Installing joomla with Xampp

Joomla version 1.5 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
Durandal
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:51 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by Durandal » Sat Jun 25, 2011 6:54 pm

Just downloaded and unsipped xampp-win32-1.7.4-VC6 to c:\xampp

Unzipped my Joomla 1.5 (last stable release) thus

c:\xampp\joomla1_5

I've seen a myriad of sites telling me how simple it is to install joomla - but when I enter my database details I keep getting 'Unable to connect to the database:Could not connect to MySQL'

I've followed the instructions of upteen sites and keep getting this error. Is this because I'm using the latest version of xampp? Would I be better of finding an earlier version?

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
2ninerniner2
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3231
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:05 am
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by 2ninerniner2 » Sat Jun 25, 2011 7:00 pm

Howdy,

Here's a snippet from another post of mine on the matter:

Below are the values for an install on your own computer using the various "local servers":

Windows

1) XAMPP

Hostname: localhost
User: root
Password: <empty> DO NOT ENTER ANYTHING HERE!
DB name: whatever_you_want (lower case, NO spaces) <on a local install ONLY, the Joomla! installer will create the database for you; no need to do it first as you would need to do on a remote host>

2) WAMPServer

Hostname: localhost
User: root
Password: <empty> DO NOT ENTER ANYTHING HERE!
DB name: whatever_you_want (lower case, NO spaces) <on a local install ONLY, the Joomla! installer will create the database for you; no need to do it first as you would need to do on a remote host>

3) The Uniform Server (latest version, 7.0.9 Orion)

Hostname: localhost
User: root
Password: root123
DB name: whatever_you_want (lower case, NO spaces) <on a local install ONLY, the Joomla! installer will create the database for you; no need to do it first as you would need to do on a remote host>

Mac OS

1) XAMPP

Hostname: localhost
User: root
Password: <empty> DO NOT ENTER ANYTHING HERE!
DB name: whatever_you_want (lower case, NO spaces) <on a local install ONLY, the Joomla! installer will create the database for you; no need to do it first as you would need to do on a remote host>

2) MAMP

Hostname: localhost
User: root
Password: root
DB name: whatever_you_want (lower case, NO spaces) <on a local install ONLY, the Joomla! installer will create the database for you; no need to do it first as you would need to do on a remote host>

Cheers!
Lyle
@snifflevalve

Durandal
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:51 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by Durandal » Sun Jun 26, 2011 4:18 pm

Wow Lyle - thanks for your very useful resly :)

Further to posting, I tried the latest version of joomla (1.6.3) and did get this xampp using the same info which was problematic with my version 1.5 install. Not sure why that should be.

My preference was for version 1.5 - because of the level of support and plugins/themes etc.. But now I've got 1.6.3 on xampp I also installed the latest version on my web host.

The install process generated the following pre-install alerts:

Display Errors (currently On) -- recommended Off

Output Buffering (currently On) -- recommended Off

I contacted my web host and they said I should add the following lines to my htaccess file in the root of my public_html folder:

php_value output_buffering Off
php_flag display_errors off

On viewing my htaccess file I see it is full of text with hash symbols at the beginning of each line, and my web host is unclear as to how I should add these new lines - that is, should they too have hash symbols at the beginning - or can I just add these two lines to the bottom of the text (on new, separate lines?)

Further assistance with the above appreciated.

Note: is forum etiquette such that I should be writing this new request under a new topic?

Also, is it better to get a joomla specific (specialised) web host?

Thanks again in advance.

User avatar
brian
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 11727
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:19 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by brian » Sun Jun 26, 2011 4:21 pm

a hash symbol at the beginning of a line in htaccess indicates that the line is a comment or not in use. I'd be EXTREMELY worried about the skill and knowledge of any host that does not know something as basic as that
"Exploited yesterday... Hacked tomorrow"
Blog http://brian.teeman.net/
Joomla Hidden Secrets http://hiddenjoomlasecrets.com/

Durandal
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:51 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by Durandal » Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:32 pm

brian wrote:a hash symbol at the beginning of a line in htaccess indicates that the line is a comment or not in use. I'd be EXTREMELY worried about the skill and knowledge of any host that does not know something as basic as that
So, do you know how these two new lines should be entered at the bottom of my htaccess file?

With or without hash symbols - with one hash symbol or two?

Please could you type the text that I should enter into my htaccess file - so that I can copy and paste it. My host says it can be entered at the bottom of the existing text.

I agree with you - in that my host does seem ot offer simplistic advice - and ignore repeated requests for greater detail. Not an encouraging sign.

