"404 - Component not found" after upgrade

Joomla version 1.5 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
idealists
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 6:11 am

"404 - Component not found" after upgrade

Post by idealists » Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:39 pm

I just upgraded my dev. site from 1.5rc4 to 1.5 stable according to the instructions.

After the upgrade, the admin works fine.

The front-end throws a "404 - Component not found" error.

I have tried turning SEF (.htaccess) off...and such solution provided no relief from the error.

No idea what could have gone wrong.

 
AmyStephen
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 7056
Joined: Wed Nov 22, 2006 3:35 pm
Location: Nebraska
Contact:

Re: "404 - Component not found" after upgrade

Post by AmyStephen » Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:09 am

Please see the attached guide to configuring and debugging SEF URLs. If it doesn't help you to figure out your problem, there are ten questions helpful for us to know to begin helping you resolve the issue. If you would kindly respond to those questions in your next post, it would be very much appreciated.

Thanks!
Amy :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

idealists
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 6:11 am

Re: "404 - Component not found" after upgrade

Post by idealists » Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:35 am

Thanks, but I don't know if SEF is the problem.  Reason is when I turned SEF off completely, the same error occurred.

I am running 1.5 Stable. I just upgraded from 1.5rc4 (which worked without such problems).

PHP version is 5.2.5
Apache/2.2.6 (FreeBSD)
MySQL 5.0.45-log

And mod_rewrite is on.

This is the exact error:
404 - Component not found

You may not be able to visit this page because of:

  1. an out-of-date bookmark/favourite
  2. a search engine that has an out-of-date listing for this site
  3. a mistyped address
  4. you have no access to this page
  5. The requested resource was not found.
  6. An error has occurred while processing your request.

Please try one of the following pages:

    * Home Page

If difficulties persist, please contact the System Administrator of this site.

Component not found

platothefish
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 4:32 pm
Contact:

Re: "404 - Component not found" after upgrade

Post by platothefish » Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:38 am

Hi Thanks for this. I had the same problem and followed the steps in the pdf and the problem went away. Thanks

Platothefish

idealists
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 6:11 am

Re: "404 - Component not found" after upgrade

Post by idealists » Mon Feb 04, 2008 12:47 am

After turning off:
Search Engine Friendly URLs
Use Apache mod_rewrit

I still get:
404 - Component not found

You may not be able to visit this page because of:

  1. an out-of-date bookmark/favourite
  2. a search engine that has an out-of-date listing for this site
  3. a mistyped address
  4. you have no access to this page
  5. The requested resource was not found.
  6. An error has occurred while processing your request.

Please try one of the following pages:

    * Home Page

If difficulties persist, please contact the System Administrator of this site.

Component not found



***************
PHP version is 5.2.5
Apache/2.2.6 (FreeBSD)
MySQL 5.0.45-log
Joomla 1.5Stable (just upgrade from 1.5rc4 (which had no such problems..SEF with Apached mod_rewrite worked fine)

Desired SEF settings (that worked with 1.5rc$ but are not working for me with 1.5 stable)
Yes - Search Engine Friendly URLs
Yes - Use Apache mod_rewrit
No - Add suffix to URLs 

My Joomla is installed on a subdirectory.  I used not to need RewriteBase pre-upgrade. I have tried changing htaccess rewriteBase by uncommenting it and added the subdirectory where joomla site is runnint (eg. /joomla). This made no difference and error still occurred.
Google redirect didn't redirect to google.  Just caused the error message to display WITHOUT any fancy css formatting.

idealists
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 6:11 am

Re: "404 - Component not found" after upgrade

Post by idealists » Mon Feb 04, 2008 1:22 am

That pdf file said to add:
RewriteRule (.*) http://www.google.com/

to the .htaccess file to check rewrite is working.  It should redirect site to google.  Doing so, did not redirect to google for me.  It just caused the error message to be displayed without css formatting.

