Getting compromised, Need help

Discussion regarding Joomla! 1.5 security issues.
Joomla! Vulnerable Extensions: http://feeds.joomla.org/JoomlaSecurityV ... Extensions

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Security Checklist
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
SukhiLaal
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Getting compromised, Need help

Post by SukhiLaal » Sat Jul 16, 2016 12:24 am

I have an old website in joomla 1.5 and its getting compromised almost every month.
I have hired experts to secure it but its not helping much.
Here is link of website. http://www.howtoexam.com
It involves costume components and lot of core customization.
is it possible to secure it or shall i update it on any cost.

AlexVega
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero

Re: Getting compromised, Need help

Post by AlexVega » Sat Jul 16, 2016 1:12 am

Hi there,

Maybe you need consiser update your installation and your custom components to J3.6, probably the
investment in security is similar to the investment in the upgrade of your platform.

Cheers.

SukhiLaal
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Post by SukhiLaal » Sat Jul 16, 2016 5:43 pm

Somewhat i am agree on investment part.
Now at some places i am using cck seblod.Seblod is one of the most complex component in joomla.I regret that i selected seblod.Not that seblod is bad, its good for development but mess in upgrade.
Now i am afraid that upgrading seblod will break things and will be a big mess to handle and may be url structure will change for seblod(urls with lot of parameters).

sozzled
I've been banned!

Post by sozzled » Sat Jul 16, 2016 9:24 pm