Menu Item Alias And Default Menu Item Issue

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Lottario
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Menu Item Alias And Default Menu Item Issue

Post by Lottario » Thu Jul 19, 2007 2:25 pm

First off, I apologize for posting so many problems I'm having (I'll learn to figure stuff out for myself eventually), but this one really has me stumped.

For awhile now, I've been using menu item aliases to trick the search results into displaying a page with the modules I wanted (otherwise, the article was just displayed with the frontpage module layout).  After upgrading to the latest nightly build, this seems to cause problems... sometimes.  The alias on on my top level menu items (my technique fails with submenus) is home/articleID.  Unfortunately, this now causes a problem.  I'd just accept this and move on, if it caused a problem with every article.  However, that is not the case.  It seems that when I click a link aliased in this way, if the article is of an ID of 52 or less, it will display with the home page modules showing.  If the ID is greater than 52, it displays with the modules that its supposed to display.  The same is true of my search results.

Could this be caused by keeping my configuration.php file and upgrading builds, or is this an issue with the nightly build?  I just find it very odd that it only happens with lower article IDs....

Thanks for any help you can offer (and yes, I know the obvious solution is to recreate my lower ID articles so that their ID's are greater than 52  ;)) :)