Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Joomla version 1.5 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
scottjball
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 9:00 pm

Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by scottjball » Wed May 20, 2009 9:04 pm

HI All.

I installed quite a few Joomla sites. This is the first time that I cannot get past the Step 4 (Database)

I plug in all the relevant details and press next and nothing happens.

No error messages nothing nada. :)

Installing verson 1.5.10.

Any thoughts?

S

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37173
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by Webdongle » Wed May 20, 2009 9:19 pm

If you copy/paste then sometimes a blank space or EOL (hidden) character is pasted into name fields. As you have installed succesfuly before try double checking the accuracy of the information.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

scottjball
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 9:00 pm

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by scottjball » Wed May 20, 2009 10:13 pm

Yeah... I've manually typed everything...

Hmmm? (Scratching my head)

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37173
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by Webdongle » Wed May 20, 2009 10:20 pm

Did you create the data base or did your host ?

Have you tried checking the database connection ? (phpMyAdmin or with a script provided by your Host).
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

rogerL1
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 5:28 pm

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by rogerL1 » Thu May 21, 2009 1:32 pm

I have a slightly different mess with 1.5.10. on localhost.

I initially set up Joomla on a platform named EasyPHP without any problem. I’ve decided to change to XAMPP since it’s the most used and has the latest versions of PHP, MySQL which some other applications used with Joomla require.

With EasyPHP platform the set up was :

E\Program Files\EasyPHP1-8
With the EasyPHP1-8 directory containing the following directories : MySQL and www
With Joomla in the www directory

I’ve set up XAMPP platform as recommended as follows :
C\apachefriends\XAMPP
With the XAMPP directory containing the following directories : MySQL and htdocs
With Joomla in htdocs directory

XAMPP is working alright but when I run through the Joomla installation Step 4 Database Configuration gives :

"Could not connect to the database. Connector returned number. Unable to connect to the database : could not connect to MySQL."

Any other ideas about what could be troubling Step 4, anyone ?

presumined
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 2:44 am

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by presumined » Fri May 22, 2009 3:01 am

I've got the same problem as the original poster - this is the first time I've tried Joomla (been using DNN).

On Step 4 - the Database Configuration page - when I click the Next button (after carefully filling in all settings) nothing happens. My javascript inspector gives the following error:

document.formvalidator is null

Every preceding step worked fine (obviously).

I am using v 1.5.10, which I downloaded a couple of hours ago. My server is Windows NT WIN03 5.2 build 3790 with PHP version 5.2.2.

I've tried in FF 3 and IE 6, 7 and 8 - nothing works.

Would greatly appreciate some assistance in getting past this step.

toeflstar
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 5:16 am

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by toeflstar » Fri May 22, 2009 5:21 am

Same problem here also.

Perhaps it's a bug in the system, then, since we're all having the same problem?

I filled out all the boxes by hand, but nothing happens. Eventually the screen just goes white.

Schadeboy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 10:13 pm

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by Schadeboy » Sat May 23, 2009 10:26 pm

I'm brand new at this. Just downloaded Joomla 1.5.10 this afternoon. I'm having the exact same problem. If I try using FF, there is nothing reported. No error message, nothing. Under IE 8.0, though, I get the following details after clicking on "Error on page" in the lower right-hand corner. It says, quote:

"Webpage error details

User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.0; Trident/4.0; GTB6; Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows NT 5.1; SV1) ; SLCC1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; Media Center PC 5.0; InfoPath.2; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; Tablet PC 2.0; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; OfficeLiveConnector.1.3; OfficeLivePatch.0.0; .NET CLR 3.0.30618)
Timestamp: Sat, 23 May 2009 22:25:56 UTC


Message: Object doesn't support this property or method
Line: 243
Char: 1
Code: 0
URI: http://www.brianschade.com/installation ... idation.js


Message: Object doesn't support this property or method
Line: 19
Char: 4
Code: 0
URI: http://www.brianschade.com/installation/index.php


Message: 'document.formvalidator' is null or not an object
Line: 89
Char: 3
Code: 0
URI: http://www.brianschade.com/installation/index.php


Message: 'document.formvalidator' is null or not an object
Line: 89
Char: 3
Code: 0
URI: http://www.brianschade.com/installation/index.php


Message: 'document.formvalidator' is null or not an object
Line: 89
Char: 3
Code: 0
URI: http://www.brianschade.com/installation/index.php


Message: 'document.formvalidator' is null or not an object
Line: 89
Char: 3
Code: 0
URI: http://www.brianschade.com/installation/index.php


Message: 'document.formvalidator' is null or not an object
Line: 89
Char: 3
Code: 0
URI: http://www.brianschade.com/installation/index.php"