So, perhaps I should consider a joomla specialised host after all - any recommendations?

Thanks - Durandal

User avatar
brian
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 11727
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:19 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by brian » Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:36 pm

a hash symbol at the beginning of a line means that the line is NOT used. ANY host should know this. This is hosting 101 and nothing specific to joomla
"Exploited yesterday... Hacked tomorrow"
Blog http://brian.teeman.net/
Joomla Hidden Secrets http://hiddenjoomlasecrets.com/

Durandal
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:51 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by Durandal » Mon Jun 27, 2011 5:45 pm

brian wrote:a hash symbol at the beginning of a line means that the line is NOT used. ANY host should know this. This is hosting 101 and nothing specific to joomla
What is hosting 101 - a web host company you recommend?

So if I just copied and pasted the lines of text without hash symbols - this would be correct - because you don't want joomla to ignore it? In this case my web host's original direction to just add the lines at the bottom of the htaccess file is correct?

I've just informed them that I won't be renewing my subscription - but maybe that is a bit unfair/rash. I think techie support types don't always elaborate meaningfully - so they have omitted to comment on the significance of hash symbols because they saw it as irrelevant in this case?

Durandal :-\

User avatar
brian
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 11727
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:19 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by brian » Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:04 pm

Sorry I meant that "hosting 101" is something incredibly basic for a host to know.
"Exploited yesterday... Hacked tomorrow"
Blog http://brian.teeman.net/
Joomla Hidden Secrets http://hiddenjoomlasecrets.com/

Durandal
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:51 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by Durandal » Mon Jun 27, 2011 9:52 pm

brian wrote:Sorry I meant that "hosting 101" is something incredibly basic for a host to know.
Is 'hosting 101' a generic term - I've found multiple results in google - pointing to different things. You're comment lends me to think that it's a kind of guide to web hosting every web host should already know - is my interpretation correct? :-[

Choosing the right host can be a tricky business!

User avatar
brian
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 11727
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:19 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by brian » Mon Jun 27, 2011 10:17 pm

in the USA a beginners course in any subject is called a 101 so yes I meant it as a generic expression to mean absolute beginners stuff for a web host
"Exploited yesterday... Hacked tomorrow"
Blog http://brian.teeman.net/
Joomla Hidden Secrets http://hiddenjoomlasecrets.com/

Durandal
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:51 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by Durandal » Mon Jun 27, 2011 10:47 pm

brian wrote:in the USA a beginners course in any subject is called a 101 so yes I meant it as a generic expression to mean absolute beginners stuff for a web host
Thanks - I didn't know that. To me, 101 was 'that' room in the novel 1984 ;)

Searching for web host 101 was useful and has convinced me of the need to do some extensive research before jumping into another web host plan. Lots to consider, I'm going to compile a list of questions, narrow down to 4/5 possible hosts and aim my questions at them.

Their responses should enable me to gauge the right one.

If you're up for one more question:

Most threads on the forum seem to veer more to local development and testing before uploading your joomla site to your host. I understand that logic. But given my current level of knowledge and expertise in matters joomla and db driven web sites (absolute beginner) - I had envisaged trying something locally, and then duplicating a given edit remotely - so I could develop as I go.

Because I'm used to using Dreamweaver - this is how I am used to working. The idea of doing everything locally and only uploading remotely, when the site is finished - doesn't feel natural to me. Is my develop as you go idea possible - or do you recommend that I trust that if it works in Xampp, it will work remotely - when the site is complete?

Durandal
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:51 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by Durandal » Wed Jun 29, 2011 9:22 pm

2ninerniner2 wrote:Howdy,

Here's a snippet from another post of mine on the matter:

Below are the values for an install on your own computer using the various "local servers":

Windows

1) XAMPP

Hostname: localhost
User: root
Password: <empty> DO NOT ENTER ANYTHING HERE!
DB name: whatever_you_want (lower case, NO spaces) <on a local install ONLY, the Joomla! installer will create the database for you; no need to do it first as you would need to do on a remote host>

Cheers!
Lyle
Actually Lyle - not I've come to reinstall both xampp and joomla to ensure my settings are okay - I don't understand you post! Your instructions seem to be telling me how to create the database, but then you go on to say there's no need to do it as joomla will do it for me.

Seems a little contradictory for me - can you clarify. Do I need to set up a database and name it and create necessary settings on a local host before installing joomla - or are you saying joomla does this for me? If, so - how? Joomla install seems to ask for all relevant db info - I don't recall it prefilling anything in.

Sorry if I sound like a numpty - but I want to ensure my local host install is 100% sweet before even beginning to play with joomla.

