PHP Sites on Popular Hosting Services Exploited

Discussion regarding Joomla! 1.5 security issues.
Joomla! Vulnerable Extensions: http://feeds.joomla.org/JoomlaSecurityV ... Extensions

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Security Checklist
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
PhilD
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

PHP Sites on Popular Hosting Services Exploited

Post by PhilD » Mon May 10, 2010 3:45 pm

Disclaimer: In light of recent security news, I would like to make an informative post that may explain why some apparently up to date sites have been exploited recently. This is not to shame, defame, or attack any hosts listed. I also posted some tips as to what to do if you think your site(s) have been victim.

If you feel inclined to post comments, trash or whatnot, then remember: Posts to this thread topic that are against forum rules will be removed, the poster dealt with according to the forum rules, and the topic locked against further posting.

Sites hosted by popular hosting companies DreamHost, GoDaddy, Bluehost and Media Temple have been affected. These are apparently the same or similar issues that affected Network Solutions recently. Of course any site hosted through a reseller who has servers at one of these hosts can also be affected.

While GoDaddy has responded that only outdated Wordpress sites are being exploited (they are), this does not appear to be the case according to security experts reports and once again like Network Solutions first did, they are barking up the wrong tree, or are trying to limit the public relations damage by denying it is their servers.