can't change permissions via ftp

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
teros0805
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

can't change permissions via ftp

Post by teros0805 » Fri Mar 14, 2008 4:25 am

i've seen where others have had this problem before but i can't seem to find a simple answer.

whenever i install anything via the joomla install function (modules, plugins, components, themes) i CANT change permissions on files that subsequently need editing.

if i manually upload them via ftp the NO PROBLEM.

i gather that maybe when i install via joomla that the "owner" of the created folders/files etc. is being set to "nobody" ?

now, i wouldnt really care too much - i'd just upload everything via ftp like i've been doing with themes BUT i'm assuming that components and plugins are a little more complicated and most do not include manual install directions ie. what goes where.

there must be a simple fix for this ---- its kinda pi$$in me off.

joomla 1.51 btw

tia for any assistance

lmiksch
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: can't change permissions via ftp

Post by lmiksch » Fri Mar 14, 2008 3:40 pm

I had the same problem. Turns out that when Joomla installs things - it assigns them to the root user. (Certainly, not my preference and I have been unable to find anywhere to change the owner designation I normally use.)

The reason you have been unable to change the properties in your ftp program - is because whichever user you have logged in as - is not the owner of the file.