Workflow and version differencing

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
jbeall
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Workflow and version differencing

Post by jbeall » Fri Mar 20, 2009 6:04 pm

Hi All,

Is there a way with Joomla to have the following workflow:

Content is already on website, and:

1) A writer submits an update to an article he wrote
2) Editor reviews update, and can approved, edit, or reject the change
3) Once editor approves change, it is visible on live website. Until then, the old version of the content is visible.

We also want the editor to be able to quickly see what has changed. Something like this would be ideal:

http://drupal.org/node/176051/revisions ... 683/221754

You can see that the highlighting makes it easy to see that it's was change to its.

I looked at the demo for the "front end article manager", but it didn't appear to be doing any moderation of content. While Bill could only edit his own blog, Bill's posts were immediately visible--we want posts to require moderation.

jbeall
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Workflow and version differencing

Post by jbeall » Thu Mar 26, 2009 8:33 pm

Any thoughts on this? Is there a way to do this in Joomla?

fatica
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Post by fatica » Mon Mar 30, 2009 6:39 pm

Version control can be done with our GPL extension
http://www.fatica.net/downloads/simple- ... oning.html

The workflow/staging/approval piece can be accomplished with
http://www.fatica.net/products/joomla-workflow.html

jomolian
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by jomolian » Tue Mar 31, 2009 11:46 am