Durandal

User avatar
2ninerniner2
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3231
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:05 am
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by 2ninerniner2 » Wed Jun 29, 2011 11:20 pm

With any of the other PHP/MySQL type web apps such as WordPress, Drupal, etc. one DOES in fact have to use phpMyAdmin in advance to create the new, empty database (DB) into which the above noted apps will populate during the installation process.

Joomla! is unique in this regard ON A LOCAL (example, XAMPP, etc.) INSTALLATION ONLY! One does NOT have to do this FIRST! It happens AFTER YOU CLICK NEXT on Step 4 of the Joomla! installer (that is, going from Step 4 to Step 5! :D)

At Step 4, you enter the values as I noted:

Hostname: localhost
User: root
Password: <empty!!!! don't put ANYTHING IN THIS BOX!>
DB Name: whatever YOU want! (lower case, NO SPACES)

REMEMBER!!!! THESE VALUES ARE FOR THE DATABASE AND NOT THE JOOMLA! ADMIN ACCESS - THAT IS DONE AT STEP 6 !!! YOU DO NOT GET TO CHOOSE THE USER AND PASSWORD AT STEP 4!!! IT IS DEPENDENT UPON WHICH LOCAL SERVER YOU ARE USING!!!

When you click NEXT (to go to Step 5) the J! installer will create the database and then populate it as needed; nothing else for you to do! :)

I believe I cannot make it any clearer :)
@snifflevalve

Durandal
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:51 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by Durandal » Thu Jun 30, 2011 2:02 pm

2ninerniner2 wrote:With any of the other PHP/MySQL type web apps such as WordPress, Drupal, etc. one DOES in fact have to use phpMyAdmin in advance to create the new, empty database (DB) into which the above noted apps will populate during the installation process.

Joomla! is unique in this regard ON A LOCAL (example, XAMPP, etc.) INSTALLATION ONLY! One does NOT have to do this FIRST! It happens AFTER YOU CLICK NEXT on Step 4 of the Joomla! installer (that is, going from Step 4 to Step 5! :D)

At Step 4, you enter the values as I noted:

Hostname: localhost
User: root
Password: <empty!!!! don't put ANYTHING IN THIS BOX!>
DB Name: whatever YOU want! (lower case, NO SPACES)

REMEMBER!!!! THESE VALUES ARE FOR THE DATABASE AND NOT THE JOOMLA! ADMIN ACCESS - THAT IS DONE AT STEP 6 !!! YOU DO NOT GET TO CHOOSE THE USER AND PASSWORD AT STEP 4!!! IT IS DEPENDENT UPON WHICH LOCAL SERVER YOU ARE USING!!!

When you click NEXT (to go to Step 5) the J! installer will create the database and then populate it as needed; nothing else for you to do! :)

I believe I cannot make it any clearer :)
Hi Lyle - no indeed, clear enough. Personally, I think you can lose this 'YOU DO NOT GET TO CHOOSE THE USER AND PASSWORD AT STEP 4!!! IT IS DEPENDENT UPON WHICH LOCAL SERVER YOU ARE USING!!!' I'm using Xampp - so I don't need to know it could be different for a differnet local server.

Anyway, the above statement is so clear, I'm wondering where my confusion now was in the earlier one :-[

But this is why I find open source and forum related support a bit daunting. I think if you don't undertand something - you should be able to say so. I had a similar problem with my now ex web host - who were unable to clarify their instructions.

I think in such situations, my character is such as to not request further help for fear of sounding 'stupid'. But that's natural - when newbies and people with expertise get together. What seems easy and natural to an expert, can be daunting to a newbie.

Anyway, I'm happy with your response but I imagine some may not have been so friendly, patient and understanding :eek: Maybe I'm wrong - here at least. But I've read posts on other forums which could demolish the confidence of the OP.

I got my joomla install on last night - when I had unnecessarily created the mysql dababases. I'm going to delete it all once more - determined to do it the way you suggest. Seems odd not having to setup the database to me (counter intuitive) - but I do get wny it isn't necessary.

Xampp oddities - having unzipped my xampp folder (don't use the installer version) - clicking on myphpadmin resulted in an error 'couldn't connect to the db'. Without doing anything! Google results were awash with this error. So, deleted the whole directory and unzipped again.

Next time - clicking on phpmyadmin worked. Go figure! They say computers are logical and never make mistakes - but that makes no sense to me. (Both times I had started Apache Server and Mysql).

Durandal :D

Durandal
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:51 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by Durandal » Thu Jun 30, 2011 5:50 pm

Hi Lyle

Followed your instructions to the 'T' and we're up and running.