However when I modified the line to read:
RewriteRule (.*) http://www.google.com/ [L]
This did redirect site traffic to google.

idealists
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 6:11 am

Re: "404 - Component not found" after upgrade

Post by idealists » Mon Feb 04, 2008 1:26 am

Interesting discovery. When I try and go directly to an internal page of the front-end everything is OK.
It seems to be just the homepage that is having this trouble.
And furthermore, I have no components or whatever (that I know of)  that run exclusively on the front-page.
Last edited by idealists on Mon Feb 04, 2008 1:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

idealists
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 6:11 am

Re: "404 - Component not found" after upgrade

Post by idealists » Tue Feb 05, 2008 4:00 am

I am still having this problem with the homepage ONLY. All other internal pages are working fine.

Homepage is showing:
404 - Component not found

You may not be able to visit this page because of:

  1. an out-of-date bookmark/favourite
  2. a search engine that has an out-of-date listing for this site
  3. a mistyped address
  4. you have no access to this page
  5. The requested resource was not found.
  6. An error has occurred while processing your request.

Please try one of the following pages:

    * Home Page

If difficulties persist, please contact the System Administrator of this site.

Component not found

gorbehnare
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 6:40 pm

Re: "404 - Component not found" after upgrade

Post by gorbehnare » Sun Feb 10, 2008 4:13 am

Has anyone solved this problem yet.... It just started happening out of the blue.

This has got to be a known issue with Joomla. It seems like if I put this URL:
http://vip.gameoffuture.com/index.php?o ... &Itemid=55

instead of just this:
http://vip.gameoffuture.com/index.php

it will work. This has got to be a bug with the index.php or something within that file.

idealists
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 6:11 am

Re: "404 - Component not found" after upgrade

Post by idealists » Tue Feb 12, 2008 1:27 am

I am still having this problem.

Is this a known bug? How can I get resolution to this issue?

waulok
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 11:41 pm

Re:

Post by waulok » Mon Feb 18, 2008 3:17 am

Looks like a common issue, so it's a problem with the new 1.5.1 Joomla, but no help from Joomla developers I can find yet....

waulok
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 11:41 pm

Re:

Post by waulok » Thu Feb 21, 2008 9:16 pm

I guess even the Joomla programmers have no idea..

rmaan
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 8:28 am

Re:

Post by rmaan » Thu Feb 21, 2008 11:44 pm

I definitely think it could be an issue with the new release as I just started having the exact same problem. Internal pages work but when I use the main /index.php it just gives the same error. Any developers want to comment? The issue seems pretty common!

nikez2k4
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 11:52 am
Location: Derby, UK

Re:

Post by nikez2k4 » Fri Feb 22, 2008 9:23 am

From what I can tell this seems to be happening to me too on Joomla 1.5. Except it seems to be accross the whole site, its very frustrating :(

I have enabled the SEO settings (URLs and Apache mod_rewrite) but even without these enabled it seems to do the same thing as people have been mentioning.

I have some categories with articles in them but when Joomla creates the list of links at the bottom of the category page, they seem to be generated wrong and I get this 404 Component Not Found error. The links that are generated look like this:

Code: Select all

http://www.landau-forte.org.uk/v65/another-post&catid=35:blog&Itemid=63
Which produces this error:

404 - Component not found
You may not be able to visit this page because of:

an out-of-date bookmark/favourite
a search engine that has an out-of-date listing for this site
a mistyped address
you have no access to this page
The requested resource was not found.
An error has occurred while processing your request.
Please try one of the following pages:


Home Page

If difficulties persist, please contact the System Administrator of this site.

Component not found



I have noticed that some people have mentioned they have Joomla installed in a sub directory (as do I), so could this be causing a problem somewhere? I can't install it in the root just yet as we are still testing it. I will update you once we move it.

I have also noticed that the links for the PDF, Print and Email icons are also generating incorrect links:

Code: Select all

http://www.landau-forte.org.uk/v65/alex-jeffery&format=pdf/ukgc/experiences/alex-jeffery
Any ideas?

I'm sorry i havent provided much info about our setup but if you can let me know what you need to know (or point me to a page of questions) I will gladly provide you with the info.

