Could not instantiate mail function.

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 1.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
mjh2000
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Could not instantiate mail function.

Post by mjh2000 » Mon Feb 25, 2008 8:21 pm

this is an oldie but a goodie.
I am running debian,exim4, apache,mysql --all the latest and greatest and have drupal on it as well.
Drupal send email great..and so do the email packages i have on the box.

The only thing that does not work..is joomla 1.5 email function.

Can anyone help out?????
I am running exim4 with sendmail compatability. I should not have to do anyhting with the php.ini file because that was working by itself..vinialla.

Can anyone help ---please????
thanks
mjh

mjh2000
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Could not instantiate mail function.

Post by mjh2000 » Mon Feb 25, 2008 8:28 pm

Ooops...I forgot to mention that i get this error occurs when i try to create a user from the admin user manager menu and from the create a new account link on the front page.

I am not running anyother type of mail daemon...so i guess that is it.

thanks
mjh

codechimp
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Post by codechimp » Mon Mar 10, 2008 10:44 pm

Hi there

Not sure if you got this sorted, but i just found your post when i was llooking for a fix for the same problem.

Any how i went into the global config > server page and change the Mail Settings to Sendmail, and that seems to have worked.

lw-d
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Post by lw-d » Tue Mar 25, 2008 3:10 am

I have a similar server setup and I have the same problem.

Any fixes?

angelo2008
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Post by angelo2008 » Sun Jun 08, 2008 1:31 pm