Cache folder access

Discussion regarding Joomla! 1.5 security issues.
Joomla! Vulnerable Extensions: http://feeds.joomla.org/JoomlaSecurityV ... Extensions

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Security Checklist
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
LeviBrown
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Cache folder access

Post by LeviBrown » Tue Oct 23, 2007 7:16 pm

Hi there,
I have installed Joomla and it works great. Upon making it my sourceforge project site (hosted at sourceforge.net), I run into a problem with the newsfeeds. It says gives me the error "Cache Directory Unwriteable". I have changed the directory permissions to 755 and also 777 and tried it with no luck. I believe it is a permissions problem as the site cannot access the server through FTP (it only is available SFTP and SSH with sourceforge.net). Is there a way around this? I tried JoomXplorer and couldn't create/delete the cache directory to give Joomla the ownership? I really hope someone else out there has run into this problem... thanks.

Levi

dogbody
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Re: Cache folder access

Post by dogbody » Wed Oct 24, 2007 12:25 am

If you use sourceforge's hosting they provide for free you need to make those directories world-writable like you said.  I was going to put joomla on there as well at one point but decided I didn't really need that much functionality considering what a headache it would be if someone changed something.

In joomla's backend administration, global configuration options, you have to specify the cache directory as a complete file path from the server's root (rather than web server document root) eg /usr/local/www/myjoomlasite/cache.  You'll need to find out what this path is on their server for you project.