Cheers,
James

waulok
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 11:41 pm

Re:

Post by waulok » Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:39 am

No, it's installed in Root on my system and still fails.

uneedus
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 4:12 pm

Re:

Post by uneedus » Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:56 am

I am having the same problem, but only with items in the "latest news" and "popular" categories, even with the default articles in these categories. All other links seem to work fine.
404 - Component not found

You may not be able to visit this page because of:
an out-of-date bookmark/favourite
a search engine that has an out-of-date listing for this site
a mistyped address
you have no access to this page
The requested resource was not found.
An error has occurred while processing your request.

Please try one of the following pages:

Home Page

If difficulties persist, please contact the System Administrator of this site.

Component not found
This is a fresh install of Joomla 1.5.1 on a top level domain (ie no sub-directory) with no extensions installed (other than one template).

edit: My problem is caused by the "Search Engine Friendly URL's" option. Turn it off and hey presto, links work again!

rrlane
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 2:01 am
Location: Titusville, PA
Contact:

Re:

Post by rrlane » Fri Feb 22, 2008 4:53 pm

I just recently turned SEF on for my site, and I thought it worked beautifully at first glance, however, when I try to follow many links or use the editing function on the frontend, I too get the 404 error. Everything appears to be working okay once I turn off SEF.

I saw that there was a PDF that supposedly was to facilitate in debugging, but it appears it's no longer available. I guess I'm just adding my name to those who would appreciate a solution to this.

rmaan
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 8:28 am

Re: Re:

Post by rmaan » Fri Feb 22, 2008 7:54 pm

nikez2k4 wrote:I have also noticed that the links for the PDF, Print and Email icons are also generating incorrect links:
Hey James, I have no idea what to do about the 404 error because I am still getting the error whenever I try to access my main site (the index.php). But all my internal pages work fine. I had the same issue you described with the PDF, Print and Email icons generating invalid links and this was fixed as soon as I turned SEF urls off in the global configuration section of the control panel.

Try turning off SEF urls and hopefully the PDF, print and email icons will work for you!

Arman

dotred
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 10:55 pm

Re: "404 - Component not found" after upgrade

Post by dotred » Fri Feb 22, 2008 11:08 pm

Hi. I've been following this forum and tearing my hair out like many people.

Think I've found a solution. Seems to me that this problem is being caused by the PHP function 'parse_url'. On PHP version 5.2.3 everything works great, but on my production server with PHP 5.0.4 parse_url returns a completely different set of data.

A work-around then is to change line 726 in libraries/joomla/environment/uri.php from

Code: Select all

if (version_compare( phpversion(), '4.4' ) < 0)
to read:

Code: Select all

if (version_compare( phpversion(), '5.2' ) < 0)
This by-passes the use of the parse_url function.

Hope this helps someone! :)

rrlane
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 2:01 am
Location: Titusville, PA
Contact:

Re:

Post by rrlane » Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:33 am

I just tried the above, but it still isn't working.

rrlane
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 2:01 am
Location: Titusville, PA
Contact:

Re:

Post by rrlane » Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:14 pm

Just reporting my progress or lack thereof, I just upgraded mySQL to 5.0 from 4.0, and it made no difference. I added the SEO patch, and while I'm still not getting the results I want, there has been a change. Instead of the 404 error, I now get returned to the index on every link, but the index is completely missing all templating appearances. Once again, when I turn of the SEF, everything goes back to normal.

This is darn frustrating. I have several teachers whom I have convinced to have a classroom blog hosted on our district site, but they really can't announce them in class until they have a definitive url to give their students and send home to the parents.

waulok
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 11:41 pm

Re:

Post by waulok » Sat Feb 23, 2008 10:21 pm

The error I'm getting seems to be related to the "option=" at the end of the URL once you try and log in. Removing the "option=" at the end works. There is nothing after the = and it's confusing Joomla.
Now to find out where in the code it is and fix something.

waulok
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 11:41 pm

Re:

Post by waulok » Sat Feb 23, 2008 11:22 pm

It seems the Login system is broken in 1.5.1
I replaced the standard Login with Signal Login: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/signallogin/
Everything works fine now.

