Joomla won't run but joomla administrator fine

Joomla version 1.5 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
jakorsme
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joomla won't run but joomla administrator fine

Post by jakorsme » Wed May 27, 2015 3:24 am

I moved my Joomla 1.5 website to a new server (no - I can't upgrade to a newer version of Joomla for this website yet).

The joomla administrator works just fine - accesses the new db just fine and everything - all normal.
But, trying to run joomla by running index.php (or by just going to the domain and letting apache run the index.php) results in no data being returned (no html displayed at all).
There are no errors in the apache error_log. Just nothing returned. I've tried removing .htaccess and same result (no html returned at all).

I know php and apache are fine, or administrator wouldn't work. This makes no sense.

toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Joomla won't run but joomla administrator fine

Post by toivo » Wed May 27, 2015 11:00 am

There are no errors in the apache error_log. Just nothing returned.
That depends on the setting of the variable error_reporting in php.ini. You can overwrite this setting by adding the following two lines to be beginning of the file index.php in the main Joomla folder:

Code: Select all

ini_set('display_errors', true);
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~(E_STRICT | E_DEPRECATED | E_NOTICE | E_WARNING));
Edit the file configuration.php and change the error reporting setting to match the above:

Code: Select all

var $error_reporting = '22517';
You should now see the error messages in the browser.
I know php and apache are fine, or administrator wouldn't work. This makes no sense.