Problems with website

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 1.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Locked
marykvoss
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 3:55 am

Problems with website

Post by marykvoss » Mon Dec 07, 2015 11:58 pm

I have a jooma 1.5 website here

http://www.mo-countrycars.com

Getting tons of error messages. We recently upgraded to php 5.4.0 on our web server, could that be the reason for the error messages? I need that version of php for another website on the server. If that is the reason for the errors, how can I fix this?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Mary

 
itoctopus
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4026
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:35 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: Problems with website

Post by itoctopus » Tue Dec 08, 2015 12:34 am

Yes - the reason is the update to 5.4.0. Just open the configuration.php file and set $error_reporting to "none" instead of "Maximum". If you're able to login to the backend, then you can do this from the backend itself.
http://www.itoctopus.com - Joomla consulting at its finest
https://twitter.com/itoctopus - Follow us on Twitter

marykvoss
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 3:55 am

Re: Problems with website

Post by marykvoss » Tue Dec 08, 2015 12:58 am

Well, it was set to -1, not maximum

I switched to none and am still getting the errors

marykvoss
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 3:55 am

Re: Problems with website

Post by marykvoss » Tue Dec 08, 2015 1:03 am

I just tried switching to 0 instead of none, that didn't work either

itoctopus
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 4026
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2013 4:35 pm
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Re: Problems with website

Post by itoctopus » Tue Dec 08, 2015 5:54 am

Sorry about that - since you are using Joomla 1.5 then the value must be -1 (the instructions I gave you were for Joomla 1.6+ - my mistake).

Since you are still seeing the errors, then most likely the error reporting is being overridden somewhere else (maybe in the index.php file, in the template, or somewhere else)... You can try finding where it's overridden, or maybe suppressing the problem in each line by adding "@" just before the function call.

You can also open the file "/home/.../libraries/joomla/application/application.php" and just add the following code to its very beginning:

Code: Select all

error_reporting(0);
You should also do the same for the other affected files.

Yet another solution would be to actually fix the code in each line (which is the best solution) - but it's probably not the easiest solution.
http://www.itoctopus.com - Joomla consulting at its finest
https://twitter.com/itoctopus - Follow us on Twitter

marykvoss
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 3:55 am

Re: Problems with website

Post by marykvoss » Tue Dec 08, 2015 4:31 pm

I just edited the php configuration and turned off error reporting, that worked

User avatar
xfsgpr
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1023
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 4:02 am
Location: London

Re: Problems with website

Post by xfsgpr » Tue Dec 08, 2015 5:13 pm

marykvoss wrote:I just edited the php configuration and turned off error reporting, that worked
Are you still using version 1.5? Do you know the risk you are taking in using an unsecured package?

I would strongly recommend you to upgrade to version 3.4.5 as soon as possible. this would give you better security and also new features and responsive templates.

More and more people are using mobile devices and so it is vital that you keep up with them.

Good luck.

 

Locked

Return to “Administration 1.5”