Adding a Fillable PDF to Joomla 1.5 Website

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 1.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
MBMurdock
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Adding a Fillable PDF to Joomla 1.5 Website

Post by MBMurdock » Wed Apr 12, 2017 5:19 pm

In the past I had successfully added a fillable PDF to my clients Joomla 1.5 website. The fillable functions of the document stopped working a while back, for reasons that are still unclear since we did not do anything to change the PDF or the way it was linked.

The client just decided it was time to fix the problem. I recreated the fillable PDF using Adobe Pro, uploaded it to the website, and linked it to a page. Unfortunately, when I open the PDF it is not fillable.

After quite some time trying to resolve the problem, I realized the PDF is not opening in Adobe Reader, instead it is opening as an image.

When I started working with Joomla 1.5 several years back, I learned the proper way to link documents was with the following Link URL information: images/pdfs/document-title.pdf.

I was wondering if there was a different way to write the Link URL so a pdf will open using Adobe Reader, or is there something else I should be doing to resolve this problem.

I know this can be done because I was able to do it before, and it's driving me nuts that I'm unable to do it now.

MBMurdock
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Re: Adding a Fillable PDF to Joomla 1.5 Website

Post by MBMurdock » Wed Apr 12, 2017 6:18 pm

I wanted to add some additional information to the question I had above. I had the client try to open the fillable pdf on their computer and it did open correctly.