Cannot view most of my site after moving it

Need help upgrading your Joomla! website or converting to Joomla! 1.5?

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
LisaAzure
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 7:58 pm

Cannot view most of my site after moving it

Postby LisaAzure » Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:59 am

Hi
My client (www.poolwise.co.za) changed ISP without my knowledge. I managed to access the backend via ftp and download the files from the old ISP and then upload to the new one. I then created a new database with the new one and imported the old .sql files into phpmy admin. I then changed the following details in the Configuration.php file

var $host = 'new host name';
var $user = 'new user name';
var $db = 'new database name';
var $dbprefix = 'jos_';

var $password = 'new password';

but now only the home page is showing with now images or links. Can anyone assist.
Oh and I cannot access the administration backend.

I'm not very technical so please can you explain in layman's terms :-[

User avatar
jackrabbit
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1474
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:12 am
Location: Florida
Contact:

Re: Cannot view most of my site after moving it

Postby jackrabbit » Mon Feb 16, 2015 9:17 am

ISP is 'Internet Service Provider' so you really meant web host, assumably.

Your template is missing. No files exist for a template
This is your source head elements

Code: Select all

<head>
<base href="http://www.poolwise.co.za/" />
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<meta name="robots" content="index, follow" />
<meta name="keywords" content="" />
<meta name="description" content="" />
<meta name="generator" content="Joomla! 1.5 - Open Source Content Management" />
<title>Pool Wise</title>
<link href="/index.php?format=feed&amp;type=rss" rel="alternate" type="application/rss+xml" title="RSS 2.0" />
<link href="/index.php?format=feed&amp;type=atom" rel="alternate" type="application/atom+xml" title="Atom 1.0" />
<script type="text/javascript" src="/plugins/system/mtupgrade/mootools.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="/media/system/js/caption.js"></script>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="/templates/system/css/general.css" type="text/css" />
<link rel="stylesheet" href="/templates/system/css/template.css" type="text/css" />
</head>

Confirm that you did transfer the template directory and it is located in 'templates'
Reset Joomla super user password and username simply | http://cmsenergizer.com/website-energy- ... d-remotely

LisaAzure
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: Cannot view most of my site after moving it

Postby LisaAzure » Mon Feb 16, 2015 9:27 am

Fabulous - you were right... but I'm still not there. If you go to the site now, the home page is there but when clicking on a link I get the following:

500 - View not found [name, type, prefix]: article,html,contentView

LisaAzure
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Nov 07, 2011 7:58 pm

Re: Cannot view most of my site after moving it

Postby LisaAzure » Tue Feb 17, 2015 6:42 am

I'm getting somewhere but I am still having issues. I went through all the files and realised that not everything uploaded. So I have uploaded the files that I found were missing. Which has helped because I can now access /administrator/ backend. However, when I try and click on one of the buttons I am still getting this

500 - View not found [name, type, prefix]: article,html,contentView

Can anyone help please.... I'm desperate

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 23560
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: Cannot view most of my site after moving it

Postby Per Yngve Berg » Tue Feb 17, 2015 9:43 am

Correct the tmo and log path in Configuration.php.

What version of 1.5 are you running? What version of php are the server running?

Turn off SEF in Global Configuration and see if it starts working.
Enable and trouble-shoot SEF urls later.
https://docs.joomla.org/Enabling_Search_Engine_Friendly_(SEF)_URLs_on_Apache

Are both server running Apache or is it windows IIS?

User avatar
dpacadmin
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 6028
Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 1:46 pm
Location: the Bat Cave
Contact:

Re: Cannot view most of my site after moving it

Postby dpacadmin » Wed Mar 25, 2015 4:02 am

....also check that you haven't copied over a php.ini file from the old server and that there are not lines in your htaccess file meant for the old server.


Return to “Migrating and Upgrading to Joomla! 1.5”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests