upgrading joomla 1.5.20 to 1.5.26

Joomla version 1.5 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
sigull
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:30 am

upgrading joomla 1.5.20 to 1.5.26

Post by sigull » Wed Mar 28, 2012 9:00 pm

How do I do it? there is no patch here -> http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... ge_id=6311

I am using a custom template, and am a little scared to upgrade, but the latest Joomla Security News makes me want to upgrade - but I am unsure how to do it and what patch or version to use.

I hope you can help? :'(

 
User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 22433
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: upgrading joomla 1.5.20 to 1.5.26

Post by pe7er » Wed Mar 28, 2012 9:30 pm

1. back-up the current website (e.g. with Akeeba back-up of XCloner) & download back-up to your PC (safety measure)
2. download a full Joomla 1.5.26 package + unzip on your local PC
3. upload all files, except the /installation/ directory to your webserver, overwriting all current Joomla core files.

because you keep your configuration.php + your custom template (which I hope is in its unique directory) your site will keep working...
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Co-developer of d2 Content https://data2site.com/joomla-extensions/d2-content

sigull
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2011 7:30 am

Re: upgrading joomla 1.5.20 to 1.5.26

Post by sigull » Wed Mar 28, 2012 9:53 pm

thanks, I'll give it a go

SOULKING
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 7:35 pm

Re: upgrading joomla 1.5.20 to 1.5.26

Post by SOULKING » Fri Mar 30, 2012 7:47 pm

Hi

I need urgent help on updating my JOOMLA 1.5.25 to latest version. I have a customized template with a virtue mart (contents also in virtue mart) and have to avoid, that all my contents and images will be lost after update.

Also need support on how to do a backup of my actual version to safe all the contents and images and not having them lost after updating.

Anybody help?

Thanks

User avatar
Obir
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 45
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 4:10 pm
Location: Honolulu, HI
Contact:

Re: upgrading joomla 1.5.20 to 1.5.26

Post by Obir » Fri Apr 13, 2012 5:27 am

I just upgraded 1.5.20 to 1.5.26 with ease. First backup db and anything else you really need in case things go haywire. Using FileZilla I downloaded the ]Joomla_1.5.0_to_1.5.26-Stable-Patch_Package.zip files http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/joomla ... tion=index. Then pointed the home directory in FileZilla to the newly downloaded patch files. Selected all the files from the downloaded files and drug all of them to my home directory. I checked Overwrite if files are newer. Went to grab a snack. When I came back it was complete with no errors. I cleared my web cache went to the website and it was up. Logged into the backend of my site and saw 1.5.26.

Now I'm going from 1/5/26 to 2.5.0. I recommend that you keep test sites up and running for things like this. I get to test fast and efficient ways of upgrading and adding new features without the pressure of trying it on a live client site.

Kampai!!!

SOULKING
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2012 7:35 pm

Re: upgrading joomla 1.5.20 to 1.5.26

Post by SOULKING » Sat Apr 21, 2012 8:40 am

Thanks OBIR

But i am not an advanced user and have no clue about how and where to back up and how this needs to be done.
Can you explain how to do?

1. What do i need to back up and how this needs to be done?

I never made something like this before and want to avoid that i loose any files or do any mistake and damage my site.

I am thankfully for any support on how to do an update step by step.

Thanks

User avatar
daverii
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Mar 06, 2009 4:20 pm
Location: Switzerland, UK & France
Contact:

Re: upgrading joomla 1.5.20 to 1.5.26

Post by daverii » Sat Apr 21, 2012 8:46 am

This is the link to the Akeeba entry in the JED

http://[no tiny url]/Jm9Dmg

Their backup will guide you through the process and there is extensive documentation. You may find it too extensive :)

The rule is like American elections

Vote early, vote often.

But here

Backup early, backup often.
Tony Davis

Wengen, Switzerland

dufferdev
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2007 3:49 pm

Re: upgrading joomla 1.5.20 to 1.5.26

Post by dufferdev » Sat Mar 09, 2013 6:37 am

Thanks a lot pe7er it worked :)

roland123
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 3:39 pm

Re: upgrading joomla 1.5.20 to 1.5.26

Post by roland123 » Thu Mar 14, 2013 9:51 am

Hi Pe7er,

With reference to your post on 28/3/12 updating my Joomlo from 1.5.15 to 2.5.9 of all the files execept the index.php file and the following appears on my web page:

