A Quick way to trap potential hackers

Discussion regarding Joomla! 1.5 security issues.
Joomla! Vulnerable Extensions: http://feeds.joomla.org/JoomlaSecurityV ... Extensions

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Security Checklist
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
stilero_com
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

A Quick way to trap potential hackers

Post by stilero_com » Fri Aug 15, 2008 10:07 am

Hi everyone.

I just wanted to share a bit of code that I'm using to log possible hack attempts against the reset-password thing.

After upgrading to 1.5.6 locate the file components->com_user->models->reset.php

from line 115, you can see the statement "if(strlen($token) != 32) {".
After the line: $this->setError(JText::_('INVALID_TOKEN')); at 116, insert the following code just before the "return false":

Code: Select all

error_log("Possible hackattempt from: ".$_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']." \n\r At: ".$_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'], 1, "yourmail@example.com");
This way you will be notified by mail, when the token-length is invalid and thus may be a hack-attempt.

If You wish to log attempts in the error-log instead of mail-notifications, use the following code:

Code: Select all

error_log("Possible hackattempt from: ".$_SERVER['REMOTE_ADDR']." \n\r At: ".$_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'], 0);
NOTE: The hacker will not be able to reset your admin-password if You upgrade to 1.5.6. Although with this piece of code You'll be able to see how many "hack-attempts" there are on your site with the reset-admin exploit. And with this information you then can take legal actions against the hacker.
Last edited by stilero_com on Sat Aug 16, 2008 6:15 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Svedis
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Log possible hackattempts

Post by Svedis » Fri Aug 15, 2008 10:38 am

Great job