Links in top menu don't work after moving to new server

Need help installing Joomla! 1.5? For all Joomla! 1.5 installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
Miss Swan
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 9:50 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Links in top menu don't work after moving to new server

Post by Miss Swan » Fri Apr 13, 2012 12:51 pm

Before moving the adress was like this:
http://www.domain.com/index.php?option= ... &Itemid=46
At the moment i run the page as a subdomain, on the samt kind of server we are going to move this domain too, just to check that everything will work before we close the old one.
After moving the adress is like this (same top menu link as over):
http://www.domain.no/subdomain/link.html ("link" is name of the article).
and the message: 404 Not Found The requested URL /subdomain/link.html was not found on this server.

Is there som way I easily can fix this or do I have to change each link manually?

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24617
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Links in top menu don't work after moving to new server

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Fri Apr 13, 2012 4:12 pm

I believe you have enabled SEO in Global Configuration without renaming htaccess.txt to .htaccess.

http://www.scribd.com/doc/2300167/Jooml ... t-SEF-URLs

Miss Swan
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 9:50 am
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: Links in top menu don't work after moving to new server

Post by Miss Swan » Fri Apr 13, 2012 4:45 pm

Thank you very much, that was the exact problem.
I renamed htaccess.txt to .htaccess and everything works fine! :D

technowords
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 14, 2012 7:48 am
Location: India
Contact:

Re: Links in top menu don't work after moving to new server

Post by technowords » Sat Apr 14, 2012 8:06 am

Check Navigation menu settings, It will Solve Problem

hiamnputo
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 11:41 am

Re: Links in top menu don't work after moving to new server

Post by hiamnputo » Mon Nov 02, 2015 11:43 am

It totally worked!!! I also renamed htaccess.txt to .htaccess and everything works perfectly! Thanks a lot buddy, +10!


Post Reply

Return to “Installation 1.5”