Choose hosting for Joomla 1.5 website nowadays

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
lorenzofp
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Choose hosting for Joomla 1.5 website nowadays

Post by lorenzofp » Fri Jul 07, 2017 12:31 am

Hello, I have a joomla 1.5.26 website i can not upgrade to joomla 3. I need to find a hosting company that will let me run this website on php 5.3, 5.4 ot 5.6 at maximum.

I actually run my website with a hosting company that will upgrade php to php 7 in the next months and my website will simply disappear.

I need to understand what options i have. How to run nowadays a joomla 1.5 website? What kind of solutions do I have for this problem? I do not know how to setup a webserver, but i think that there should be the possibility of renting a webserver and run php 5.3 or 5.4 or 5.6, but how to do this? I need a solution that will work for some years.. Anybody can help me to understand what options i Have? thanks!

ranwilli
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Choose hosting for Joomla 1.5 website nowadays

Post by ranwilli » Fri Jul 07, 2017 1:51 pm

lorenzofp wrote:Hello, I have a joomla 1.5.26 website i can not upgrade to joomla 3.
Sorry, but this is just nonsense.

The fact is, you have a website, that is not easily or quickly upgraded to current.

Your Host is doing you a favor by pushing you toward modern, more secure php, and is giving you generous advance notice.

A couple of months is more than enough time to upgrade a test a new site.
Don't HACK the Joomla! core, Instead "Extend" and/or "Override."
Stay ON the update path.
https://harpervance.com

lorenzofp
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice