Moving 1.5.25 site to another hosting company

Joomla version 1.5 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
NeilHall
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Moving 1.5.25 site to another hosting company

Post by NeilHall » Mon Oct 07, 2013 6:38 pm

Hi

I manage content on a website that's currently hosted using Joomla version 1.5.25

My website is one of several that are managed in the same hosting solution and I believe in the same Joomla database. The current hosting company provide all common system administrator functions for all sites. Content managers manage individual sites.

I need to move the content for which I'm responsible to another hosting company and to develop a new site. The timescales for this are very tight (the next few days). My current thinking is to load this content into a new dedicated instance of Joomla which I will administer myself.

The site is not a massive site and there's no e-commerce involved. There are quite a few pages of information, an events calendar, a photo gallery, a forum (which, in truth, isn't heavily used). I like the idea of another content management system because I can farm out some content management to some non technical people.

I'm hoping the current hosting company will be able to export my content and site structure and files (e.g. photos) in a format that I can import into a new instance of Joomla. I'm not sure whether there is any part of the current site which may be the intellectual property of the current hosting company.

My questions are
  • Does moving the site as I'm hoping seem possible? Separating my content from other content on the installation