Can I retrieve old website without a database copy?

Joomla version 1.5 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
slammer
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Can I retrieve old website without a database copy?

Post by slammer » Tue Dec 24, 2013 9:54 am

I apologize in advance for the retardedness of the following question, but I'm a relative neewbie and have no clue what phrases to use in search of an answer.

So here goes: I had Joomla (1.5) running for an old website. The website doesn't exist anymore, and I no longer have access to the domain. Is it possible to retrieve the old website without the database? I have a backup of all other files, but not of the database :-[

I don't need the specific content, am just interested in some css- and php- customizations I did. I would like to make some screenshots of how it looked and I added a custom contactform, which I'd like to have a look at.

Is there any way for me to get some stuff back?

Thank!
Last edited by slammer on Tue Dec 24, 2013 9:56 am, edited 1 time in total.

imanickam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Can I retrieve old website without a database copy?

Post by imanickam » Tue Dec 24, 2013 9:56 am

Unfortunately it cannot be done as the meta data and the content (user data) are stored in the database.
Ilagnayeru (MIG) Manickam | இளஞாயிறு மாணிக்கம்
Joomla! - Global Moderators Team | Joomla! Core - Tamil (தமிழ்) Translation Team Coordinator
Former Joomla! Translations Coordination Team Lead
Eegan - Support the poor and underprivileged

slammer
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Post by slammer » Tue Dec 24, 2013 9:58 am

Thanks imanickam for the quick respons.