Probable date for Joomla 1.5?

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
dvm
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Probable date for Joomla 1.5?

Post by dvm » Tue Jul 17, 2007 5:07 pm

Hi, I'm thinking about developing my personal site in Joomla. I want to wait for Joomla 1.5 for the internationalization features it has. I'd like to build my site in greek (main language) and english. Should I wait for it? I only want a probable date, I won't hold my breath on it. If I decide to build my site with the current joomla release can I use utf-8? And later on port it to 1.5?

Lottario
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Re: Probable date for Joomla 1.5?

Post by Lottario » Tue Jul 17, 2007 5:57 pm

I've heard of tools being developed to allow you to port from 1.0 to 1.5, but I wouldn't count on those working 100% (no offense to whoevers developing them).

Personally, I've started developing my site in 1.5, even though we're not supposed  to, and I haven't run into too many problems (besides the lack of compatability of extensions).

As for a release date, when I was making my decision on what to build in, I read something about the developers having around 10 bugs that they need to have fixed before putting out a release copy (sorry, I don't have a link to the article, this was a couple weeks ago), and thats what I based my decision on.  Although, how long it'll take them to fix the bugs they want fixed, who knows.

Peter Clements
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Post by Peter Clements » Tue Jul 17, 2007 7:09 pm