Where settings for sql database location?

General questions relating to Joomla! 1.5 There are other boards for more specific help on Joomla! features and extensions.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Newstillwet
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Where settings for sql database location?

Post by Newstillwet » Sun Feb 14, 2021 10:18 pm

I am a brand new user, trying to update a site made for me by someone else years ago, currently running Joomla! 1.5.26. I have created a copy of the files in another server folder and have directed a second url to the ns1 and ns2 name servers of the host. (The registrar is different than the name server/host.) I have not yet uploaded a copy of the sql file.

In other words, I want to go through the upgrade to 3.x in a second copy of the website first.

Problem:

I cannot find where the path to the sql file exists in the Joomla file structure.

I read online that it is specified in the log file path, but that is clearly not true. The log and tmp paths actually point to folders that no longer exist, and the site has been working fine. When I log in to the site as administrator and check System Info > Directory Permissions, all directories are Writable except those two (log and tmp paths), as expected - and the site works fine.

How does the generic path to the name servers (from the url at the registrar) find the sql database, and the website files? It only directs to the two name servers. And in what order does this happen - e.g. url>sql>files or url>files>sq?

I need this to set up the copy, so I can test the upgrade process.

Info: Debian, Apache, Mysql 5.6.32, Perl 5.8.8, Php 5.3.29, Phpmyadmin 4.8.5.

Thank you in advance!!

toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Where settings for sql database location?