rmaan
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 8:28 am

Re:

Post by rmaan » Sun Feb 24, 2008 7:24 pm

Reporting my progress as well, I too upgraded from PHP 4.0 to 5.2.3 and it made no difference at all. I also tried using 'signal login' and it made no difference at all. I still get the 404 error on the main index.php page. Anyone else have any more ideas? This is driving me insane! I also changed the code in the uri.php as instructed to:

Code: Select all

if (version_compare( phpversion(), '5.2' ) < 0)
Despite this, it still did not work.

rrlane
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 2:01 am
Location: Titusville, PA
Contact:

Re:

Post by rrlane » Sun Feb 24, 2008 7:43 pm

Signal Login didn't work for me either.

rmaan
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Oct 10, 2006 8:28 am

Re:

Post by rmaan » Sun Feb 24, 2008 7:51 pm

Is this perhaps an issue with 1.5.1 and not 1.5? I do not recall having this problem after installing 1.5 but after upgrading to 1.5.1 this issue has been persistant. Is there anyone who is experiencing this issue on 1.5? If it is a 1.5.1 issue I will gladly downgrade!!

SuperFlies
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 11:38 pm

Re:

Post by SuperFlies » Tue Feb 26, 2008 7:01 pm

I'm adding to the frustration. A clean 1.5.1 install that was working fine until just a few minutes ago. The home page just quit working. I was simply updating the template CSS and it stopped and gave me the dreaded 404 error message. I have access to the back end, just no access to the front page...

This is pretty sad. I have a production ready site to go for a national organization that went with Joomla on my recommendation. What do I do?

Cheers...

bigmantana
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 65
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 12:37 pm

Re:

Post by bigmantana » Wed Feb 27, 2008 2:10 pm

I found the answer !!!!
The problem is by naming !
For example
If you create a menu item and called it "Example" in the title section and in the Alias you type something different for example "Test" this cause the problem!.
But you can write "example" "Example"eXample' ...
Thats what I did and my problem solved !

waulok
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 11:41 pm

Re:

Post by waulok » Wed Feb 27, 2008 11:01 pm

That unfortunately would not have fixed my issue because mine isn't a menu option issue but the page it redirects to after login..

Kristobal
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 7:07 pm

Re: 404 Component Not Found error

Post by Kristobal » Sun Mar 02, 2008 2:57 pm

Hello all!

In developing our new site with Joomla 1.5.1 all was going fine then we started getting the 404 Component Not Found Error people are talking about. We also noticed that our FrontPage was blank/gone. We put in another piece of content for the FrontPage, but this did NOT fix it.

So, I tried turning on and off the Search Engine Friendly settings but that did NOT resolve it either.

EASY SOLUTION (from another post)
No default menu is set in the Main Menu. Go into your Admin page/control panel and go to the Menu Item Manager for the Main Menu. Click the check box next to the Home page at the top of the list. Then click on the yellow star icon in the upper-right corner.

ALTERNATE SOLUTION
So I set Debug Info to Maximum and examined the function call stack. After further analysis I noticed that the error was getting triggered when trying to call the dispatch() function for a component (which one I could not tell). It calls the renderComponent() function which does a check on the component name, if it is empty then it raises a 404 Component Not Found Error. For whatever reason Joomla seems to be calling dispatch() on a component with an empty name (possibly because a component is disabled or the FrontPage is broken/missing,) which it should NOT do, and generates the error. I put a very simple if statement in the code which fixed the problem!

In the "includes" directory in the root Joomla directory there is a file called "application.php" Locate the dispatch() function (at line 89). Right before the call (at line 124) to JComponentHelper::renderComponent() put in this "if" statement like below. Make sure it looks exactly like this.

if(! empty($component)) {
$contents = JComponentHelper::renderComponent($component);
$document->setBuffer( $contents, 'component');
}

Upload the file to the includes directory and try refreshing your browser again.

Also, if anyone can tell if the error is caused by a disabled component (by turning on all components and seeing if the error goes away) it would be good to post any info about this as well.

Hope this helps.
Kristobal

 

Locked

Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 1.5”