Hope this helps. I'd really like to get Joomla on here. I might try installing the previous version and then upgrading.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37173
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by Webdongle » Sat May 23, 2009 10:42 pm

@ Schadeboy

It looks like Joomla is not being allowed to write to the server. If that is the case you need to do a clean install and enable the ftp layer during the new install.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

Schadeboy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 10:13 pm

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by Schadeboy » Sat May 23, 2009 10:54 pm

Webdongle wrote:@ Schadeboy

It looks like Joomla is not being allowed to write to the server. If that is the case you need to do a clean install and enable the ftp layer during the new install.
Well, first of all, I am doing a clean install. Second, according to the Joomla screen just before the database configuration screen, all required components and settings that Joomla needs to perform the installation were met, including the FTP capability.

There errors in the text dump from IE8 that I provided seem to validate an error reported by Presumined. Something in the java script, it looks like.

I'm currently installing Joomla 1.5.9 to see if this will help. I will report my findings here when I'm done.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37173
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by Webdongle » Sat May 23, 2009 11:09 pm

Schadeboy wrote: ....
Well, first of all, I am doing a clean install. So you delete all the files/folders then re upload them before installing again ?

Second, according to the Joomla screen just before the database configuration screen, all required components and settings that Joomla needs to perform the installation were met, including the FTP capability. So it says the configuration file is writeable ? Also if you are installing on a shared Host then there are other settings that need to be configured during installation.
.......
Are you installing on your PC or on a remote server ?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

Schadeboy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 10:13 pm

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by Schadeboy » Sat May 23, 2009 11:23 pm

Webdongle wrote:
Schadeboy wrote: ....
Well, first of all, I am doing a clean install. So you delete all the files/folders then re upload them before installing again ?I have already deleted the 1.5.10 files and have uploaded the 1.5.9 files instead. I have to go out for a bit, so I don't have time to see if this works.

Second, according to the Joomla screen just before the database configuration screen, all required components and settings that Joomla needs to perform the installation were met, including the FTP capability. So it says the configuration file is writeable ? Also if you are installing on a shared Host then there are other settings that need to be configured during installation.Yes, it says teh configuration file is writeable. This is on a shared server. The installation documentation doesn't say anything about further configurations that need to be done on shared environments. That would be nice if it did.
.......


Are you installing on your PC or on a remote server ?


This is on a remote server.

presumined
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 2:44 am

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by presumined » Sun May 24, 2009 11:03 am

Somebody else also had this problem installing 1.5.6 - read the post here:

http://www.experts-exchange.com/Web_Dev ... 01311.html

Unfortunately, you have to pay to see the answers provided. The point is that this is clearly an issue for a number of people, but not big enough of an issue to be taken seriously yet.

In reference to the conversation above - I also did a clean install. I had a brand new domain with no files on it - uploaded Joomla as per the installation manual, so I didn't have to overwrite anything.

The following point from Webdongle above is puzzling:
Also if you are installing on a shared Host then there are other settings that need to be configured during installation.
Really? What settings? It doesn't say anything about special settings for shared environments in the installation manual, or if it does I didn't see it anywhere. I DO use a shared server - please would someone tell me what I need to do differently in this case.

My host definitely permits shared solutions like this - they even have a step-by-step tutorial on how to add a Joomla site:

http://www.webafrica.co.za/kb/joomla/joomla153.html

I've aksed them about our problem but they have no clue what could be causing it.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37173
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by Webdongle » Sun May 24, 2009 3:05 pm

@ presumined
Yes it is a common problem with shared Hosts, it occurs because not everyone who installs Joomla understand about server permissions. In the Joomla installation pages there are advanced settings that need to be activated. Once the reason is fully understood then installing Joomla on a shared server becomes easy.

If you look around you should be able to find free answers to the problem.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

Schadeboy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 10:13 pm

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by Schadeboy » Sun May 24, 2009 4:10 pm

Webdongle wrote:@ presumined
Yes it is a common problem with shared Hosts, it occurs because not everyone who installs Joomla understand about server permissions. In the Joomla installation pages there are advanced settings that need to be activated. Once the reason is fully understood then installing Joomla on a shared server becomes easy.

If you look around you should be able to find free answers to the problem.
Webdongle
The answer that you sent me in PM was very helpful. Thanks for your link.

I have managed to get Joomla 1.5.10 installed on my server environment. There was one small little thing that needed to be done that is not in the instructions. The problem was that configuration.php was not set up properly. In a brand new install, configuration.php doesn't exist. Well, technically it doesn't. It exists in the form of configuration.php-dist.

Why this is an issue is because the installation instructions make no mention that you need to either rename this file and get rid of the "-dist" part or create a new, blank configuration.php and upload it to the root folder of your Joomla installation. It also does not mention that you need to ensure the permissions of this file are set to 777. At least the instructions that I downloaded from the Joomla site didn't say these things.

