content icon display

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Locked
nvinvi
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 5:04 pm
Location: France

content icon display

Post by nvinvi » Thu Feb 14, 2008 3:03 pm

regarding the content icons display as the pdf icons,
I am using joomla 1.5.1

I have to menu item displaying articles (type= Articles » Category / Blog)

at component level : show_pdf_icon=1

at menu level : show_pdf_icon=0

at article level : show_pdf_icon= (global value = component value)

I have the pdf icon displayed for articles under one menu and not in the other.
is there an other configuration item that can explain that?

In fact, I found an other menu displaying the article with show_pdf_icon=1 .
So that means that global value is not the component value,
joomla is looking to a menu if exist that to display that item
else it always take the menu parameters

How to have icons displayed at article level an not at upper level (as for example on the main page of joomla.org)
I just want to allow that when the full article is displayed?

nvinvi
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun May 07, 2006 5:04 pm
Location: France

Re: content icon display

Post by nvinvi » Mon Feb 18, 2008 8:55 pm

I don't get any anwer,
I am alway confuse with that.
can somebody take five minutes to answer if I am wrong.

I take the 1.5.1 release, I install it without any change.
I don't want to see icon in the news (itemid=50) , so I change the menu parameters : fine.
I click on readmore for the "Welcome to Joomla!" item.
And the item is displayed without the icon (however icon display is set to on at component level and item sould take global value).
If I add icon display for this item at article level, I will get them at blog level.

So the display is alway the same at blog or at article level .
And I have to way to change that, except by changing the Itemid (ex : item on frontpage are displayed with item id of an other menu according to getArticleRoute) .

Is it a bug or a normal behavior or did I miss something somewhere.
Thanks to somebody to take time to give me an answer.

i have the same behavior if I replace
// $params =& $mainframe->getParams('com_content');
$params =& JComponentHelper::getParams('com_content');
in ContentViewArticle.
and it is strange as I have not see how i can get the menu parameters with JComponentHelper::getParams.


Locked

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 1.5”