Transfer Joomla website to another server

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 1.5 site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
retzel21
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Transfer Joomla website to another server

Post by retzel21 » Mon Oct 23, 2017 4:23 am

Hi,

I recently transfer my Joomla website to another server by using the procedure below

1. install wampserver
2. copy the website folder (located in C:\wamp\www\websitename) to the same path on the new server
3. restore mysql db from old to new server

After the procedure all are working fine except for the added script I used to secure the php page (script below)

$mainframe =& JFactory::getApplication('site');

$user =& JFactory::getUser();

$username = $user->username;

$id = $user->get('id');

IF (!$username){die('What?');}

whenever I access the pages the "What?" message always appears, though when I access the administrator page all users and access are already there.

Appreciate your help regarding this thanks

toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Transfer Joomla website to another server

Post by toivo » Mon Oct 23, 2017 5:36 am

Where did you put your script or did you modify one of the core files?

Modifying the core is not recommended and unnecessary.
Toivo Talikka, Global Moderator

retzel21
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by retzel21 » Mon Oct 23, 2017 5:46 am

Hi,

I put my scripts on the same location on the new server C:\wamp\www that is also the same location for the old server. I did not modify any core files also

toivo
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Post by toivo » Mon Oct 23, 2017 6:05 am