Wrong "base href"...?

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 1.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
User avatar
ant
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 1:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Wrong "base href"...?

Post by ant » Fri Feb 22, 2008 4:01 pm

Hi all,
I installed a fresh copy of Joomla! 1.5.1 using a fresh empty database. Ok, as usual ;)
When I activated the core SEF, everything seemed to be fine, except for one thing: images in the articles disappear after clicking a readmore link. Using Firefox I discovered that the path of the image was wrong:
http://www.mydomain.net/subdir/the-news ... red_by.png
It was easy to understand that the SEF engine caused the rewritten path for those images... But how is it?! Template files, banners and everything else is ok. I inspected the output HTML: template images and css's use a correct URL related to the webroot: /subdir/templates/rhuk_milkyway/css/template.css
The path of the "incorrect" images is instead a relative path: images/stories/powered_by.png

I've read a number of posts starting from these simple considerations and finally achieving to what I think is the cause.
The relative path isn't wrong for itself: it could work if the base HREF wouldn't be wrong.

In the example article I'm using to describe this, the base tag is:

Code: Select all

<base href="http://www.mydomain.net/subdir/the-news/1-latest-news/1-welcome-to-joomla.html" />
I consider this a bug. So I searched through the "Joomla! 1.5.x Bug Tracker" to find if it's an already tracked bug.
I found 3 "base href" IDs (2 closed and 1 "Unable to Confirm") but I didn't understand if and how this issue has been resolved...

One of this tracker links this topic: http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?t=230710
...but I don't think it solved this.

I still believe that a base href with the full URL of an article is to be considered an error, and the only solution I found is to modify the inlcudes/application.php file at row 108, from this:

Code: Select all

$document->setBase(JURI::current());
to this:

Code: Select all

$document->setBase(JURI::base());
Applying this mod to the core, I finally saw my site perfectly working, both with SEF engine on and while using relative URLs. Indeed, the base href is always:

Code: Select all

<base href="http://www.mydomain.net/subdir/" />
But... Am I missing anything? Why is still this mod not implemented?
Sorry for the long post.
Ant at Artimediali Web Design
Realizzazione siti web Joomla!
http://www.artimediali.net

User avatar
pgraves
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Cornwall, UK
Contact:

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by pgraves » Tue May 20, 2008 8:38 am

That is the fix!

We have been struggling with this bug for months, and this is the fix. As you correctly point out there have been forums and bugs for this but no solutions, and then because they can't figure out what to do someone appears to just shut them down without curing anything. Looks like a case of denial.

So well done, thanks for helping us get our images back with SEF URLs turned on, I shall now go and update all my other Joomla 1.5 sites that have been unable to use SEF URLs for the last few months.

Thanks,
Pete
http://www.channelcomputing.co.uk
Peter Graves
Channel Digital - Web Development and Marketing
http://www.channeldigital.co.uk

hatchmo
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 3:40 am

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by hatchmo » Sun Jun 29, 2008 9:06 pm

This code change solved the same problem for me, too.
I have been going 'round and 'round with this in this thread:

http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=431&t=298582

and nobody else considered it a problem.

Thanks!

User avatar
ant
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 1:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by ant » Mon Jun 30, 2008 7:55 am

Sorry, I have to say that my mod is functional but uncorrect...

As far as I could understand dealing with this issue, the W3C considers the BASE HREF in a different way as I supposed: the base tag contains the full URL of a document, without anchors. The full URL is the base of the document: in case you use anchors they point inside the document at the URI given by the BASE tag.
So in the example article I used, the correct BASE href is:

Code: Select all

<base href="http://www.mydomain.net/subdir/the-news/1-latest-news/1-welcome-to-joomla.html" />
What I supposed to be the "base" for a document (i.e. its "root" folder) is not what the W3C considers to be a "base":

Code: Select all

<base href="http://www.mydomain.net/subdir/" />
You can read further about this, here:
http://www.w3.org/TR/REC-html40/struct/ ... tml#h-12.4
http://www.w3schools.com/TAGS/tag_base.asp

The simple concise definition by W3Schools for the BASE tag is: "The base element specifies a base URL for all the links in a page". It says "links", not "source"...

In the Joomla! Devel Discussion, developers considered this issue and in the thread "1.5 Routing / Base href issues", they decided how to conform to the W3C recommendations.

Anyway... In the next Joomla versions, starting from the 1.5.2 stable, the problem seemed to be solved: in the output source of an example article the BASE href was as before:

Code: Select all

<base href="http://www.mydomain.net/subdir/the-news/1-latest-news/1-welcome-to-joomla.html" />
...but the SRC tag of an image began to be relative to the root folder: not anymore images/stories/powered_by.png, but /subdir/images/stories/powered_by.png.

