Uplocading localhost Joomla Site to GoDaddy

Joomla version 1.5 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
passionatelypr
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Uplocading localhost Joomla Site to GoDaddy

Post by passionatelypr » Thu Jul 21, 2011 4:02 am

Worked on this for 3 days. Through much trial and error this is the full directions. If you have any questions feel free to email me at [*** Mod Note: Removed URL ***].

UPLOADING LOCAL SERVER TO GODADDY

1. Download Godaddy Joomla database in GoDaddy applications to your host site.
2. FTP all Joomla localhost files from localhost folder to godaddy domain
Copy Files and Directories of Your Local Joomla Directory to the Remote Host
You have two methods:
1.Upload all files by FTP or
2.Upload only a compressed file by FTP

Copy the Contents of Your Local MySQL Database to the Host MySQL Database
In Joomla!, all the contents of the site (articles, menus, users, and so on) are stored in the MySql database. You need to copy this information to the host database. This is done by creating an export file on your local system and then importing this file into your host MySQL database, as follows:
1.Open phpMyAdmin on your local system by navigating to it's URL with your browser. On your local system, this URL will normally be "//localhost/phpmyadmin". Note: If you have a password on your database, you will be prompted for it.

2.The phpMyAdmin screen will display. Select the Export link.

3.Select the database you want to export in the upper right-hand list. In the example below, the database "joomla15" is selected. Keep all of the default options, including "SQL" as the export type.