Multiple domains in subfolder of public_html folder - how to

Joomla version 1.5 is end-of-life and are no longer supported. Please use Joomla 3.x instead.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
WGH
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Multiple domains in subfolder of public_html folder - how to

Post by WGH » Mon May 12, 2014 6:33 am

Hi

I want to setup multiple new separate domains in subfolders (subdomain1.com subdomain2.com etc) of my cpanel account. I have an existing domain (maindomain) in my public_html folder. I do not want to interfere with this.

A question is if I do this then will the url's for the new domains in the subfolder be www.maindomain.subdomain.com, www.maindomain.subdomain2.com etc. This is not ideal. I need the new web site URL to be www.subdomain1.com, and www.subdomain2.com etc.

This is to take benefit of hosting multiple sites in one place. I have read multiple threads where the subdomain details are hidden using .htaccess. I need to hide the maindomain part of the url. I have not succeeded so far.

Can I do this and can i be pointed to a thread that successfully achieves this?

scorp2000
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Re: Multiple domains in subfolder of public_html folder - ho

Post by scorp2000 » Mon May 12, 2014 11:54 am

Use Addons feature in Cpanel... during creation of addons domain point domain to sub folder where u put your second website

Cheers

DaveOzric
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Re: Multiple domains in subfolder of public_html folder - ho

Post by DaveOzric » Mon May 12, 2014 12:09 pm