I can't say if Joomla developers did anything to correct something in the routing system... I can only say that from the latest upgrades, everything is fine with me and URLs are all correct without any mod to be done.

Hope this help you too.
Ant at Artimediali Web Design
Realizzazione siti web Joomla!
http://www.artimediali.net

evdboogaard
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2006 11:38 pm
Location: Netherlands

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by evdboogaard » Mon Jul 14, 2008 9:47 pm

Thanks Ant, it sure helps!
I had the same problem as you did... while using v1.5.3. Upgrading to v1.5.4 wasn't much of a help either.
The images inside articles were still broken with SEF on. So I made the "current --> base" change in the code and it shows like it should now. I hope it doesn't have any implication for the rest of the site though...

Erwin

P.s. If I need a hammer to get a nail in a piece of wood and I have to ask someone to hand it to me. And that person calls it a screwdriver, I can either have a discussion with the guy to change the name OR I just ask for a "screwdriver"...
I don't care what W3 calls it, it's the usage and the end result that count ;)

hatchmo
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 3:40 am

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by hatchmo » Thu Jul 17, 2008 6:09 pm

ant wrote:Sorry, I have to say that my mod is functional but uncorrect...
Anyway... In the next Joomla versions, starting from the 1.5.2 stable, the problem seemed to be solved
Not for the rest of us. The simple reality is this:

I change "current" to "base" in the Joomla core code, and my relative paths work.
I change "base" to "current" in the Joomla core code, and my relative paths fail.

This is a no-brainer for all versions up to 1.5.4.

I believe it is server-specific. We all know that many extensions require a change to one or more lines of code to
accommodate certain popular Apache/Linux installations. We just accept that. In this case, I will just have to
accept this change. And I thank you again for giving me this tip.

Linux 2.6.23.1-10.fc7 ( i686)
Apache/2.2.8 (Fedora)
PHP 5.2.4
MySQL 5.0.45
zlib Support
register_globals, magic_quotes_gpc, safe_mode: Disabled
save.session_path: Not Writable

User avatar
ant
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 1:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by ant » Fri Jul 18, 2008 8:54 am

hatchmo wrote:I believe it is server-specific.
I'm sorry to be unable to help you/us to find a solution. I can only add things from what I experience.

I can say I'm sure my Hoster did not change or upgrade anything between the two Joomla installations of mine, the first not working and the second working.
I just installed a new version 1.5.2 from scratch and started to work. I had erased everything of the previous 1.5.1: files, db, htaccess, everything. And again, I'm sure that my hoster did not upgrade anything on the server.

I don't know why it works now: I thought they changed something in the routing system, but...
Surely I'm happy it works, but I would like to know why it didn't before and what have changed :(

Anyway, just to proceed by exclusions, I found that the BASE tag with the current path of a page is correct and in accordance with the W3C... Of course they don't force us to adhere, but the correct answer to this thread subject is surely: "No".

Again, I'm sorry it can't help much :(
Ant at Artimediali Web Design
Realizzazione siti web Joomla!
http://www.artimediali.net

User avatar
whazzup
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 11:11 am
Location: Rotterdam

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by whazzup » Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:28 pm

I think I have a problem related to that. Using Joomla! 1.5.4 Production/Stable [ Naiki ] installed in a subdirectory (portal).

When inserting images in articles (with the insert image button) the picture shows, on a relative address ../../../../images/stories/img_name.ext.

If I save or apply the edit, the picture disappears. Editing the url of the picture by adding the 'portal' base directory between the
../../../../ and images/stories/img_name.ext to complete the url solves that problem very temporary, because that url is overwritten (portal/ I inserted ) disappears again and the picture link is broken when I apply or save.

So when I add 'portal' to get a correct url:

Code: Select all

../../../../portal/images/stories/img_0809.jpg
whenever saved or applied it is automatically rewritten to

Code: Select all

../../../../images/stories/img_0809.jpg
even hard coding it in html results in a changing url.

This seems base url related to me as well.

There is another strange phenomenon on this page when I browse the source: the articles icon refers to /portal/../../../images/stories/articles.jpg - so it seems that the base portal is not correctly configured somewhere.

I changed line 108 as described here, but that did not solve anything for me.

appreciate any help, apologies if the solution is already posted, I really could not find it.