Okay, was before - but if info isn't necessary it ain't necessary. So ditch my previous Xampp with pre-configured mysql db.

Time to explore, dissect and wonder ...!

Thanks very much for your assistance :eek:

Durandal

User avatar
2ninerniner2
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3231
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:05 am
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by 2ninerniner2 » Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:55 pm

:D Glad to hear that you got it up and running and now are getting into the really "juicy stuff" ... exploring Joomla! :)

I agree that I should not have added the extra info .. reading back I can see how it could confuse :)

I won't offer too much more so as not to overwhelm you at this stage, but just so you know, now that you have your local server set up, you can add to it as many installations as your hard drive had room for :) ... and they do not all have to be Joomla! :) You can put in any of the other systems that use this set up, for example WordPress, Drupal, Prestashop (an e-commerce app), etc.

And one does not have to limit oneself to one local server :) On my own computer, I have XAMPP, The Uniform Server (my fave) and WAMPServer in my Windows 7 virtual machine and MAMP and XAMPP natively on the Mac OS. I have the main ones installed so that I can see how they work and hopefully be able to answer questions related to them :)

All the best in your Joomla! journey and please, do not hesitate to post if you run into trouble :D

Cheers!
Lyle
@snifflevalve

Durandal
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:51 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by Durandal » Sat Jul 02, 2011 2:24 pm

2ninerniner2 wrote::D Glad to hear that you got it up and running and now are getting into the really "juicy stuff" ... exploring Joomla! :)

I agree that I should not have added the extra info .. reading back I can see how it could confuse :)

I won't offer too much more so as not to overwhelm you at this stage, but just so you know, now that you have your local server set up, you can add to it as many installations as your hard drive had room for :) ... and they do not all have to be Joomla! :) You can put in any of the other systems that use this set up, for example WordPress, Drupal, Prestashop (an e-commerce app), etc.

And one does not have to limit oneself to one local server :) On my own computer, I have XAMPP, The Uniform Server (my fave) and WAMPServer in my Windows 7 virtual machine and MAMP and XAMPP natively on the Mac OS. I have the main ones installed so that I can see how they work and hopefully be able to answer questions related to them :)

All the best in your Joomla! journey and please, do not hesitate to post if you run into trouble :D

Cheers!
Lyle
Hi Lyle

This is a great post - friendly and inspirational/motivational.

I am beginning to see how localhost solutions really do offer outstanding flexability - kinda like virtual machines for the server world.

As my confidence grows with Xampp/Joomla - I'm sure I will want to try out other localhost and cms solutions ... sounds like you're on your way to becoming an all-round wizard.

I was wondering ... :geek: is it possible to move your unzipped (not installer) version of xampp around - from computer to computer, drive partition to drive partition - and it won't affect your work in any way? I initially installed in C:\ but noted free space is getting tight. Can I just copy the whole folder over to my E:\ partition without anything being affected?

Also, I notice the joomla documentation seems to predominantly relate to Joomla 1.5 - so I'm going to install v. 1.5 in my xampp folder also. I am assuming it's possible to have both versions of joomla (in very separate folders) installed at the same time. Might be a bit confusing to have them running concurrently?

Anyway Lyle - I like your style :D

Would be ace if we could all aspire to offer such constructive and friendly advice on all forums.

Durandal (Dave) 8)

Further to posting:

The trouble is this - the joomla docs relate primarily to version 1.5 - many tutorials to the rhuk_milkyway default template. Installing joomla 1.5 without first creating the db - doesn't work. Even after creating the db in phpmyadmin the installer falls over at the 'install sample data' stage (crucial if I want to follow newbie tutorials?) - giving the error: 'Error: the XML response that was returned from the server is invalid.'

This was joomla 1.5.23 as downloaded from joomla web site.

So, 1.6 is no problem to install - but joomla docs relate to 1.5 - therefore I must try to get 1.5 with sample data on my xampp install. Any ideas?

User avatar
2ninerniner2
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3231
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:05 am
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by 2ninerniner2 » Sun Jul 03, 2011 7:52 pm

I noticed on your original post that you installed XAMPP 1.7.4, which of course is their latest. However, from what I have read elsewhere on this forum, there is your specific issue with this XAMPP version (something about the version of PHP that it uses) and J! 1.5.23. What was recommended was to "downgrade" to version 1.7.3 (which, BTW, is what I am running currently for XAMPP).

