Trying to salvage hacked Joomla 1.5 site

Discussion regarding Joomla! 1.5 security issues.
Joomla! Vulnerable Extensions: http://feeds.joomla.org/JoomlaSecurityV ... Extensions

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Security Checklist
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Paul Knupke
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Trying to salvage hacked Joomla 1.5 site

Post by Paul Knupke » Fri Sep 09, 2016 9:05 pm

Our existing Joomla 1.5 site was hacked and the webhost took the site off line. Before the host will allow the site to go back on line, I have to upgrade to the latest version of Joomla. I need to install the old version 1.5 site in XAMMP to use as a guide to building a new Joomla 3.5 site from scratch. I am happy to delete the old site and install Joomla 3.5 so the host will allow web access. I have FTPed the old site (everything in and below htdocs folder) to a local folder. I have XAMMP installed and trying to move the old site to XAMMP. How do I move/inport the old site local files into XAMMP?

sozzled
I've been banned!

Re: Trying to salvage hacked Joomla 1.5 site

Post by sozzled » Fri Sep 09, 2016 10:30 pm

I rarely reply to questions about "salvaging" old/outdated/hacked J! 1.5 websites because it's been said before, and it will be said again, that people who continue to hope/expect/pray their J! 1.5 websites will continue to remain viable are hoping/expecting/praying for the impossible dream.

Leaving aside my opening editorial remarks, it's not going to be easy.