XML parsing error? mismatched tags

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
PapaLion
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

XML parsing error? mismatched tags

Post by PapaLion » Tue Sep 23, 2008 8:27 pm

I use J1.5.6 and I recently noticed a new error when I use Admin/Extentions & when I bring up Template manager or ModuleManager/Module (edit) for any module. This error shows up in both areas (Template Manager & Module(edit) when I use certain templates. With the Default template the error is on Template Manager page only, & not on any of the Module (edit) pages. Plug ins and Language are not affected.

XML Parsing Error at 42:2. Error 7: mismatched tag

It refers to the last line of my templateDetails.xml file for my custom template. That error line stays the same regardless of the template in use. All seems to be working ok? no fuctional errors noted yet?

I would appreciate some direction on what this error refers to? and how I might approach repair.
thanks much

Chris Davenport
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Re: XML parsing error? mismatched tags

Post by Chris Davenport » Tue Sep 23, 2008 8:43 pm

You have an error in your templateDetails.xml file. For a "mismatched tag" you should be looking for a <tag> element that is being terminated by something other than </tag>. Remember that XML is case-sensitive, so <Tag> ... </tag> will throw an error as well as <something> .... </something-else>. A common mistake is to omit the "/" from the end tag.

If you can't see it then post your templateDetails.xml here and we can check it for you.

Regards,
Chris.
Chris Davenport

Davenport Technology Services http://www.davenporttechnology.com/