That said, perhaps try my favourite local server, The Uniform Server

http://www.uniformserver.com/

The reason I like this one is that it is completely self-contained and does not "install" anything on your system; no "registry dust" :)

I just installed their very latest, Orion_7_1_0 and installed into it the latest J! 1.6.4 and also J! 1.5.23 ... both no problems whatsoever :)
@snifflevalve

Durandal
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:51 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by Durandal » Sun Jul 03, 2011 11:39 pm

Hi Lyle

very useful info, thanks.

The plot thickens as they say ...

I downloaded and unzipped xampp 1.7.3 - sample data installed successfully this time!

However, when I view the site there is this error message (everywhere):

Warning: date() [function.date]: It is not safe to rely on the system's timezone settings. You are *required* to use the date.timezone setting or the date_default_timezone_set() function. In case you used any of those methods and you are still getting this warning, you most likely misspelled the timezone identifier. We selected 'Europe/London' for '1.0/DST' instead in E:\xampp\htdocs\joomla15\libraries\joomla\utilities\date.php on line 198

It's on every page - many, many times! Headache.

Anyway of getting rid of it?

I also downloaded your uniserver Orion - when I start all the services (top menu from right-click of system tray icon), then IE opened a new browser window: http://localhost/index.php and I get the standard 'Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage' error - which is odd, since even if my internet connection was down (it isn't) - that is a local page.

I stopped all the services - and then started apache and mysql separately (Individual Server Control option) - same result. Seems odd not to be able to display the local index file. Any ideas?

I just want to get going with Joomla - is it usual to have 'teething' problems - before you actually get round to doing anything?!

Not quite ready to surrender just yet though ... ;)

Durandal

Appendum: could the Orion error be because I have xampp on my hard drive also? I did stop the xampp apache and mysql servers, before running Orion. Pre-check said ports were available to use. Also, if I do get Orion working - where do I install the joomla directory - didn't notice htdocs in the root directory - like in xampp.

User avatar
2ninerniner2
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3231
Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 8:05 am
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contact:

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by 2ninerniner2 » Sun Jul 03, 2011 11:56 pm

I must have the Joomla!, WordPress, Drupal, Prestashop, Moodle "gene" ... no issues in getting things going! :)

1) time zone issue: which 1.5 version are you installing? This was an issue a version or two back; the most current is 1.5.23

Have a look through this forum post, especially the one about the "too long" of an underscore.

http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?p ... 4#p2075944

2) UniServer:

If you are seeing the system tray and menu items within, then that means it's installed correctly and you double clicked the UniServer 'start.exe'. However, you LEFT click the tray icon so that the top menu item says 'Start UniServer (Apache MySQL) ... RIGHT clicking brings up a different menu :) ... that is for Installing and Running as Services (which you do not need to do). Additionally, IE may have issues with letting these "unknown servers" from starting; depends upon how strict you have your security set; on a new install of TUS, I have to explicitly tell Windows to let these run (2 dialogs come up, one each for Apache and MySQL). Check your settings, or better yet, get and set Firefox or Chrome as your default browser! I ONLY use IE for testing compatibility :)
@snifflevalve

Durandal
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Sep 03, 2010 11:51 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by Durandal » Mon Jul 04, 2011 3:00 am

Hi Lyle

The double unscore was the problem - seems odd that such a basic error in one of joomla set up files should be present in the last stable version of joomla 1.5 - go figure. Anyway - deleted the unnecessary 2nd underscore - problem fixed.

I can now finally play with joomla 1.5 and 1.6 on xampp.

Re: Orion - I meant to say I was left-clicking, not right clicking. It has quite an elegant interface - but my head is spinning from just trying to get going - so will leave Orion for now. As a matter of interest - what is TUS?

Tried Orion with firefox and got the same problem. I only use IE when I have to also - bloatware. I can't believe IE9 is as big a slouch as IE8!

Okay - thank you so much for your help - this one thread proves that even when other things don't work - the forum support concept certainly does work.

Time to play with joomla and see what all the fuss is about ;)

BTW Send some genies my way to evict the gremlins :)

'Til the next problem ...

Durandal

p.s. just found out what 'moodle' means: 'Modular Object-Oriented Dynamic Learning Environment'. And just realised you said gene not genie! I'm guessing TUS means The UniServer - don't think it's my security settings - starting the services didn't give warnings.

Okay Lyle - ta once more - it's working on Xampp and that'll do for me :)

latha
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 6:53 am

Re: Installing joomla with Xampp

Post by latha » Mon Nov 21, 2016 8:51 am

i am used to install like this after complete all the steps i give next it shows create tables and install sample data base this take half day now itself also it's run like this... how to solve this? :( any one reply me as soon as possible


Locked

Return to “Installation 1.5”