User avatar
whazzup
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 11:11 am
Location: Rotterdam

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by whazzup » Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:41 pm

Just had a bright idea. Solved the insert picture url btw by setting the urls in the tiny editor to absolute, but PicLens doesn't work anymore after that so any other solutions would be nice. The image properties editor and the base url are relly a bit confuesed to say thge least. Changing line 108 back does not make any differences. The base URL looks better with the new setting (<base href="http://www.wbsitename.nl/portal/" /> but in the image links I get these ../../../ exta references. When they would not be included the url would be correct I think, as in the page html they show as for example:

Code: Select all

<p><img src="/portal/../../../images/stories/articles.jpg" mce_src="/portal/../../../images/stories/articles.jpg">
(with 'portal' in front) I think portal/images/stories/articles.jpg would work.

edit: last finding: everything works fine when I do not use any editor JCE and Tine mess things (links) up in relative path mode. Without editor the links are relative and correct:

Code: Select all

<img src="/portal/images/stories/key.jpg" alt="" />

User avatar
whazzup
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 11:11 am
Location: Rotterdam

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by whazzup » Sat Jul 19, 2008 10:56 pm

sorry for the long posts but some solutions are so obvious and unreal that you don't look for it!

Suddenly I saw in my browser url

Code: Select all

http://www/website.com/portal////administrator/index.php etc
hence the //// :eek:

Don't know how it got there but it really [censored] up all the relative codes I inserted. The admin interface worked however with this strange url. All tested editors (fck, tiny, jce) had problems with the relative path when the url in the browser (firefox) was not correct as mentioned.

User avatar
normdouglas
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2654
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 11:37 am
Location: Geelong Australia

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by normdouglas » Mon Aug 11, 2008 2:59 am

Thank you SO much for this fix... I have just wasted 4 hours of development time, trying to solve this...

Just for the record, my problem was around submenus not showing links... In otherwords, images would display correctly when ever a TOP menu was active, but if you chose a submenu the images wouldn't show... This was happening only when SEF was active, either the native joomla one or sh404

THANK YOU AGAIN!

EDIT!!!
Just found another issue... with Artio JoomSEF, and with the "Use Categories" or "Use Sections" this again breaks the submenus...

I think I'm about to give up on the SEF component in 1.5
Step1. Read the instructions. Step2. Refer to step 1. Step 3. Backup

revjb
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 10:42 pm

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by revjb » Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:31 pm

Thanks again for this. For reference's sake, applying the 1.5.6 patch overwrites the application.php file so you must reapply the fix.

The issues with SEF have lead me to stay away from SEF components and use the standard built-in SEF. The only downside is having to manually enter the meta descriptions and keywords. :(

BMJoomla
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2007 3:32 pm

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by BMJoomla » Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:59 pm

Hi,
I'm using joomla 1.0.x and this is happening to me with artio's joomsef.
But I can't find includes/application.php file (maybe it only exists on 1.5 version, so anyone knows how can i change this on joomla 1.0.x?
The url is created well on firefox, the problem only exists when using IE, hope this solves the problem.
Thanks in advance!

User avatar
marliesp
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 10:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by marliesp » Fri Sep 05, 2008 1:15 pm

I use 1.5.6 and ran in to the same problem: images in subdirectories and after clicking on 'read more' were given wrong paths including the name of the subdirectory. I applied your fix and now it works!! :D
I don't understand why this fix isn't integrated in the upgrades?

Anyway, thank you :D Ant for your work, I was going to give up on SEF! ;)

User avatar
ant
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 1:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by ant » Fri Sep 05, 2008 1:34 pm

Cheers, marliesp ;)
But...
marliesp wrote:I don't understand why this fix isn't integrated in the upgrades?
I know why they don't integrate this "fix" in an upgrade: because it outputs wrong HTML.
Please, have a read at my post which answers myself here up.

Quoting myself:
ant wrote:Sorry, I have to say that my mod is functional but uncorrect...
Anyway, I'm happy to know that you all can make your Joomla work even with a "dirty" mod ;)
Ant at Artimediali Web Design
Realizzazione siti web Joomla!
http://www.artimediali.net

User avatar
marliesp
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 10:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by marliesp » Fri Sep 05, 2008 7:00 pm

Hi Ant, after your reply I understand better that this fix might be good, but produces no W3C standard HTML. To ensure my new site meets the standards I looked further.

Directly after installing Joomla 1.5.6 I also installed sh404SEF, and encountered the problem with the wrong paths for the images in subdirectories. So after a couple of hours of pulling hair ;) I uninstalled the component. But the Joomla core SEF still produced the same missing images problem and that's when I came across your solution. :p

Your fix works great but produces the 'wrong' meta baseurl, as you stated before. ;)

Luckily I have more domains to work on, so I installed a fresh Joomla 1.5.6 site on a different server (with the same PHP specs etc.) and that second site didn't have the image path problems! So now I know it was the installing/uninstalling of sh404SEF that must have caused the problem. After comparing both sites Plugin folder in the Administrator, I noticed the core Joomla Sef Plugin had been altered from type: system to type: content.

