problem with search: error on checkNoHTML

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 1.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
jpatti
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

problem with search: error on checkNoHTML

Post by jpatti » Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:04 pm

ENVIRONMENT

I am running Joomla 1.5.6 on Apache 1.3.41, PHP 4.4.8, MySQL 5.051a-community

Extensions I have installed include iJoomla RSS feeder, JCE editor, Xmap, yvcomment, OSTWigits' captcha, bannerslider and a homemade mod that just has some Javascript in it.

I have the Lightfast template from Joomlashack installed and customized.

PROBLEM

I have two methods of search on my site, both a search module published on most pages plus a link to the search component. In either case, when I do a search, I get a page that is entirely blank except for this error: Fatal error: Call to undefined function: checknohtml() in /public_html/plugins/search/content.php on line 253

ATTEMPTS TO SOLVE PROBLEM
STEP 1
The error message seems to be complaining that it can't find the function.

I had originally installed Joomla 1.5.3 on my host via Fantastico, and later used the upgrade to 1.5.5, then almost immediately had to install the 1.5.6 patch. Search had worked on 1.5.3 and I wasn't sure if it had worked on 1.5.5, but it was definitely broken on 1.5.6.

I thought perhaps this upgrade path had somehow missed a file, or perhaps one of my extensions had overwritten a file, and thus I'd lost the function in my installation. So I downloaded the entire 1.5.6 package, unzipped it, and FTP'd it up (except the installation directory).

This made absolutely no difference, I got the same error.

STEP 2