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/16/d319307723/htdocs/cavallewaterscom/libraries/joomla/access/access.php on line 409

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/16/d319307723/htdocs/cavallewaterscom/libraries/joomla/plugin/helper.php on line 59

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/16/d319307723/htdocs/cavallewaterscom/libraries/joomla/plugin/helper.php on line 59

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/16/d319307723/htdocs/cavallewaterscom/libraries/joomla/application/menu.php on line 63

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /homepages/16/d319307723/htdocs/cavallewaterscom/includes/application.php on line 465

Fatal error: Call to a member function get() on a non-object in /homepages/16/d319307723/htdocs/cavallewaterscom/templates/beez_20/error.php on line 10

and on my administration page:

Fatal error: Call to a member function get() on a non-object in /homepages/16/d319307723/htdocs/cavallewaterscom/libraries/joomla/user/user.php on line 288

Please can you help me as I do not know what to do.

Best regards,

Roland

rayobrien
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 8:41 pm

Re: upgrading joomla 1.5.20 to 1.5.26

Post by rayobrien » Sun Mar 24, 2013 8:46 pm

Hi, I recently had to migrate a joomla 1.5 site to the latest release as the old site had being attacked.

The migration worked fine but i am having trouble making configuration changes such as enabling installed extensions, global configuration changes, etc. When i click make the change or click the enable buttons nothing happens.

I have checked my ftp settings and they all seem right.

Anyone have any ideas?

User avatar
dpacadmin
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 6029
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:46 pm
Location: the Bat Cave
Contact:

Re: upgrading joomla 1.5.20 to 1.5.26

Post by dpacadmin » Mon Mar 25, 2013 12:46 am

Try running the Forum Post Assistant on your site to see if it finds any issues. Did you check that your server meets the minimum requirements for the Joomla version you are now using?

rayobrien
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Mar 24, 2013 8:41 pm

Re: upgrading joomla 1.5.20 to 1.5.26

Post by rayobrien » Mon Mar 25, 2013 10:10 am

do i post the contents of the forum assistant here?

User avatar
dpacadmin
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 6029
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:46 pm
Location: the Bat Cave
Contact:

Re: upgrading joomla 1.5.20 to 1.5.26

Post by dpacadmin » Mon Mar 25, 2013 8:48 pm

Yes if you are unclear about something you can copy and paste your results in a post.

fniada
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jun 29, 2013 4:20 pm

Re: upgrading joomla 1.5.20 to 1.5.26

Post by fniada » Sat Jun 29, 2013 4:23 pm

Guys,

I made the backup of my site and database.
I currently have 1.5.21 and I uploaded all the files contained in the zip package to my site.
After uploading everything, checked that the site is working properly I went to the administrator page and the site is still as 1.5.21 (not upgraded).
I checked to replace all the files when uploading and all the files were uploaded...

Any hint/help to solve this?

Thanks!

flashpointmm
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 147
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 11:10 pm
Location: Australia

Re: upgrading joomla 1.5.20 to 1.5.26

Post by flashpointmm » Wed Dec 04, 2013 11:32 pm

I'm wanting to upgrade a 1.5.20 site to 1.5.26 and am unsure about the instructions given. If I upload all the unzipped files and directories from 1.5.26 to my server, wont that delete the existing components, images etc. when the relevant folders are overwritten?

Shouldn't I be more selective with what files I upload?

User avatar
dpacadmin
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 6029
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:46 pm
Location: the Bat Cave
Contact:

Re: upgrading joomla 1.5.20 to 1.5.26

Post by dpacadmin » Thu Dec 05, 2013 6:43 pm

This will not affect installed extensions or images, files are updated but folders are not replaced.

You may have issues if you have modified Joomla core files as those modified files may be replaced. You may also have issues if you have old versions of your extension installed which are not compatible with the latest version of Joomla 1.5.

This is why it is so critical to always do a backup of your site before doing an upgrade, files and database. The Akeeba Backup extension is good for this. It is also recommended to do the upgrade on a local copy of your site first to test for issues before updating your live site. You would need a local server, like Wampserver or XAMPP, and a copy of your site to install locally.

angela100
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 7:56 pm

Re: upgrading joomla 1.5.20 to 1.5.26

Post by angela100 » Fri Mar 07, 2014 11:33 pm

this worked flawlessly (after I did it a second time and this time remembered to check REPLACE DUPLICATES). DOAH!

OK, now, deep breath... time to move on up to latest

 

Locked

Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 1.5”