To compound matter for me, when I ran the installation procedure for Joomla, the Pre-installation Checklist screen showed that my configuration.php file was writable. Seeing this, I figured everything was cool. It never occured to me that I didn't even have the file in question. It was only after reading an article at this web site http://webdongle.co.uk/joomla-faqs/64-n ... ailed.html provided to me by Webdongle that I knew to even look for this. After uploading a blank configuration.php/i] file and setting the permissions to 777, the installation went through without a hitch.

Incidentally, I was using the web-based installation method. I presume a lot of people use this method as it is far easier and less time consuming. The installation documentation really needs to be updated to show this much needed step. I'm guessing it will solve a lot of problems people have.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37173
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by Webdongle » Sun May 24, 2009 6:04 pm

@ Schadeboy

Basicaly, on shared Hosting, the FTP username/password gives Ownership rights to a program or script.

Because Joomla is treated as Public it is not allowed to create a configuration.php file. But if a configuration.php file (CHMOD 777) is already there then Joomla can edit it. The file must be empty otherwise Joomla thinks it is already installed.

Enabling the other features gives Joomla Ownership rights for the rest of the installation process.
http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?p ... 2#p1704492

When installing localy with (for eg.) Xampp and using localhost then Joomla has Ownership and the Installation becomes less complicated.

Why there is no blank cofiguration file in the Joomla package I do not know. You will need to contact the Developers for that one.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

Schadeboy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 10:13 pm

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by Schadeboy » Sun May 24, 2009 6:24 pm

Webdongle wrote:@ Schadeboy

Basicaly, on shared Hosting, the FTP username/password gives Ownership rights to a program or script.

Because Joomla is treated as Public it is not allowed to create a configuration.php file. But if a configuration.php file (CHMOD 777) is already there then Joomla can edit it. The file must be empty otherwise Joomla thinks it is already installed.

Enabling the other features gives Joomla Ownership rights for the rest of the installation process.
http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?p ... 2#p1704492

When installing localy with (for eg.) Xampp and using localhost then Joomla has Ownership and the Installation becomes less complicated.

Why there is no blank cofiguration file in the Joomla package I do not know. You will need to contact the Developers for that one.
I'm not sure if it matters here, but I thought I should say that the FTP configuration part happens after the database configuration. I couldn't even get past the database configuration in this case.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37173
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by Webdongle » Sun May 24, 2009 6:41 pm

Perhaps Joomla was getting confused because there was no configuration.php file. Or perhaps previous attempts at installing confused Joomla.

I am not fully sure why the install fails differently on different servers all i know that the method of installing that is in my FAQ works for me everytime on shared Hosting.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

presumined
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri May 22, 2009 2:44 am

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by presumined » Sun May 24, 2009 7:50 pm

Many thanks for your help Webdongle and Schadeboy - the config file was the answer.

stuffdone
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 11:06 pm
Location: NE Florida
Contact:

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by stuffdone » Tue May 26, 2009 3:44 pm

I decided to start a fresh install just to test things on a domain that will not be public. I can do what I want without bothering anyone.

This is where I run into trouble trying to do the "suggested" install with the FTP layer. It won't allow me. As I have stated several times I have never been able to use this feature. Here are the errors.

I halted installation until this step is solved so I can then check the other problems regarding extensions.

At the point of setting up the FTP layer I enter the correct FTP info, host, user, pass. I know it works because I copied/pasted directly from my files which match my FTP client and server. I first let it auto-find the root path which it does correctly then gives an error that the path is not the path to the Joomla installation and halts the setup. It IS THE CORRECT PATH !

I tried again with the FULL server path instead of the shorter version discovered by Joomla and then I get this error:
FTP settings are not valid or your FTP server is not compatible with Joomla. Could not access the specified directory.

I tried changing the default Host in advanced to the IP used by that domain and to "localhost" just for kicks. No help either way.

Since depending on the data entered I get totally different errors I first need to be sure I am entering correct information. I know the user, password and path are correct. I know what the IP and the host names are obviously, or I could not FTP to the server to upload the files in the first place. So Joomla appears to not want to work with the FTP layer.

Server is Redhat Linux ES. Apache, Plesk etc.

I am going to await a reply from someone smarter than I before I continue.

configuration.php is blank and writable. In prior installations I bypassed the FTP layer and let Joomla install and give me the config data to enter into the configuration file and all goes just fine until it is time to install 'some' extensions.
//

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37173
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by Webdongle » Tue May 26, 2009 8:54 pm

Who is your host and what package ? Does it have a database ?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

stuffdone
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 11:06 pm
Location: NE Florida
Contact:

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by stuffdone » Tue May 26, 2009 9:09 pm

Webdongle wrote:Who is your host and what package ? Does it have a database ?
I think I stated a couple of times ( not sure ) I lease a managed server from Rackspace. I did not think it was possible to use Joomla without a database :) *smile, of course!*

If the inquiry relates to the question of shared vs dedicated, on many domains I use shared and a single IP address for many.

