New User Registration Issue: Sent Home After Input...?

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 1.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
YBRTS
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

New User Registration Issue: Sent Home After Input...?

Post by YBRTS » Thu Aug 05, 2010 5:32 am

Thanks in advance for help - have googled endlessly, been on this forum, been on related forums and can't find the answer to the problem below.

Joomla version: 1.5.17
Host is GoDaddy
PHP version 5.2.8
OS Windows XP
Firefox browser

PROBLEM
1. When a new user clicks "create an account" they're brought to the template Joomla form. (no problem there)

2. They fill out the form and click register (no problem there)

3. After filling out the form, I'm sent to the homepage. Nothing happens meanwhile related to the registration. There is no message, no user is created on the backend, and no email is sent. Therefore no new users can be created from the frontend.

ATTEMPTED
Enabling the login module, doublechecked that user registration was allowed, attempted logins with various users, searched forums, tried enabling cache under "Global Configuration."

RELATED INFORMATION
A similar post I made to Kunena, before I realized the problem is probably on the Joomla end:
http://www.kunena.com/forum/138-support ... ationlogin

Some posts I've found on this forum, but I'm not sure if they cover my issue and the problem they outline is definitely out of my comfort zone...so before pursuing I wanted to check to make sure that I have the right problem:
abc7.eu/web-cases-blog/4-godaddy-and-joomla-smtp-problems.html forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=35&t=286509

EXTENSIONS
The extensions I'm running are pretty vanilla...Kunena and JXtended, also JoomlaGATOR.