I googled these terms and found this page:
http://www.compassdesigns.net/joomla-bl ... d-SEF.html

I followed the instructions, changed the SQL line concerning SEF by hand in PhpMyAdmin and now it........ works :p ;D :laugh:

I hope someone who's struggling at the moment might find this helpful, I'm sooooo happy! I was about to start all over again en reinstall everything... :D

User avatar
ant
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 1:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by ant » Sat Sep 06, 2008 1:31 pm

Great!
Thank you marliesp... I think you finally found the reason for this issue and the way to avoid modding the core! ;)
marliesp wrote:Directly after installing Joomla 1.5.6 I also installed sh404SEF...
I didn't install sh404SEF but the first time I probably came from an RC db... Then I erased every single thing and the problem solved for me.
marliesp wrote:I followed the instructions, changed the SQL line concerning SEF by hand in PhpMyAdmin and now it........ works :p ;D :laugh:
Well, I hope we can hear from others if this solves the problem, without the mod I suggested ;)
Ant at Artimediali Web Design
Realizzazione siti web Joomla!
http://www.artimediali.net

DeZzL
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2006 12:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by DeZzL » Mon Sep 08, 2008 7:27 am

marliesp wrote:*snip!*
Works like a charm for me as well! Lekker!

hatchmo
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 3:40 am

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by hatchmo » Mon Sep 08, 2008 4:40 pm

What about those of us who never installed a Release Candidate at all?

I installed, then uninstalled sh404SEF, and replaced it with SmartSEF.
Now I have only 2 plugins present:

System - Smartsef
Content - SEF

Does this indicate that SmartSEF replaced the core System - SEF with its own?
Should I even need to implement the SQL changes?

User avatar
ant
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 1:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by ant » Mon Sep 08, 2008 5:31 pm

hatchmo wrote:Does this indicate that SmartSEF replaced the core System - SEF with its own?
Should I even need to implement the SQL changes?
As far as I understood from what marliesp wrote, it is sh404SEF that causes the problem for someone.
So my answer is: yes, do the SQL change!

You could simply replace "content" with "system"... but I think it's better to execute this SQL:

Code: Select all

UPDATE `jos_plugins` SET `ordering` = `ordering` + 1 WHERE `folder` LIKE `system`;
UPDATE `jos_plugins` SET `name` = `System - SEF`, `folder` = `system`, `ordering` = 1 WHERE element LIKE `sef`; 
Let us know.
Ant at Artimediali Web Design
Realizzazione siti web Joomla!
http://www.artimediali.net

shumisha
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by shumisha » Sun Sep 21, 2008 1:06 pm

Hi ant,

just for the record, you did not understand correctly what marliesp wrote. It was a change in Joomla between RC3 and subsequent versions that caused the issue. sh404sef does not alter in any way Joomla core files or settings

Rgds
See all about sh404sef and wbAMP at https://weeblr.com
I don't reply to PM anymore. Thanks for using sh404SEF and wbAMP

hatchmo
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 3:40 am

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by hatchmo » Sun Sep 21, 2008 4:57 pm

Wait a minute. Then why does marliespp write:
So now I know it was the installing/uninstalling of sh404SEF that must have caused the problem...
I noticed the core Joomla Sef Plugin had been altered from type: system to type: content.
This implies that sh404SEF altered the Joomla SEF plugin.

shumisha
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by shumisha » Sun Sep 21, 2008 6:01 pm

Hi,

No, it implies that the problem become visible when sh404sef has been installed, which is very common and does not mean the problem is caused by sh404sef. Additionnally, please take my word that sh404sef does not alter in any way any file or db record of joomla or any other extension, and has never done anything like that. I have gone through hoops to do many things without having to do that, just because I hate having to hack the core...