On others where I may need a digital certificate or anon-ftp I dedicate a unique IP address to the domain not shared by others. The problems I have are the same regardless of shared or non-shared IP's. I run my own DNS.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37173
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by Webdongle » Tue May 26, 2009 9:15 pm

stuffdone wrote:
Webdongle wrote:Who is your host and what package ? Does it have a database ?
I think I stated a couple of times ( not sure ) I lease a managed server from Rackspace. I did not think it was possible to use Joomla without a database :) *smile, of course!*
That many post difficult to find Rackspace.

You would be suprised how many try and install without a database.


Have you checked your database is reachable ? have you double checked your database configuration ?

It has to be something simple.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

stuffdone
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 11:06 pm
Location: NE Florida
Contact:

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by stuffdone » Tue May 26, 2009 9:36 pm

Webdongle wrote:
stuffdone wrote:
Webdongle wrote:Who is your host and what package ? Does it have a database ?
I think I stated a couple of times ( not sure ) I lease a managed server from Rackspace. I did not think it was possible to use Joomla without a database :) *smile, of course!*
That many post difficult to find Rackspace.

You would be suprised how many try and install without a database.


Have you checked your database is reachable ? have you double checked your database configuration ?

It has to be something simple.
Not relevant to the problem. I had no trouble installing. Have a number of Joomla installations. My problems are about certain extensions not installing. also about the FTP layer not installing though I can often edit the config later to get it to work.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37173
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by Webdongle » Tue May 26, 2009 10:05 pm

This is a strange problem and appears to be somewhat 'irratic' in that some things work others do not.

Not being able to install with Joomla's FTP layer enabled does seem to suggest that Joomla is not being given full ownership rights. But being able to install some extensions indicates that Joomla is (at least on some occasions) being accepted as Owner.

That begs the question:
What configuration on the server is (occasionaly) denying Joomla Ownership of the folders ?

---------------------
Is it Linux ? Do you have command line access ? Would the chown() command help ?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

stuffdone
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 11:06 pm
Location: NE Florida
Contact:

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by stuffdone » Wed May 27, 2009 2:44 pm

Webdongle wrote:This is a strange problem and appears to be somewhat 'irratic' in that some things work others do not.

Not being able to install with Joomla's FTP layer enabled does seem to suggest that Joomla is not being given full ownership rights. But being able to install some extensions indicates that Joomla is (at least on some occasions) being accepted as Owner.

That begs the question:
What configuration on the server is (occasionaly) denying Joomla Ownership of the folders ?

---------------------
Is it Linux ? Do you have command line access ? Would the chown() command help ?
I do have command line access however I stay out of the command line because I don't know linux. I leave that up to Rackspace which is what I pay them for.

That said I have viewed ownership of the folders and conclude that on a few instances Apache appears to own some of the files. On the other hand, the new install I just did which exhibits the same errors with the same extensions is not the case. Ownership is the domain FTP account being used by Joomla. I am suspecting something different in the interaction between the Joomla and the actual extensions.

rogerL1
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 5:28 pm

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by rogerL1 » Fri May 29, 2009 1:12 pm

Just in case it might help someone, my version of the problem was diagnosed as :
"Status" on XAMPP said MySQL database is deactivated
"Security" on XAMPP said MySQL database is blocked by firewall

So I solved the problem by unblocking the firewall.

The only odd thing was that the firewall has always been there and it never blocked the install before. Anyway.

stuffdone
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 498
Joined: Tue Oct 28, 2008 11:06 pm
Location: NE Florida
Contact:

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by stuffdone » Fri May 29, 2009 2:25 pm

No firewall here. DB's work fine. Can't see how it would block one but not others anyway.
--- http://www.Stuffdone.com ---
Web Design and Hosting since 1995

xdaxdb
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:43 am

Re: Can proceed part Step 4 Of Installation (Database)

Post by xdaxdb » Fri Jun 07, 2013 6:48 am

I was having the same problem. In my case I was trying to wipe a site completely and start over.

First the solution: Delete all cookies, restart your browser. (make sure the site isn't still open in another browser like IE)

Not sure EXACTLY what the problem was but that fixed it for me. The problem was on the browser side not on the server.

I had recreated the database and db user multiple times and uploaded the installation files multiple times it was driving me nuts


Locked

Return to “Installation 1.5”