administer user groups

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 1.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Philipcare
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

administer user groups

Post by Philipcare » Wed Apr 23, 2008 11:35 am

We're JOOMLA! newbies and we'v installed 4 JOOMLA! on a single server. The first works as a Portal and the other 3 JOOMLA! function for Staff + Academics + Alumni. In this way we gave permissions to each JOOMLA! and the students are administering their own JOOMLA!
An issue of course is indexation as each JOOMLA! we installed was created with its own Database... so I guess a Search will not work over ALL 4 JOOMLA! sub-websites :'(

Post Scriptum: when will the next JOOMLA! 1.6 version become available as stable version?
:pop

humvee
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: administer user groups

Post by humvee » Wed Apr 23, 2008 6:13 pm

Philipcare wrote:We're JOOMLA! newbies and we'v installed 4 JOOMLA! on a single server. The first works as a Portal and the other 3 JOOMLA! function for Staff + Academics + Alumni. In this way we gave permissions to each JOOMLA! and the students are administering their own JOOMLA!
An issue of course is indexation as each JOOMLA! we installed was created with its own Database... so I guess a Search will not work over ALL 4 JOOMLA! sub-websites :'(
You may be able to use the Google Custom Search to bridge the different sites and then possibly incorporate this into own Module or Plugin. The former check out Googles own Web site the latter check out http://dev.joomla.org and http://docs.joomla.org.
Post Scriptum: when will the next JOOMLA! 1.6 version become available as stable version?
:pop