Installing One Joomla for multiple websites

Joomla version 1.5 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
mayodele
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Installing One Joomla for multiple websites

Post by mayodele » Fri Nov 20, 2009 9:43 am

I am not sure if I am making sense but please help me out if you understand what I am trying to do. Is it possible to install one Joomla CMS for multiple websites using different Joomla designed templates but using the same components, modules, content and plug-in.

Example, if you go to Yahoo.com and its sub domains, all the components like login, news portal, the user login, the forum etc... for www.yahoo.com and groups.yahoo.com and travels.yahoo.com, finance.yahoo.com are all linked together. Although you have go to www.yahoo.com but mine is a little bit different because you have to point your web browser to different website name.

This is the scenario; I have 5 registered websites i.e. www.baby.com, www.music.com, www.fashion.com, www.movies.com and www.allwebsites.com. I want to install Joomla on www.allwebsites.com but with multiple templates so that when users point their browser to www.baby.com, it will redirect them to baby.allwebsites.com using the template that I have pre designed for the baby websites.

Now these are the million dollar questions a. What is the best way to achieve this?

What I am thinking is to create a sub-folder under www.allwebsites.com, install Joomla cms with multiple templates on the www.allwebsites.com, create my entire category for each websites and point each category to different template. Set a redirection on www.baby.com to point to baby.allwebsites.com or