Looking for my database port

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Locked
Doc Sheldon
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 1:49 am

Looking for my database port

Post by Doc Sheldon » Sat Sep 17, 2016 2:00 am

Hello- I purchased a site which is running Joomla 1.5.25, and I'm in the process of trying to migrate it to WordPress, using the FG Joomla to WordPress plugin. I've hit a pothole, trying to identify the database port. The default is normally 3306, but that isn't what it's set to. I checked the configuration.php file and it provides everything BUT the port.
I have super-admin access to the backend... Can someone tell me if there's someplace I can find the assigned port number?

User avatar
imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 27192
Joined: Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:57 am
Location: Chennai, India

Re: Looking for my database port

Post by imanickam » Sat Sep 17, 2016 1:25 pm

Joomla does not control the ports used for the web server, database, and so forth. It uses whatever has been already defined/specified in the operating system.

Generally, the ports are defined/specified in the file named services and its locations are as mentioned below.

Linux and UNIX operating systems
/etc/services

Windows operating systems
%SystemRoot%\system32\drivers\etc\services


Similarly the host names are defined in the file named hosts.

Hope this helps.
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Translations Coordination Team | Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team

Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 25874
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Looking for my database port

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sat Sep 17, 2016 1:31 pm

You can look in configuration.php for the connection details.

Doc Sheldon
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2016 1:49 am

Re: Looking for my database port

Post by Doc Sheldon » Sat Sep 17, 2016 7:01 pm

Thanks for the reply, Ynvge-

I looked in the configuration.php file. It tells me the mysql db filename, prefix, username and password, but not the port number. Perhaps that's because it's an old version - 1.5.25


Locked

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 1.5”