Page 1 of 1

Remove FORCE SSL for Admin login

Posted: Mon Jan 26, 2009 10:48 am
by AndieB
Hi all,


I mistakenly managed to click something called "Force SSL" for Administration login. And now I discovered that my QNAP TS-209 on which Joomla! is installed, does not support SSL (HTTPS) connections for websites other than the QNAP's own login page.

Anyone knows HOW I can disable this, since I am not able to logon to the Jooml! Administrator pages..

Re: Remove FORCE SSL for Admin login

Posted: Wed Aug 05, 2009 7:03 am
by ahab71
Open your configuration.php file and edit the line:
var $force_ssl = '2';
to:
var $force_ssl = '0';

The variable will be set to '2' if you had set Force SSL to Entire Site or '1' if you'd set it to Administrator Only.

This is a little late I know but maybe it will be helpful to someone else.

Re: Remove FORCE SSL for Admin login

Posted: Tue May 10, 2011 1:56 am
by nori tarou
Thanks for the tips! I fell into the same situation as you and this post really helps me to access back to my homepage. :D

Re: Remove FORCE SSL for Admin login

Posted: Sat Jun 11, 2011 6:51 am
by MoneerK
Thanks so much, you saved my day.

Backing up, just in case....

Re: Remove FORCE SSL for Admin login

Posted: Fri Jun 08, 2012 2:18 am
by giemomi
Thanks a million guys!!!!

Also, if anyone needs few more tips.
I wasn't able to edit the configuration.php file to start with. I had to change file permission to read and write for the user. Then edited the file and changed the permissions back to read only.
Then clear your browser history and voila!!!!

Good luck to all peeps out there with that!!

Re: Remove FORCE SSL for Admin login

Posted: Sat May 09, 2015 3:52 am
by SAMSON15
helpful :)

Re: Remove FORCE SSL for Admin login

Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 10:33 pm
by lumptolaughter
ahab71 wrote:Open your configuration.php file and edit the line:
var $force_ssl = '2';
to:
var $force_ssl = '0';

The variable will be set to '2' if you had set Force SSL to Entire Site or '1' if you'd set it to Administrator Only.

This is a little late I know but maybe it will be helpful to someone else.
giemomi wrote:Thanks a million guys!!!!

Also, if anyone needs few more tips.
I wasn't able to edit the configuration.php file to start with. I had to change file permission to read and write for the user. Then edited the file and changed the permissions back to read only.
Then clear your browser history and voila!!!!

Good luck to all peeps out there with that!!
How did you get to the configuration.php file? I am at my index page but cannot access any files

Remove FORCE SSL for Admin login

Posted: Fri Jul 07, 2017 10:37 pm
by lumptolaughter
How did you access the configuration.php file. I cannot access anything. And I see a note above also to change the file permission to read and write for the user, but I need to know how to get to that also. I am an amateur for sure. I turned on the force SSL and now the site is completely disappeared.