Registration By Invite Only

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 1.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
BrandNewbie
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Registration By Invite Only

Post by BrandNewbie » Sun Sep 27, 2009 6:25 pm

Hi guys (and gals).

My site is coming along and almost finished. I have not installed any phpBB, though I might in the future. So here is what I'd like to know:

Right now I have certain parts of my main menu listed as "registered"; anyone can use the LogIn Form to register....But

Is it possible to have my registration by Invite Only?

In other words, I want my site open to the general public, but I want certain areas to be only for registered users; however, I do not want just ANYone being able to register by hitting the default "Register now" button. I only want members who subscribe to a newsletter, etc, to be allowed entry....perhaps with me sending them a link with a username/password.

Is this hard to accomplish? DO I need special extensions to achieve this?

Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Registration By Invite Only

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sun Sep 27, 2009 6:50 pm

1. Set the register link not to show in the login module. Are your invites registered in an external database? Are that database accessible by LDAP or OpenID? If not existent in Joomla, the user will be created when they login with the LDAP username and password.

2. Register the invites in Joomla. Fill in the activation field with a 32 byte hash value. Then the users must activate their account when they receive the activation mail.
To put the users directly into the database, 3 tables must be populated:
jos_users, jos_core_acl_groups_aro_map and jos_core_acl_aro.