Besides, the core sef plugin being changed from a content plugin to a system plugin by the Joomla core is a well documented change, which has already been linked to in that thread : http://www.compassdesigns.net/joomla-bl ... d-SEF.html

Rgds
See all about sh404sef and wbAMP at https://weeblr.com
I don't reply to PM anymore. Thanks for using sh404SEF and wbAMP

User avatar
ant
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 1:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by ant » Mon Sep 22, 2008 9:10 am

shumisha wrote:just for the record, you did not understand correctly what marliesp wrote. It was a change in Joomla between RC3 and subsequent versions that caused the issue. sh404sef does not alter in any way Joomla core files or settings
Ok, I'm sorry for my misunderstanding... I never tried sh404sef with the new 1.5 series, so I didn't know if it would alter or not any Joomla core files.
Thank you for the record, shumisha ;)

I would like to know if anyone has encountered the wrong image path problem, installing a stable Joomla from scratch (not upgrading from a RC), without adding no plugin and while matching all server requirements.
Ant at Artimediali Web Design
Realizzazione siti web Joomla!
http://www.artimediali.net

chrissyb
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 8:18 am

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by chrissyb » Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:43 pm

I am having the very same problem. I've read through the posts but am having trouble understanding the advice given.

My paths are being changed not in Joomla, but in the component Joomfish from:

templates/folder/images/more_images/img_1.jpg

../../templates/folder/images/more_images/img_1.jpg

Is this a similar problem with the component or am I missing something I should have done in the core Joomla product? My relative paths are not being affected.

Any further pointers would be greatly appreciated. :'(

shumisha
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 512
Joined: Sat Aug 20, 2005 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by shumisha » Mon Sep 22, 2008 3:57 pm

Hi,

I am not sure I understand all of this thread, but there is one thing I am sure. I any extension, templates, etc uses a relative link to an image, a javascript file, etc, this is wrong and cannot work when sef is used, regardless of the SEF solution used.

All links used must be absolute. That's why Joomla provides a sefRelToAbs() (Joomla 1.0.x) or JRoute::_() (Joomla 1.5.x) functions. Every link should be passed through one of these functions before being output in your page html.

This is causing malfunctions in many extensions and templates, especially those newly developed for Joomla 1.5, as this seems to have been forgottenn by many developers...

RGds
See all about sh404sef and wbAMP at https://weeblr.com
I don't reply to PM anymore. Thanks for using sh404SEF and wbAMP

WINEMAN
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 11:15 am
Location: Japan

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by WINEMAN » Sat Oct 11, 2008 7:33 am

Great topic and I'm still looking for a fix here.

I'm using 1.5.7 from stratch and there are no issues with my template's relative links or CSS. My problem stems from sub-menu incorrect relative links like many of you have described.

My config:

1. Joomla 1.5.7 with core SEF enabled. No 3rd party extensions.
2. JCE latest version
3. JoomFish latest release
4. Simple Image Rotator - latest edition


At first I thought the problem was the image rotator but I noticed that when I clicked on sub-menu links that none of the images were showing up.

So is this, in fact, a Joomla core issue?

WINEMAN
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 11:15 am
Location: Japan

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by WINEMAN » Sat Oct 11, 2008 8:23 am

Quick update:

I applied the recommend SQL fix but since the SQL commands kept giving me errors, I changed the SQL entries manually using PHP Admin.

Changed "content" to "system"
Renamed "Content - Sef" to "System - Sef"
Reordered "System - Sef" to number 1 position and...

all is well.
My images are working perfectly now. I hope they include this fix in the future fresh installs so I don't have to do this again.

Thanks for the fix !

User avatar
ant
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 158
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 1:22 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by ant » Sat Oct 11, 2008 2:38 pm

I apologize again with shumisha for my mistake... This was more for my bad english :-[

Anyway what Wineman says:
WINEMAN wrote: Changed "content" to "system"
Renamed "Content - Sef" to "System - Sef"
Reordered "System - Sef" to number 1 position and...

all is well.
...and marliesp suggested, is exactly what I think it can definetly solve the problem in the most part of cases.
Thank you, Wineman for your record ;)
Ant at Artimediali Web Design
Realizzazione siti web Joomla!
http://www.artimediali.net

alivetu
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Mar 18, 2008 1:50 pm

Re: Wrong "base href"...?

Post by alivetu » Wed Oct 15, 2008 7:18 am

Hi,

I've installed a J1.5.0 migrated to 1.5.7 with no 3rd party components, JCE latest version with relative URLs and SEF CORE...

In mysql the jos_plugins table is already OK (means The SEF element name = "System-SEF", ordering=1 and folder="system")

Never installed SH404SEF...

The only solution that works for me is to modify the includes/application.php file line 108...

:(

P.S : all my URLS, which work naturally, are like '/images/stories/...' except when i create in the editor HTML a div or span with a background url which is forced (by joomla / jce ???) to 'images/stories/...' so it is not found. I can't force the leading slash excepted by modifying directly in phpmyadmin.

alivetu


Locked

Return to “Administration 1.5”