Joomal 1.5 and PHP 5.4

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
nguyenhuynh
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joomal 1.5 and PHP 5.4

Post by nguyenhuynh » Sat Dec 08, 2012 12:49 am

Hi all ,

My webhost (1and1) just informed me that they are upgrading to PHP 5.4 early next year, and that PHP 4 / 5.2 will be discontinued from their end. As they have the option to upgrade to PHP 5.4 earlier and revert (for testing purposes to see if websites continue to function properly), I saw that all instances of Joomla 1.5 stopped working in new PHP 5.4, so at the moment I continue sticking to php 5.2

So i was wondering if there is any patch for this issue or if someone has a solution.

Please help me resolve this issue

We are looking and hearing from you

Thank a lot for you support

Nguyen

ranwilli
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Joomal 1.5 and PHP 5.4

Post by ranwilli » Sat Dec 08, 2012 1:10 am

Resolution = 1. New Host or 2. Migrate to 2.5
Don't HACK the Joomla! core, Instead "Extend" and/or "Override."
Stay ON the update path.
https://harpervance.com

Tonie
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Post by Tonie » Sat Dec 08, 2012 8:38 am

1.5 is end of life, it will not be fixed to work on php 5.4 by the Joomla project. Like Ranwilli says, PHP 5.2 is the way to go.

ern1001
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Post by ern1001 » Wed Jan 16, 2013 10:20 pm

Hi Nguyen,
I unfortunately also have a joomla 1.5 website hosted at 1&1. They are forcing us to change to php5.4 .
Unfortunately, we don't have an option of moving to a different web host. We are working on migrating to joomla 2.5, but it is a lot of work and will take some time.