,

I am a webdesigner and have been hired to build joomla websites.  If I buy and install the non-gpl third party extensions for a client but do not modify them am I a distributor and have some potenital liabilities or am I an user without any liabilities.

If I do have a potiential liablity, is it removed if I have the client buy the non-gpl third party extension with their visa and email address?

What is the definition of a distributor?

Thanks

Jenny
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Re: What is a distributor?

Post by Jenny » Wed Jul 04, 2007 2:59 pm

As a web designer, I would think your work would be covered under work for hire.  It would be no different than building a computer for someone and installing all needed proprietary software.  Your client contracts you.  They own the work.  Just because you install an OS on a client's computer doesn't mean you are distributing the OS, it means your client owns the OS and you are installing it for them.

Edit:  That is my opinion on the matter.  Others may have differing opinions.
Co-author of the Official Joomla! Book http://officialjoomlabook.com
Marpo Multimedia http://marpomultimedia.com

mcsmom
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Post by mcsmom » Wed Jul 04, 2007 3:10 pm

As long as you install joomla! and the extensions separately, you are fine according to my understanding. Just mho however. There is no problem  for the end user with buying the extensions, just a problem for the seller for not having a proper license. If the FSF went after that extension publisher and got compliance, they would have the publisher send you a new compliant version. That according to the FSF web page on compliance procedures.