Preventing frontend login

Discussion regarding Joomla! 1.5 security issues.
Joomla! Vulnerable Extensions: http://feeds.joomla.org/JoomlaSecurityV ... Extensions

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Security Checklist
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
comduit
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Preventing frontend login

Post by comduit » Wed Aug 13, 2008 11:07 am

The latest security patch has made me think there's no way (that I've figured out) in J1.5.x to prevent front-end login. You can disable the login module but this does not prevent someone from directly typing index.php?option=com_login. I even tried creating a menu item for that Url, unpublishing it and forcing it to 'Special' user access - neither appeared to work in my test case.

I think that such a setting that prevented any actions related to front-end user activity would be useful for sites that do not require front-end login.

Any ideas? (while I go and apply this patch to all our 1.5 sites...)

twcmex
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Re: Preventing frontend login

Post by twcmex » Wed Aug 13, 2008 1:20 pm

I wonder if password protecting the com_user directory would hinder normal operation (other than render logins un useable)....going to test
-Joe

nickn5
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Post by nickn5 » Wed Aug 13, 2008 2:13 pm

Yes, if you .htaccess and .htpasswd the com_user directory, then perhaps you could stop anyone except admin (who knows the password) getting into the login pages...? Might be worth trying.

N. :)
http://www.nicspics.eu - Photo Galleries, Reviews and Articles (Site in development)

tranphungan
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by tranphungan » Fri Aug 15, 2008 2:37 pm

i think you can modifier controller.php file.

comduit
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern